Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 13,535
Рецензии: 2,935

О курсе

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Лучшие рецензии

IS

5 окт. 2015 г.

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

AD

16 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Фильтр по:

2701–2725 из 2,944 отзывов о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

автор: Milena E

6 февр. 2016 г.

The first two weeks the course present a reasonable pace for beginners. The second two weeks, when the Java Script is introduced, the projects suddenly become very hard. It is assumed you understand binary numbers. Coding is introduced without a lot of explanation of Java Script syntax or methods or what actually happens when you write a line of code. The idea of hiding an image within an image is interesting but I do not see that as important for beginners web developers- how is this relevant to building a web site?

автор: Asbiel D R F

30 янв. 2021 г.

Un curso útil para quienes quieren aprender a diseñar pg web y quieran un desafío para programar en javascript con conceptos generales. Sin embargo, en el mundo laboral es INNESESARIO aprender a modificar imágenes como tal, ya que ya existen herramientas que facilitan realizar el trabajo que se hizo en este curso.

este curso se centró demasiado en aplicar modificación de imágenes (filtro verde, aplicar colores, etc.) y dio las bases para programar en javascript de una forma muy complicada para gente novata.

автор: Safiyya N

4 нояб. 2015 г.

This course is divided into 4 weeks. The first two weeks are about CSS and HTML. I started this course as a beginner and was able to keep up with it for the first two weeks. Week three material isn't explained at all and for a beginner, it is very difficult. I wouldn't recommend this course to a beginner at all. What i did like about the course was that the material is organized but that doesnt help if you dont understand what is being taught. I dropped out of this course at week 3. Good Luck.

автор: Carsten H

12 сент. 2017 г.

Underlying concepts are not explained very well and if at all they are mostly not linked to the methods these concepts are realized with. Sometimes there are logical breaks and it looks like different parts of the course have experienced different turns of revision so the course does not like 'made of one piece'. If there are different ways to solve a problem or get around with an assignment explanatory videos with a synopsis of these ways and their upsides and downsides would be nice.

автор: Ahmed Y

27 сент. 2021 г.

The course is not beginner level at all; it requires the student to have prior knowledge starting from week 2. The course takes much time, and it covers a lot of topics which is a good thing. However, in my opinon, most of the topics covered are pretty advanced. Starting week 2, it is not all about pure JavaScript coding because you are required to use the Duke Learning Program Library of the Simple Image which should not be one of the core subjects of the course.

автор: Judith S

14 июля 2020 г.

This course was a very mixed bag, the videos were boring sometimes and don't seem to convey programming concepts very well. The assignments were sometimes fun but took way longer than expected as it was hard to understand the basics from the lectures. Debugging in Duke's own environment was often a nightmare.

I've done one previous course teaching Python a long time ago but that one seemed to me to explain programming concepts in a much more understandable manner.

автор: Shahid Z

30 дек. 2017 г.

This is not a course for beginner. They teaching you how to use their custom libraries instead of fundamentals of java script. I learned javascript in my university 15 years ago and it wasn't that hard to learn that time. :). The instructors seems to be reading script except " Robert Duvall"

Robert Duvall teaching from experience and i like his explanation. I hope next course will be better than the first one.

автор: Lizbeth Y

9 окт. 2020 г.

I liked the course, but I think the videos were missing a little more information. Many of the projects included information not even covered in the videos and we had to figure it out on our own somehow. The course was difficult for me because I had ZERO knowledge of programming, so most of the time (like 80% of the time) I had to get help from the discussion forums. I give 5 stars to the forums tho!

автор: Hui L

21 янв. 2020 г.

I like the fact that course provides the foundation information but the support received is far from sufficient. Most of the time students are on their own. Don't expect to get your questions answered in forums timely. Your best friend is Google. Also the JS file that you would use for your assignment is not reachable and there is no way you could let Duke know about it and fix it. So a big bummer.

автор: Danijela Š

14 апр. 2016 г.

I will give it a 3* review as I really enjoyed and learned a lot in the HTML and CSS part (first 2 weeks), but the java script is really poorly covered. It is too hard and with no "translations" on what the hell is going on. The Duke University team is good and they obviously know what they are doing, but they need to review this course and make it more simpler... :)

автор: Matt J

7 июля 2017 г.

The mini-projects in the course were fairly interesting as you get the opportunity to work with images which even as an experienced programmer is something you may rarely do. However, this course has no reason to be in a specialization on Java programming. Completing this course felt like somewhat of a waste of my time just to check it off for the specialization.

автор: Katrīna K

9 июня 2022 г.

Beginning was very promissing but very fast the concepts became not understandable. Videos explain less and less but tasks become more and more complicated. In my opinion this course (and all Java specialization) is not ment for the beginners. This doesn't explain the most basic concepts a person that doesn't have IT background should start with.

автор: Ryan R

19 янв. 2020 г.

A good course for introduction to concepts, the concepts are not very well flushed out in the lessons and leave the student having to search for other materials to learn the concept well enough to apply it. On the plus side that does help reinforce the material but the amount of time stated in the commitment brief is not correct for this course.

автор: Aanchal

8 окт. 2020 г.

This course is quite useful for the beginners. It gives a quick review about web programming. Teaching of HTML and CSS is very informative but I faced some difficulty in learning Javascript. I suggest you to teach it using codepen as HTML and CSS instead of using Duke Learning Environment initially. For me it was not easy to switch to codepen.

автор: Kaveh V

15 февр. 2016 г.

This course was okay at best. The last two weeks focused too much on image functions and making. While I get that this can be a 'fun and practical' example, it became stale and annoying. It was more stressful than anything else. I really hope the future classes in the Specialization aren't designed in the same way. Variety is not a bad thing.

автор: Yuanlin

1 авг. 2017 г.

It is a good introduction into programming. The lessons are based on projects and is more practical than theoretical. This is also a problem and challenge for those who are complete beginners. I spent way more time in the course than the stipulated time. For those with zero knowledge, you had to rely on other resources to get you through it.

автор: bee

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Several typos in the course threw me off, and there were some concepts and code I had to use that hadn't been directly covered and as someone who needs a strict curriculum I struggled understanding how certain parts of code worked. However I think that the video lesson were really good with explaining concepts without being convoluted.

автор: Mike P

29 нояб. 2020 г.

This course was very comprehensive and helped me to understand JavaScript, HTML, CSS, and coding altogether. The only downside was that I felt as though the discussion forums were not at all helpful. I didn't get any help when it came to the Try it Yourself Assignments even though I posted my issues in the discussion forum often.

автор: Sarah P

22 июля 2021 г.

Good, but at times it goes into extensive detail about pretty easy concepts while breezing over more difficult ones without explaining things fully. As material gets harder, a teacher should think where the students mind might be, and make analogies to help them along. The course was somewhat lacking in this regard.

автор: Purab G

11 окт. 2016 г.

For the eager student maybe some more resources should have been shared. I was hoping to learn some production quality environment basics e.g. the ideal editor, best practices etc.

That said- I really liked how the 3 components, css, js and html were stitched together to help understand interactive webpages using js.

автор: Gabriel S C

2 апр. 2020 г.

The use of Codepen to write code instead of a normal IDE was really confusing and the fact that the teacher doesn't write the code while explains it, instead, the full code appears out of nowhere. Despite that, the teachers are good, I just didn't found a purpose in putting this course in a java specialization.

автор: Marta S

26 июня 2020 г.

Week 1 is very good and you feel like you will really understand all this! Week 2 and 3 are just very complicated and not for beginners at all! This course requires a lot of time investment outside the course hours - a lot of research and time. Javascrip should have been explained in a more detailed way.

автор: huda s

11 дек. 2015 г.

thank u so mach for this course it was simple and pretty good for the first 2 weeks i really enjoyed it :) ; but the other two weeks though ... i had a hard time there , if you try to improve it , the js wasn't understandable at all or at least mention in the course info that js background needed !!

автор: Srini M

3 февр. 2016 г.

it started off as being for beginners but after a while it was rushed and made it extremely difficult for beginners to keep up. Please dont just tell the student to go and write the code for something without giving a hint. Also, there were math mistakes in the course material that are easy to fix.

автор: pranav r

25 сент. 2018 г.

Some Teachers did have good explaining power but some not. While This course was interesting for me. This course of html,css was not complete. Here the part of css was not described good.They were just focused on green screen effect and images. None of them Explained how to design the webpage.