Chevron Left
Вернуться к From Disease to Genes and Back

Отзывы учащихся о курсе From Disease to Genes and Back от партнера Новосибирский государственный университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 194
Рецензии: 33

О курсе

Human genetics explores the genetically determined similarities and differences between human beings. This scientific discipline encompasses a variety of related fields such as molecular genetics, genomics, population genetics and medical genetics. Study of human genetics can help to find answers to questions regarding the inheritance and development of different human phenotypes. The field of medical genetics is quickly growing and dynamically developing thanks to the new technologies such as the next-generation sequencing. Most human diseases have a genetic component. This genetic component varies by disease. Some rare diseases appear to be completely determined by the genome, whereas more common diseases arise from a complex interplay of many genes, the environment and chance. The understanding of how our genomes contribute to disease susceptibility offers the prospect of large gains: it may guide disease diagnostics and prognostics and help in developing new therapies. The overall goal of this course is to describe how the researchers find genes responsible for different diseases and how this information is used to better understand and fight these diseases. You will learn about current approaches for finding single genetic variants underlying monogenic (Mendelian) diseases and sets of variants responsible for more complex, multifactorial ones. Furthermore, you will learn how the identification of these genetic variants makes it possible to understand how the affected biological pathways lead to disease development. During the final week of the course, we will talk more about clinical applications of the genetic findings. Upon completing the course, you will be able to: - give examples of monogenic and complex disorders - recognise patterns of Mendelian inheritance of monogenic diseases; - understand and describe principles and methods of gene mapping ; - describe the main steps and principles of genome-wide association studies (GWAS); - give examples of modern technologies that are currently used to find variants underlying human diseases; - discuss the approaches to finding causative variants underlying complex disorders; - discuss the possibilities and areas of application of genetic findings....

Лучшие рецензии

PF
3 дек. 2020 г.

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

AP
29 июня 2020 г.

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 33 отзывов о курсе From Disease to Genes and Back

автор: Mohamed N S M E

1 февр. 2020 г.

Very informative course. It was most fruitful in week 4 about genome wide association studies (GWAS).

автор: Farbod E L

27 сент. 2018 г.

Highly recommended!

An interesting, up-to-date course with eye-catching and well designed videos.

автор: Yujuan G

3 апр. 2018 г.

This course is well organised. The course materials are new. I've learnt many of the concepts in this course years ago. I feel many of my knowledge is outdated. This course is a great refreshment and add-on.

автор: Dayan V

13 апр. 2020 г.

It is a complete course for specially biotechnology and genetics. Not only the medical and biological aspect is explained but also the mathematical: how to understand and calculate genetic information/data. Im about to enter to the university so I do not have any higher education, however it was actually not that difficult if you study every day!

автор: RA H

3 окт. 2019 г.

Loved the course though I believe there´re some topics that could be explained in a better detail as in the case of population genetics and estimations of some math calculations but in general the course is really great, remarkable lecturers. Recommended.

автор: lcy9086

7 нояб. 2019 г.

this is a fairly hard course(especially for week 4) I would not suggest anyone who is not studying in this field to take it. More help and clearer illustrations are definitely needed to complete this course and understand the material

автор: PRACHI S O

24 мая 2020 г.

Very Interesting subject!! All the professors explained it in a very simple way, easy to understand. Quizzes before and after session and weekly are very useful - must to attempt to understand where we are.

I strongly suggest it for Biological Science students interested in Human Genetics. Thanks a lot to all professors!!!

автор: Чуйко Э А

24 нояб. 2018 г.

Очень классный курс. Прям видны огромные старания, которые стоят за этой работой! Годнотаааа. Просто огромное спасибо авторам курса за прекрасный материал! Даже после прохождения курса будет полезным возвращаться к нему. И отдельное спасибо за огромное количество дополнительного материала! В общем 10/10, мастхев.

автор: Thennakoon M D D

26 июля 2020 г.

Such a excellent and informative course!!!!!!!I have learnt new concepts in deep.They are very useful for my studies.I would like to thank to all the lecturers and coursera for giving me this golden opportunity.Again thank you!!!

автор: Diego

18 сент. 2020 г.

Realmente un curso muy informativo y muy interesante, aunque no son necesarios conocimientos previos recomiendo que la persona que tome el curso tenga conocimiento básico de biología molecular y Genética

автор: Esra Y

24 окт. 2019 г.

It was really helpful for me to refresh my memory and learn additional information. It helped me a lot in order to study in order and to cover all the topics that I should review.

автор: Patricia A F

4 дек. 2020 г.

Awesome course, great lectures :D Agree though that this is more of an intermediate course, so probably not the best for beginners. :D

автор: Anuradha P

30 июня 2020 г.

I have done couple of courses online, this one is something different.It engages and updates you.Thanks for the knowledge shared.

автор: JOHN Q

30 дек. 2017 г.

Fun and interesting course. Great review of material I had forgotten, sadly.

автор: Томилин М А

16 дек. 2019 г.

ТОП What a great course, thanks all the cousemakers for such a nice work.

автор: Zaeem Z

26 мар. 2020 г.

this is extremely good course and it was very helpful for my research

автор: Mishaal F

10 окт. 2020 г.

the entire journey was filled with lot of knowledge, thank you

автор: Hrushikesh L

9 авг. 2020 г.

Nice introduction to genetics behind complex diseases

автор: Tanisi R

9 авг. 2020 г.

amazing course. very informative and well explained.

автор: Ruddhi S M

30 июня 2020 г.

Loved it, gained lots of knowledge. Thankyou .

автор: Julia F C

22 июля 2020 г.

Excelente curso,temas y docentes!!

автор: Shivani S

25 мар. 2020 г.

Awesome course !!!

автор: Rodrigo V O

5 мар. 2018 г.

I love this course

автор: Juan P G A

4 мар. 2019 г.

Excelente curso

автор: SONIA T S

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Muchas gracias