Chevron Left
Вернуться к Дискретная оптимизация

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Дискретная оптимизация от партнера Мельбурнский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 669

О курсе

Tired of solving Sudokus by hand? This class teaches you how to solve complex search problems with discrete optimization concepts and algorithms, including constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming. Optimization technology is ubiquitous in our society. It schedules planes and their crews, coordinates the production of steel, and organizes the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Optimization clears the day-ahead and real-time markets to deliver electricity to millions of people. It organizes kidney exchanges and cancer treatments and helps scientists understand the fundamental fabric of life, control complex chemical reactions, and design drugs that may benefit billions of individuals. This class is an introduction to discrete optimization and exposes students to some of the most fundamental concepts and algorithms in the field. It covers constraint programming, local search, and mixed-integer programming from their foundations to their applications for complex practical problems in areas such as scheduling, vehicle routing, supply-chain optimization, and resource allocation....

Лучшие рецензии

SK

29 мая 2019 г.

Exceptional coverage of optimization fundamentals. Learning of practical applied methods. Real university level course, no water down "data science". Absolutely love it! Thank you professor Pascal.

JB

21 июля 2017 г.

Great course, the teacher is very clear and often goes into sufficient depth for the student to understand concepts.

Assignments are challenging and help understanding course content.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 151 отзывов о курсе Дискретная оптимизация

автор: Michael G

23 мар. 2022 г.

This was not an easy course and it consumed more time than I expected, but it was worth the effort and I learned a lot. Professor Pascal Van Hentenryck is a very engaging teacher. Even for complex topics his explanations are clear and to the point and illustrated by interesting examples. He has a very special body language and an amazing screen presence. The assignments were challenging, but essential to the learning process. Overall, this was possibly the best online training that I have ever taken.

автор: Manuel A

8 сент. 2019 г.

A very comprehensive and challening course on optimization. Algorithms are explained at a high level and is up to the student to implement them (on any language, but Python is sugested). Canonical problems in optimization are tackled, such as TSP, VRP and facility location. As a Data Scientist with no Computer Science background, implementing those algorithms to pass assignmets have been very challenging. Industrial solvers like ortools, gurobi, etc. can be used, but they are not covered.

автор: Marcin W

23 дек. 2016 г.

One of the best and most interesting courses I have taken a part in. Very demanding and frustrating sometimes but absolutely brilliant. Interesting lectures, problems to solve, etc. Small improvement in my opinion can be achieved in two areas:

1. I could not get used to instructor's showmanship and he sometimes covers up the slides.

2. I would suggest changing submission format not to post code but solution. In this case we would not be limited in programming language's choice.

автор: Li H

6 янв. 2018 г.

The programming assignments of this course are very challenge and the pursuit of the 'Good Optimization' is torturous, especially after Knapsack Problem, such as the TSP, Facility Problem and VRP. However, the sense of achievement gained when you passed the online judge is also unspeakable. Last but not least, Professor Pascal Van Hentenryck is really a nice man, he is humorous and charming. Wish you a memorable and nice experiences on the on the journey of OPTIMIZATION.

автор: Tom B

3 июня 2020 г.

One of the most challenging courses I have taken, but extremely rewarding. The course does not hand hold you through assignments but rather uses the lectures to introduce and explain concepts (exceptionally well).

The assignments support a wide variety of approaches and typically require extensive further research and understanding.

They are not kidding about the time commitment, but if you can make the time for it this is an incredible course - highly recommend

автор: Pedro J

4 июня 2020 г.

I already knew some concepts but with this course i am able to finally understand them. It is very well explained and it goes through a lot of topics in discrete optimization, giving a good theoretical and experimental basis.

The assignments are hard but very rewarding when you complete them. They push you to think about the problem and how to solve it, even with the right tools you still have to put everything together, just like in a real world situation.

автор: Øystein S

27 июня 2018 г.

Good course. The instructor is really a fast talker and it may be hard to grasp everything at the first time you watch the videos. About the assignments: The assignments are really hard. Yes! Really really hard. I've never taken any MOOC course where the assignments are so hard. Al in all, I can say that this course really thought me something about discrete optimization, and I would love to learn even more about this interesting field.

автор: Michael R S

20 июня 2022 г.

This is an amazing course, Pascal is very enthusiastic, informative and entertaining. The assignments are tough and a great way of improving my/your programming skills. Lots to read about too, as these are classic real-world problems where the optimum solution would take far too long to compute. Wasn't sure I'd even be able to pass each assignment until I eventually did. A real Indiana Jones journey! Thank you!

автор: Anders A

19 сент. 2018 г.

This is my fifth or sixt online course on coursera, and it is without a doubt the best one I have done. Apart from the little goofy start with Indiana Jones, I simple loved the course. There was a lot of useful material covering what would have been several courses at my university. The assignments were challenging, sometimes frustrating, but really fun as well. I had a lot of fun doing this course.

автор: Hichem C

25 мар. 2022 г.

Wow, Wow, Wow I discovered something in computer science, I didn't know it's so interesting and challenging. Constraint Programming !!! (you don't have to code and develop your algorithms !!!) You need to know that it exists, and know how to connect the wires !!! between your real problem and the Constraint Programming Solvers !!! Thanks for the excellent teatcher !!! thanks thanks thanks !!!

автор: himanshu k

22 мар. 2022 г.

Really enjoyed doing the assignments of this course, the only challenge is that some of the test cases in assignments took a lot of time to get solved, hence it would be good suggestion to give an estimate on how much time to solve each test case can be considered as practical. The rest of the course offereda very good learning and insights to further dig into the hto topics

автор: DS

26 авг. 2020 г.

Amazing course! The Lecturer is not only a leader in the field, but also an excellent educator. The concepts are explained clearly. Historical remarks and anecdotes bring the material to life. I also really enjoyed the assignments. They were challenging and quite time-consuming, but very helpful toward the learning experience.

автор: Zoltan B

23 февр. 2021 г.

Amazing course, one of the best in this topic. Its so motivating how Pascal Van Hentenryck is presenting the lectures with that much enthusiasm and then all the programming assignments are also very well crafted. It is obvious how much work has been done to create this course. Thank you very much for this amazing course!

автор: Vasiliy C

5 мая 2020 г.

Just finished the last assignment and want to say huge thanks to prof. Van Hentenryck and all the crew for putting their efforts into this brilliant course. One of the best courses I've done on Coursera.

PS : to all who is just starting this course - embrace yourself, the ride is gonna be though but it's woth it!

автор: Shihan, Z

5 июля 2019 г.

I appreciate the enthusiasm from the professor's teaching. Also the quality of the homework is very high, which help me deeply understand the concept about optimization methods. I highly recommend this course to all the people who desire the basic knowledge about NP-hard problem, and optimization thought.

автор: Edmund

28 сент. 2019 г.

Difficult course, but rewarding once you have completed the assignments. This course presents a variety of discrete optimization problems to be solved. Great course overall, although I wish the course is structured such that we don't need to read research papers to complete the assignments.

автор: Aliaksei K

16 июля 2017 г.

One of the most challenging and interesting sources among all that I've passed so far. The lector has it's own hilarious style of teaching. All the material is carefully created and well structured. Every time that you pass the programming assignment, you feel that it's a real achievement.

автор: Andrew K

30 окт. 2019 г.

Best course I have done so far on Coursera. The assignments are the best part of the course and are very challenging but ensure that you learn and understand the material. You will want to have some programming experience as you will need to code optimization algorithms from scratch.

автор: Francisco J R S

12 апр. 2020 г.

Awesome! It was my very first course on this platform and I coudn't be more satisfied. The main instructor was hilarious sometimes and finally I terminated to love him hahaha. It's dense but this course it is perfect to any student of computer science, maths or economics.

автор: Guillaume F

9 февр. 2021 г.

Very challenging as the assignments can be very hard, especially if you want to write your own algorithms and not use a pre-existing tool. The teacher is fantastic, very clear and enthusiastic at the same time, you can feel the passion from his presentations.

автор: Leo

21 янв. 2020 г.

I was surprised how clear are the Lectures. It's such fun taking this course. We use the techniques (Dynamic Progrmaming, Local Search, etc) to solve those NP-complete problems. Highly recommond it to anyone who wants to refresh their optimization skills.

автор: Chitrang S

31 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent Course, I would highly recommend for all algorithmist and programmers. It step by steps teaches how to approach NP-hard problems. The way the professor teaches make this highly difficult subject easy. Of-course assignments are very challenging.

автор: hope

26 авг. 2019 г.

The best course on Coursera. Unlike the do-it-by-rote Deep Learning classes, there is much creativity and freedom in tackling all assignments. The assignments are stimulating, challenging, and approximate real life problem solving very well.

автор: Erick L d S

4 мая 2020 г.

This is a really challenging and demanding course! Give me a great fundamentals of discrete optimization and make me think how to solve many classical hard problem as Traveling salesman Problem and Vehicle routing problem. It worth it!

автор: Carlos V

1 апр. 2017 г.

If you want to understand better optimization techniques, this is an excellent Course, the explanations and examples are one of the best, the Course is also very challenging but worth the time and effort, you will learn a lot.