Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 13,557
Рецензии: 2,941

О курсе

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Лучшие рецензии

AD

16 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

JS

12 янв. 2020 г.

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Фильтр по:

2676–2700 из 2,948 отзывов о курсе Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

автор: SarabuVenkataNagaRahul

6 дек. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: Rahul J

6 нояб. 2020 г.

nice

автор: SONU K

9 окт. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: Rahul V

15 сент. 2020 г.

nice

автор: Aman K S

10 авг. 2020 г.

fair

автор: Suvra K d

2 авг. 2020 г.

Nice

автор: Meghana S

30 июля 2020 г.

Good

автор: Mahmudul H

27 июля 2020 г.

nice

автор: Prasad V H

27 июля 2020 г.

BEST

автор: GOKUL P

21 июля 2020 г.

Nice

автор: Pawar V A

9 июля 2020 г.

good

автор: Varun N U

25 мая 2020 г.

nice

автор: Sarada m

23 мая 2020 г.

good

автор: M S

20 апр. 2020 г.

Good

автор: BATHULA S R

3 февр. 2020 г.

good

автор: Demi X

27 дек. 2019 г.

easy

автор: Sam K

23 сент. 2021 г.

meh

автор: Roberto M

24 июня 2021 г.

bom

автор: Abhishek P

14 авг. 2021 г.

автор: S. U

24 дек. 2020 г.

I'm somewhat torn on this course. On the one hand, the instructors are lively, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable. The videos are generally well-presented. I learned a lot.

It's probably worth stressing: this is a *programming foundations* course, not a web development foundations course. So it's natural that the stress may be on the javascript aspect.

However, even with that in mind, I thought the instruction was very unstructured. I get that the philosophy was 'let's get students actually doing something', but I think more time needs to be spent covering the basics, especially CSS and Javascript. The coverage of CSS in particular was quite limited.

I can also understand the desire to 'make things easier' by having students work with Duke libraries and work in the Duke platform, but I think this is a serious drawback, and ultimately limits what the student can do outside the platform.

Students learn how to manipulate an image, but aren't taught enough general knowledge to apply that knowledge in other ways. I'd like to see more shorter exercises that build up 'muscle memory'.

You will learn a lot, but expect to spend a fair amount of time going back over videos numerous times and doing other reading on your own.

I think the course would be better served by having more exercises that are shorter: build a web page, learn how to do some basic layout and designs, then incorporate JS. As it is now, I think students will learn a fair amount but may not be able to do much with that knowledge, which is a shame.

автор: María J G G

10 нояб. 2015 г.

Well, I think I learnt some things about JavaScript, HTML and CSS. However, the course hasn't been focused on programming with JavaScript to solve real problems. All assignments are based on the creation of images from scratch, the modification of these images and hide messages in an original image. I really don't think these types of assignments can help students to learn Web technology. In fact, I know some professional Web programmers that they don't use javascript to manipulate images but in some cases when it is really necessary. I'd change the way of how the assignments are presented to prove the students' skills. For example, a possible assignment could be the implemention of a counter on a Web page using JavaScript or the creation of a web page with buttons, emerging messages, menus etc. On the web (Googling), there are a lot of codes that allow these funcionalities and could be used and modified by other students to create their own Web page.

автор: Marie C

23 сент. 2021 г.

This course will give you a lot of information, but the structure is really lacking. I had enough experience with basic Javascript and Python to fill in a lot of the logical gaps, but but I think I would have been pretty miserable coming into this as a complete beginner. They do start off explaining basic concepts and building blocks of JavaScript, but a lot of the course relies VERY heavily on using weird, never-quite-explained methods that exist only in Duke's programming library. Also, while I can see the value in using image manipulation as a grounding for programming exercises, it gets old very quickly! By the end, the projects are so laser-focused on pixel manipulation and Duke's own methods that it's hard to see how one might generalize this experience to JavaScript as a whole. This course would also really benefit from more quick graded exercises to build muscle/syntax memory, as opposed to just the quizzes and review projects.

автор: Tatyana S

22 июля 2019 г.

Course was ok, I expected more. The main downside is the use of non-standard methods like SimpleImage, which is not something in the standard library and that is not even explained until you are well into the course. I don't understand what the point is of learning to use it, when it can't be applied in the future. Also, not using a 'real life' IDE really diminishes the value of the course. I understand that using the environment provided makes it easier/faster to teach the material However, in my opinion, the benefit of learning to use the proper tools is essential, and leaves significant gap in knowledge that I, at least, find frustrating. I hope the next class on Java is better, but I already see a download of yet another course specific IDE, which leaves me skeptical. I will give it a shot, but I will cancel if it is like the first class. It's very disappointing, this course seemed very well rounded and had such great potential.

автор: Deleted A

15 сент. 2021 г.

The course has very interesting projects and exercises to work on however the main issue is that theres a lot of crucial information that gets missed out on like how to increment in a loop and this trend continues throughout the course. If I was entirely new to the subject I would not have been able to complete the exercises because they would be too difficult. I feel as though the course is rushed in the videos and explanations are not as clear or enthesised as well as they should be, as well and does not break down each subject down well enough in order to understand it. The move from HTML & CSS to JavaScript is quite quick too and needs to slow down and start off with smaller subjects of JavaScript.

It would also be great if the projects and exercises had a more practical use. HTML CSS and Javascript are used mainly in Web Development and so the course should focus on developing web sites.

автор: Scott A

12 мая 2016 г.

The course is well put together, however they say you do not need any programming background, but you definitely need a little. I had to use other sources to help such as Codeacademy and Udemy just to keep up. The do not go over loops, conditionals or basic C foundation that would help. The leap from HTML, CSS to JavaScript is massive. They need to relook some of the topics and either more videos or add in some easier teaching methods. I took a similar one on Udemy (that was free) just after I completed this one and it was 10x easier to understand and closed so many loops I had when learning JavaScript.