Chevron Left
Вернуться к Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development от партнера Университет Женевы

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 590

О курсе

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Лучшие рецензии

DS

6 сент. 2017 г.

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

IS

28 февр. 2021 г.

That's a great course. Not only introducing the approach, but providing us with different pro and cons of the method. And it gives a lot to critical thinking on the topic. I found it really helpful

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 199 отзывов о курсе Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

автор: rosario f

19 дек. 2021 г.

Excelente. Gracias

автор: Mahendra K D

25 окт. 2022 г.

WExcellent course

автор: Leticia B

15 февр. 2022 г.

Excellent course

автор: Nchong V M

1 июля 2020 г.

Fantastic course

автор: Jorge S V

13 июня 2017 г.

Excelent course

автор: Rahul K

26 апр. 2020 г.

Good learning

автор: CLAUDIA L S J

30 апр. 2022 г.

Un gran curso

автор: Grace A M R

23 авг. 2022 г.

Muy practico

автор: Shiva G

26 сент. 2022 г.

SO USEFULL

автор: Dilsha D

27 июля 2020 г.

thank a lot

автор: Andréia

1 нояб. 2018 г.

I love it!

автор: Gabriel M T

8 мар. 2021 г.

Excellent

автор: Flt L G R

28 июля 2020 г.

THANKS...

автор: Emerilson g E

21 июля 2017 г.

excelent

автор: Fernando D G S

8 мая 2021 г.

good

автор: ANKESHWOR K M

11 июня 2020 г.

good

автор: Tomas S

15 мая 2020 г.

TOP

автор: FERNANDA A B O

11 мар. 2021 г.

I think the course is in general well prepared and structured, materials are very interesting, case studies and interviews are also an excellent tool to complement the theory. Even when is just an introductory approach, it gives a good overview and framework to start looking to this area. I don't rate the course with the highest score not for deficiencies in content of materials, but for some technical issues that can be fixed to improve the whole experience. The main technical problems I saw along the course were: 1) empty questions in the middle of the videos; 2) links broken, and 3) the practice at the end of the course could be more clear, and the screenshots don't correspond to what I saw in the databases sites, and thus, instructions don't work for this exercise.

автор: Trevor R T

23 окт. 2017 г.

Great introductory course to Ecosystem Services. I have two critiques, the first is that the estimated times for completing each assignment and video are not very accurate. Although the videos have are obviously a specific time length, the actual time to complete each module is longer than just the total time of all the videos and 10 minute for each assignment. Secondly, there are a lot of additional resources presented (articles and reports), which is great to add to my bibliographic library abou ES! However, there are soo many additional resources offered, yet there is only one required reading assignment for this course. I think that there should be a couple more required key readings that are selected and tested upon.

автор: David D

7 окт. 2017 г.

It's hard for me personally to rate this course as I do not have a real need to dive into the the details. I was looking for an overall perspective and what exactly this meant. Therefore I am satisfied even if I do not feel the need to complete the case study, etc.

The course was professionally presented with a wealth of experts. It still remains to be seen if this approach will make such a positive impact to promote more positive sustainable development but the protocols and methodology look well thought out and I understand many initiatives have worked out successfully, so bravo!

автор: Alex N

24 мая 2020 г.

The material is good and well rounded. Some of the questions and material are a little unclear, perhaps because of translation errors. The material is interactive and the peer-reviewed writing prompts are a good idea. I didn't have any problem getting assignments reviewed. I would have liked more technical details about ecosystem services methods rather than the discussion on whether ecosystems services are a good idea/ are ethical/ are useful for conservation (I do appreciate that this is included I just feel it monopolized the course a little).

автор: Natàlia B P

3 июня 2020 г.

Very interesting and I liked it a lot, particularly the different points of view of each of the presenters, lecturers and guests. This allows the student to understand the strengths and weaknesses of the method. However, I maybe missed a more practical module, one to actually learn how would an assessment come to be (for example, like the extra-module 6, but actually with sequences and support, because I think it's not very useful as it is - well, at least for me). But great course overall.

автор: Alicia T

7 авг. 2021 г.

Another strong theme throughout this course is the ethics and potential abuse of monetizing nature. While i agree that such risks exist (as with any other resources), i believe that right now, the benefits far outweigh them. Now it's critical to state the value of forests in no uncertain terms, so that what we intrinsically know can be "realised" and wielded to save our remaining rainforests.

автор: Patrycja P

29 июня 2022 г.

It was a great course, esspetially in the scope of methods used for engaging participants in active participation. I only thouhgt that spatial aspects would be more disscused regarding different methods for data collecting analysis and presentations. I missed that point - the rest was very interesting and organizing issues related to the topic.

автор: Nina B

27 дек. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course! I thought it was very interesting, well-delivered, and a good mix of video's, tests, essays, etc. If anything, there could have been some more texts to read and sometimes I could not fill in the answers to the questions asked during the video's (which I loved by the way; there could even be more!).