Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 916
Рецензии: 184

О курсе

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Лучшие рецензии

LS
18 сент. 2020 г.

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
15 дек. 2015 г.

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 172 отзывов о курсе Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

автор: Rahat A S

8 февр. 2016 г.

Good course. Give basic concept and practical experience in data cube designing and data integration.

автор: Marek P

3 сент. 2016 г.

Great look to the integration problems, drawing and theoretical exercises was not as good.

автор: Sagar T

1 мая 2016 г.

Week 3 wasn't taught well. And the assignment was too difficult. Other weeks were fine.

автор: Gerardo E S R

2 мая 2017 г.

A lot of content...great concepts I hope we review a lot of this things in course 3

автор: Jahanzaib M

2 окт. 2017 г.

It helped me a lot in understanding data warehouse and data integration concepts

автор: sai

21 янв. 2016 г.

Excellent structure of the course and very interesting

автор: Paolo F

4 мар. 2018 г.

High quality info for a well structured course

автор: PUNEETH M K

4 нояб. 2019 г.

It's a nice opportunity to learn and

автор: Shivam S

21 июня 2017 г.

Nice Lectures Documentations Overall

автор: Vinay B

4 янв. 2016 г.

Great course to learn DWH concepts.

автор: MIRASOL, S R (

29 окт. 2020 г.

Hard course but was worth it.

автор: vaibhav b

25 дек. 2016 г.

The course was very helpful

автор: Lin Y

26 мая 2016 г.

useful information

автор: Mugdha G

25 февр. 2019 г.

Good course!

автор: Santosh R

6 окт. 2016 г.

Great course

автор: Dushyant S

18 янв. 2019 г.

Good course

автор: Jair F L M

30 нояб. 2018 г.

Good course

автор: SARAGADAM N

26 июля 2017 г.

excellent

автор: karthik D

23 янв. 2019 г.

good

автор: John P

19 окт. 2020 г.

5 stars for content and assignments; 2 for peer-reviewed grading

The content in this course is very good. You'll learn some good concrete skills, while completing some challenging assignments.

The peer reviewed assignments are problematic. Cheating is rampant. Your peers will often turn in empty assignments, I assume so they can get access to the answer file. I have had to review assignments that were blatantly plagiarizing the answer file. Another peer even plagiarized my own work as his. I have flagged multiple submissions as plagiarism, but I don't think Coursera does much of anything with these flagged submissions, since cheating is so commonplace throughout the platform. I just tell myself that I'm here for the learning; I can't stop others from stealing my own work. Seriously, who takes a MOOC just to cheat??

I suppose the integrity and honesty problems I mention above are more problems pertaining to the Coursera platform as a whole, but having your own work plagiarized definitely affects your experience and perception of a class. Furthermore, it should be up to the course designers to develop assignments that work in spite of Coursera's problems.

Despite all this, I will be continuing with the course series, as this is fascinating stuff.

автор: Peter V

11 окт. 2020 г.

The course content is what saves this course from getting a really low score. I actually learned a lot about data warehousing so I can forgive a lot of the logistical problems that this course has, and these problems are not necessarily problems with this course but may be more widespread among coursera in general. Take this course if you are interested in data warehousing but are willing to be a completely independent learner. The course forums are full of people asking for their assignments to be graded which doesn't make sense because I never had to post anything, and mine were eventually graded. Module 2 has a bug where there are 2 assignments to choose from, but coursera thinks you have to complete both to pass the module.

The assignments are interesting and you will learn a lot if you actually complete them. From doing peer reviews I noticed a lot of people not even doing the assignment and hoping that people will just give them a passing grade. There is also a lot of plagiarism going on because I graded the exact same submission many times.

Aside form the issues above, I learned a lot, and I think it is actually worthwhile to take the course if you are patient and can self-teach.

автор: Minas-Marios V

17 окт. 2020 г.

This course has plenty room for improvement. On one hand, it provides a good understanding of the different data warehousing architectures and design principles, an essential foundation to anyone interested in the field. The material on data integration is also excellent, along with the associated assignment. On the other hand, the peer-graded assignment on data warehousing design is very demanding and isn't clearly described from the lectures and practice problems what the students ought to do to get a perfect grade. Installing the software and getting it to work is also a skill on its own, but it truly is something that a professional will encounter in their work!

автор: Jason L

7 мая 2016 г.

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

автор: Dragana S

13 нояб. 2017 г.

Really short lessons, and usually half of lesson is spent on introduction and talking about what will be in the lesson. Nevertheless, course is focused on theory, rather than the practice. I think it should be more detailed and with more practical assignments.

автор: Linda S

4 окт. 2016 г.

Well organized lectures but the documentation is full of errors. This in combination with the lack of response on the a lack of responsiveness on the forums might make this class frustrating for some.