Chevron Left
Вернуться к Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development от партнера Университет Женевы

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 197
Рецензии: 72

О курсе

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Лучшие рецензии

DS

Sep 07, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

CT

Oct 25, 2018

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

Фильтр по:

51–72 из 72 отзывов о курсе Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

автор: DANIEL E C

Oct 15, 2019

Very interesting argument taught in a dynamic and interactive way!

автор: Bruno N

Oct 08, 2019

Great course, many experts great insights, really opened my mind.

автор: Ricardo S

Apr 10, 2017

Very insightful and detailed. Perfect spoken and written English

автор: JOSE L B

Oct 30, 2018

Muy bien, seguir adelante, haciendo cursos de buena calidad.

автор: Samuel R

Jun 12, 2017

Professional and really inspiring.

автор: ABHIJIT G

Jul 09, 2017

Great Course indeed!

автор: Jorge S V

Jun 13, 2017

Excelent course

автор: Andréia

Nov 02, 2018

I love it!

автор: emerilson g e

Jul 21, 2017

excelent

автор: Trevor R T

Oct 23, 2017

Great introductory course to Ecosystem Services. I have two critiques, the first is that the estimated times for completing each assignment and video are not very accurate. Although the videos have are obviously a specific time length, the actual time to complete each module is longer than just the total time of all the videos and 10 minute for each assignment. Secondly, there are a lot of additional resources presented (articles and reports), which is great to add to my bibliographic library abou ES! However, there are soo many additional resources offered, yet there is only one required reading assignment for this course. I think that there should be a couple more required key readings that are selected and tested upon.

автор: David D

Oct 07, 2017

It's hard for me personally to rate this course as I do not have a real need to dive into the the details. I was looking for an overall perspective and what exactly this meant. Therefore I am satisfied even if I do not feel the need to complete the case study, etc.

The course was professionally presented with a wealth of experts. It still remains to be seen if this approach will make such a positive impact to promote more positive sustainable development but the protocols and methodology look well thought out and I understand many initiatives have worked out successfully, so bravo!

автор: Claire B

Aug 28, 2017

I have enjoyed the class very much. It is a very good introduction to Ecosystem Services. This is not an easy topic, but this is well-done, well balanced, and brings many various different views, therefore including objectivity on the matter. I appreciate this greatly!

автор: Filipe B d S

Jun 30, 2018

Is a very good course, but is not easy to understand immediatly, is necessary to dedicate and comprehend very well to get a great development.

автор: Noam J

Jul 05, 2018

A brief and nuanced introduction to Ecosystem Services. Very well moderated and expert speakers. Also the cases and resources are useful.

автор: Antoni R M

Mar 17, 2017

Really interesting and useful course to obtain great insights of the Ecosystem Services approach.

автор: Sondos A C

May 09, 2018

Great!!

автор: Erik S

May 06, 2017

An interesting course to learn about the emergence, context, beliefs, methods, experiences and risks of the economic approach to ecological functions. It is well done, with a lot of engagement by the teaching staff, especially Dr. Schlaepfer. Sometimes a little bit to talkative, sometimes a little bit to partial or ideological, sometimes missing of forgetting that there exist other proved integrative approaches to the (e)valuation of ecologic functions – like the verbal argumentative approach in Germany’s landscape planning and EIA - and that most of the nature conservation we can observe today – from the 19th Century on - was achieved by other than economic or monetary reasoning. I would like to suggest: (first) including a better substantiation of the ecological foundations of the approach considering that the implicit assumption of nature as “capital” offering “services” has a really weak conceptual base; (second) to profound on the issue of our limited capacity to discount the future where I see an interesting option to apply economic thinking to nature conservation; and (third) to include a more modern approach to decision making in political institutions. Since the 1970’s we know in policy analysis pretty well that decision making is conditioned by consensus-conflict-processes and that information processing - even sophisticated one as proposed in the course - is considered in decision making only if it fits to the results of consensus-conflict processes. Kind regards and thanks very much.

автор: jon l

Sep 23, 2017

As a relatively new field, much is still to define and discover. I think the course could have been more interesting if combined with less theory and more discussion on application.

автор: April H

Dec 15, 2017

I already had some educational background in ecosystem services prior to this course. The lecturers did thoroughly discuss the ethical implications of monetization over other, more implicit methods of ecosystem services valuation (although they were not as clear as they could have been with those terms, for example referring to "ecosystem services" as a method rather than a term to describe environmental impacts on humans that implies a specific mindset towards the environment). However, the class was poorly organized in that it consisted of a basket of case studies and interviews rather than building from a theoretical foundation. My hope was that this course would provide more technical detail, especially with regard to valuation methods and GIS. I was most interested in the optional module 6 and ended up learning only basic skills with QGIS from it. I'm glad I did not pay for this course, because it was not worth $49.

автор: Megan D

Sep 29, 2017

Good overview of what is involved in ES work. Would have been more helpful to learn some of the data gathering techniques or have more solid practice with methods for assessing ES. Also would have liked required reading that paired along with the sections. Each section was way too short and watching intro and outro was frustrating. Did not like the interviews mostly because of the way they were shot and the Professor asking questions seemed under prepared and just looked down at his papers...

автор: Isak W

Aug 16, 2018

Very disappointed with this one! From the sleepy experts talking with monotonous voices about things that much of the time felt out of place. It seems that every single lecture was more or less an improvisation. I think I'd rather see something a bit less haphazard. Also, much of the focus of the course lay on NATCAP. Often it feels like a very boring advertisement for NATCAP. I would not recommend it.

автор: Tamer M

Jun 09, 2018

Not completely on board with the methodology, and although may be interesting to those heavily invested, did not quite find the course material drawing me in.