Chevron Left
Вернуться к Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development от партнера Университет Женевы

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 523
Рецензии: 180

О курсе

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Лучшие рецензии

DS
6 сент. 2017 г.

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

CT
24 окт. 2018 г.

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 182 отзывов о курсе Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

автор: mathew r

4 нояб. 2019 г.

Great course! The professional quality of this MOOC makes it easy to follow. The references provided are essential to further the understanding of the Ecosystem Services approach. The lecturers are clear and knowledgable.

автор: Shravani

14 февр. 2020 г.

Dear Teachers,

This was a very well structured and simplified course and I really appreciate the learnings received in the same. I hope you do more courses like this getting into further details.

Thank you,

Regards

Shravani

автор: Sophie d l R

29 мар. 2020 г.

I discovered this topic and I found the different views on it very interesting . This course is in my opinion a gateway to a more thorough reflexion on how we could collectively progress on ecosystem services valuation.

автор: Mariia P

8 сент. 2020 г.

Great course. The theoretical material was presented at a high professional level. Practical examples and assignments provided an excellent opportunity to consolidate the knowledge gained. Many thanks to all teachers.

автор: Andre H

27 нояб. 2017 г.

What I really enjoy about this course is that there are so many different speakers from different sectors. That makes it interesting because it makes you aware of these different approaches of ecosystems services.

автор: Mahmud H T

3 окт. 2017 г.

Ecosystem services is one of most suppressed issue in the field of environment. From this course i have learned the importance, calculation and maximizing the ES. Also learned some new topics in the field of ES.

автор: Cavine O O

6 окт. 2020 г.

This course has been presented in a most articulate and precise manner. The resources shared in every module are quite insightful and relevant. The lecture videos are precise and clear. It is enjoyable.

автор: Diego S

7 сент. 2017 г.

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

автор: Игорь С

1 мар. 2021 г.

That's a great course. Not only introducing the approach, but providing us with different pro and cons of the method. And it gives a lot to critical thinking on the topic. I found it really helpful

автор: Giovanni A B F

18 мая 2020 г.

It's well structured course, made by top professionals in the field. It gives a nice overhall of the Ecosystem service approach and a good base for further studing. I recomend this course .

автор: Mahendra K D

4 янв. 2021 г.

An Excellent Course. It covers all aspects of Ecosystem Services, covering Case Studies, Examples and good reference materials along with the lectures of a talented pool of Professionals.

автор: Livia S

14 апр. 2020 г.

Very useful and interesting course. Concepts and case studies are explained very clearly and there is plenty of suggested materials to further deepen your knowledge! Highly recommended!

автор: Héctor F G F

5 июля 2017 г.

Amazing course. I learnt important concepts that definitely are going to help me to improve my academic skills. Not only the content but also teachers make this course enjoyable.

автор: Shubham S

13 июля 2019 г.

Goes into adequate depth both for someone who is new to the concept as well as for someone who has a fairly well established background of Environmental and Spatial Planning.

автор: VELURU R

13 мар. 2021 г.

a wonderful sessions by eminent speakers through video study and explained in easy way to understand. i have learn more new aspects on biodiversity and ecosystem services.

автор: Phoebe P

20 июня 2020 г.

This is my favourite course so far. It was extremely interesting. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in learning more about the environment and ecosystems.

автор: Jewel L

30 янв. 2018 г.

Excellent course that covers the important points of the ecosystem services approach and how it may be influencing decisions at multiple levels of government and practice.

автор: Veronica I

5 июля 2020 г.

Adquirí conceptos nuevos desde una perspectiva crítica. Cada uno de los módulos es contundente con muy buenos relatores. La bibliografía es muy interesante y contingente.

автор: Antara D

28 мая 2020 г.

It is a very essential course. Ecosystem services, ecological function ect and their relation.. Policy, legislation all are incule here which can developed our Knowledge.

автор: marina b

18 мая 2020 г.

Very nice course! With a very complete and critical view of ecosystem services approach and passionate lecturers.

I really enjoyed doing it, thank you for your efforts!

автор: Hamza E G

24 февр. 2020 г.

Very good course, for all those who want to acquire a solid knowledge in sustainable development and know more about the ecosystem services until now taken for grant

автор: Livia M M

6 июля 2017 г.

Straight to the point, rich in debates and discussions which stimulate critical thinking! Thank you for setting up this relevant, interesting and excellent course.

автор: Djennyfer K d M F

6 июля 2020 г.

Complete course about the subject, showing as many views as possible so we can understand the complexity of the ecosystem services approach and monetization.

автор: Mauricio J M P

10 мая 2020 г.

I have worked on this field of environmental economic valuation and this course is great, well structure and demand the necessary skills, totally recommended

автор: Janos C

25 сент. 2017 г.

I enjoyed this course and found it highly informative. Very much appreciated the well balanced and critical perspectives and insightful practical examples.