Chevron Left
Вернуться к Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I) от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 620
Рецензии: 133

О курсе

Named a top 50 MOOC of all time by Class Central! This course begins a series of classes illustrating the power of computing in modern biology. Please join us on the frontier of bioinformatics to look for hidden messages in DNA without ever needing to put on a lab coat. In the first half of the course, we investigate DNA replication, and ask the question, where in the genome does DNA replication begin? We will see that we can answer this question for many bacteria using only some straightforward algorithms to look for hidden messages in the genome. In the second half of the course, we examine a different biological question, when we ask which DNA patterns play the role of molecular clocks. The cells in your body manage to maintain a circadian rhythm, but how is this achieved on the level of DNA? Once again, we will see that by knowing which hidden messages to look for, we can start to understand the amazingly complex language of DNA. Perhaps surprisingly, we will apply randomized algorithms, which roll dice and flip coins in order to solve problems. Finally, you will get your hands dirty and apply existing software tools to find recurring biological motifs within genes that are responsible for helping Mycobacterium tuberculosis go "dormant" within a host for many years before causing an active infection....

Лучшие рецензии

JL

Jul 30, 2018

This course is very very good. Challenging at times. It does not hold your hand at all times and sometimes requires research to solve some of the problems, but I like the community and the approach.

SH

Apr 07, 2020

Excellent introduction to bioinformatics. They put a lot of heart and thought into the design of the course. I will continue to use the concepts I've learned in and out of bioinformatics.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 130 отзывов о курсе Поиск скрытых сообщений в ДНК (Биоинформатика I)

автор: Jaewoo S

Apr 24, 2017

The content is so good.

автор: Shengbo W

Sep 10, 2018

It is really helpful!

автор: Muhammad K T

Jun 15, 2017

Very Informative...

автор: Karen G

Feb 09, 2017

great introduction!

автор: 俞文冰

Oct 20, 2016

Great course. Learn

автор: Victor C

Mar 03, 2019

Loving it so far.

автор: Dmitry G

May 26, 2016

Excellent course!

автор: Shreedevi B B

May 16, 2020

good experience

автор: Shweta C

Aug 04, 2017

Great Course !!

автор: Anagha R

May 15, 2020

really helpful

автор: Xiaoyu Z

Oct 20, 2016

Great Course!

автор: Ursu E

Jan 23, 2017

Great course

автор: Ziyue L

Oct 27, 2016

It is great!

автор: qi w

Mar 02, 2020

Very clear!

автор: Weidong X

Nov 26, 2016

very good.

автор: Greta G H

Jan 11, 2019

Great!

автор: Owen J

Jan 04, 2017

This is certainly not a course for beginners! The content of the course were rather complex and prior computer science knowledge is extremely helpful to finish this course. It was a struggle for me to finish this course without any background in computer science. However, it was definitely challenging and gave me an insight on how two different disciplines can be connected in a single field of study. The only improvement I could think of is if there were videos regarding the basic computer science knowledge that could have helped biologists such as myself. Perhaps giving an example on how things are done could be useful. There were only a handful of examples and the examples only gave the answers but did not explain how to get that answer well enough.

автор: Jennifer M M

May 01, 2018

Great course. Good introduction to applying computer science to real biology problems. Only cons to this course is that it tries to split the line between biologists wanting to learn more bioinformatics and data scientists wanting to learn bioinformatics which boils down to the coding being tough and at times not well explained and there not being enough explanation for the biology part. I wouldn't take this if you don't have any coding skills because without working through the coding challenges the course isn't useful and for those with what would be more novice coding skills (like me) be prepared to spend a lot of time on this course. Well worth the challenge.

автор: Micheal A

Jun 26, 2018

I found this course incredibly enlightening and because I feel so highly of it I'm going to buy the accompanying book. My one issue is with peer evaluation of the final assignment, I don't believe in peer evaluation in situations where the peers may not be trained. What if one of the graders don't understand why they have a question wrong, despite having seen the answers. I don't think such a person should be allowed to perform evaluations. That being said,all the algorithms and the explanations behind them, super interesting and because I have taken this course and learned what I have, I am now considering graduate school in this field.

автор: Beatrice R

Sep 28, 2017

I enjoyed and learned a lot from this course. I have no background in biology or computer science. My recommendation would be that there are more examples and explanations and problem-solving activities that do not require programming. This is my first Coursera course and I realize I could have benefitted more from hearing and speaking about what I was learning. It would have helped me answer the short-answer questions of the project. I hope to complete the specialization and have already started the second course.

автор: Duncan P

May 03, 2020

This is a really good introduction to finding motifs - thank you!

The main thing I feel could do with some attention is the automated marking of some of the assignments, particularly the final one on Week 4, where only 7% of submissions are marked as correct because the probabilistic algorithm only gets the expected answer some of the time. There is also often inconsistency on expected whitespace (really, who care about insignificant whitespace).

автор: Francois O

Oct 31, 2017

Very interesting. I learned two important concepts about DNA during this class. C-G skew due to a more likely odd of mutation; and how to find motifs in seemingly random DNA strings. However some pseudocodes need some improvements. They sometime have part that only make sense after you read comments by other students, or variable names that could be better chosen (I wrote a comment at that place).

автор: Rohit C R

Jan 15, 2017

It may be more helpful to students who are not taking the honors code if they had access to ready made programming codes to complete the stepik exercises as it is extremely taxing and not feasible to solve all problems by hand.

Brilliantly structured and very effective learning method!

I also felt that Gibbs sampling could have been explained further or more in detail.

Thank you!

автор: Fikrat T

Nov 11, 2019

Excellent course. Excellent tutors. I am a fan of stepik.org and this course. However, the only thing that I consider redundant in this course is peer to peer assignment; and I guess solution here is to reduce number of peers who must review the assignment. I think 3 peers are enough to grade the assignment.

But everything rest is top!

автор: Yousef A S A

Jan 12, 2019

I really liked the course, I had fun finishing assignments and learning the theory behind each concept. However, I take my time very seriously and this course has underrated the time you should devote as I end up having too much pressure due to other work I should be doing.