Chevron Left
Вернуться к Lesson Planning with the ELL in Mind

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Lesson Planning with the ELL in Mind от партнера Университет штата Аризона

4.7
Оценки: 127
Рецензии: 40

О курсе

In this course you will learn how to design lesson plans around the needs of your ELL students and their language level through the analysis of content language and cognitive demands. You will learn how to align language objectives to the adopted standards of your school and content area.  You will learn how to modify existing course materials as well as develop graphic organizers and languages frames to support ELLs’ access to content.  Analysis of second language acquisition theories will be applied to lesson planning. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: * Conceptualize theories of second language acquisition as they apply to the planning of lessons through annotation * Assess the linguistic needs of your students using BICS and CALP * Identify content specific vocabulary, grammatical structures, and language functions necessary for a student to succeed in your classroom * Write language learning outcomes that align to your student’s linguistic and cognitive ability and your school’s adopted standards * Adapt a lesson plan that accomplishes the learning outcomes outlined in the lesson objectives * Modify materials to support ELLs’ access to content * Use a wide variety of graphic organizer templates and language frames to support ELLs’ access to content * Develop activity types appropriate to the cognitive and linguistic abilities of ELLs * Incorporate community and culture into lesson planning...

Лучшие рецензии

DN

May 12, 2018

This course was excellent professional development. As a Science teacher, it helped me understand how I can incorporate English language instruction into my lesson plans.

MM

Feb 09, 2019

I had a lot of realizations regarding the construction in lesson planning. I think I need to reflect on how to somehow adapt this in teaching my learners.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 39 отзывов о курсе Lesson Planning with the ELL in Mind

автор: Ma. L I M

Feb 09, 2019

I had a lot of realizations regarding the construction in lesson planning. I think I need to reflect on how to somehow adapt this in teaching my learners.

автор: Imam A S

Dec 22, 2018

It is an awesome course with a lot of new information it is perfect course for School English teachers, once try it you will see how useful is it

автор: Kriebel D S

Sep 18, 2018

Pretty happy that I enrolled in this course. The nicest and the most interesting one!

автор: Maihlikhaa P W

Jun 23, 2018

This course was very helpful with providing the basics and the fundamentals regarding ELL. It was very engaging and easy enough to follow. I definitely recommend for those that are interested in learning but having fun while doing it.

автор: gmcustodio

Jun 18, 2018

Well designed and very useful. Well worth the investment!

автор: Deanne N

May 12, 2018

This course was excellent professional development. As a Science teacher, it helped me understand how I can incorporate English language instruction into my lesson plans.

автор: Lucia T

May 04, 2018

Excellent course, loved the

автор: Zakaria G

Apr 03, 2018

super

автор: Mohammed O M

Feb 27, 2018

I have learnt so much how to help my ELL students in class and outside class . Thank you Arizona University, Thank you Coursera

Mohammed

автор: Charlotta S R

Nov 09, 2017

Just taken the first course in the series which has already been a huge help!

автор: Skeater F

Aug 14, 2017

Great benefit to all teachers teaching English!

автор: Christopher M

Jun 15, 2017

Very interesting. The lecturers did a good job making the course engaging with review exercises after every one or two video clips. The clips are short enough that you don't fall asleep and the resources for additional reading are relevant . I like the practical tips on how to adapt a text and how to scaffold to make a task more achievable for learners. The bit sized chunks with regular reviews means you can take a few days off and come back to the course when you have free time. My only gripe is the MCQ tests. Some of the questions are ambiguous and it would be helpful if we could have the model answers with explanations so that we could learn from our mistakes. After 3 failed attempts you can't retake the test for 7 or so hours. It's been the toughest MOOC I've done so far but I managed to get through it.

автор: Ana R P

May 21, 2017

Thank you so much for the instruction, such a good job, very informative.

Ana Pelayo.

автор: Svetlana S

Mar 05, 2017

A very informative, helpful, well-thought, very well-structured course, providing with knowledge, very good supplemental materials, visuals, examples. Thank you very much for such interesting and useful course. It was such a pleasure for me to go through it! Thank you very much!!!

автор: Sofia V

Mar 04, 2017

It was really helpful to me. I learned a lot. Not only it gave me a better perspective about ELLs but also now, I know how I can improve to develop my classes in order to help them in the way to English Language acquisition.

автор: Maria S

Dec 05, 2016

The lesson is of high standards, very well structured and contains concrete information without useless fillers. Perfect for busy proffesionals.

автор: Bishara ( B ) I

Dec 05, 2016

Hi,

I, really enjoyed taking up this course and have learned a lot of new strategies, which I am using in my classroom. Thanks.

автор: Ana C M

Nov 16, 2016

Loved it! Very helpful to get a overall picture of what needs to be done to support these students!

автор: Sirarpi

Sep 21, 2016

I was really interested in this course and I think the information is useful. But I find it boring, it didn't get my attention.

автор: Anari E D

Aug 14, 2016

Highly recommended. I really enjoy this course

автор: Zina I

Jul 19, 2016

I truly enjoyed this course. As a speech-language pathologist, learning the process of adapting lesson plans for ELLs was especially helpful as I work in the city with very diverse populations. Thank you for the wonderful course!

автор: Sarah Z

Jul 15, 2016

This helped me with new ideas in my teaching and also the lesson plan templates will definitely help me preparing my classes in future.

автор: pilar

May 10, 2016

excellent!

автор: Tetiana

May 05, 2016

Very useful!

автор: Veda M

Mar 08, 2016

Fantastic