Chevron Left
Вернуться к Dino 101: палеобиология динозавров

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Dino 101: палеобиология динозавров от партнера Альбертский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,330
Рецензии: 815

О курсе

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Лучшие рецензии

JH
5 апр. 2017 г.

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

PM
17 окт. 2020 г.

Even as a dinosaur nerd, I still learned a lot. Instructional videos with embedded quizzes were very well constructed. I'm just a bit bummed that I couldn't access the fossil viewer for some reason.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 812 отзывов о курсе Dino 101: палеобиология динозавров

автор: Marco L G

18 авг. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. While it was relatively basic, it laid great foundations for further learning about dinosaurs as a whole. Having learned so much about dinosaurs growing up, this course helped me get the saga of the dinosaurs and their world in a straightforward manner. The lesson notes, combined with the videos, really fleshed out a proper understanding of the material taught.

автор: Ana C C F

12 авг. 2020 г.

A really good course!! They dominate the ability of distance teaching. Also just like to highligh that the links for fossil views were not working at all, so I just skipped that part, only in one occasion it did work and I was able to see some 3D models of fossils and that was a problem noted by a great number os collegues that into engaged t the course. In short, it was a perfect course.

автор: Freddy R

17 мая 2020 г.

I thought this course was brilliant, it's slow paced and easy to understand, using a wide range of vocabulary and context from reliable resources

It's the perfect course for anyone who is interested in dinosaurs and the history of earth

It's truly been 12 of the best lessons I have ever had in my life, as it's a combination of everything I have seen or watched before and it was beautiful

автор: Tyler B

4 февр. 2019 г.

Excellent and informative course, taken by a true dinosaur fan! Learned plenty of new facts about dinosaurs and sharpened my extant knowledge. Great presenters and well-developed MOOC. I may re-audit all of the paleontology courses offered by U. of Alberta for personal pleasure, as they were sincerely enjoyable, entertaining, and communicative! Thanks to Dr. Currie and the whole team!

автор: Rachel H

1 июля 2020 г.

This was a very informative, entertaining, and engaging course. I especially appreciated the interactive nature of it, going well beyond simple "end-of-module" quizzes. The questions posed in the middle of the modules allowed me as a learner to think about (and process) what had been said in a way that made the information applicable and relevant. Would highly recommend to others!

автор: Kieran S

11 дек. 2017 г.

Absolutely fantastic!! As an already qualified scientist in biology this course was useful even for someone like myself with a degree. This course has the right balance between basic dinosaur science for the dinosaur "hobbiest" and more scientific information for someone like myself looking for more of a challenge. It was fun, engaging and interesting!! I only wish there was more!

автор: Vaishnavi P

7 июля 2020 г.

i'm an undergraduate student majoring in zoology. the beautiful and little known world of dinosaurs had always fascinated and hence i want to become a paleontologist in the coming future. this course was really helpful in making me understand what, why, how and when of paleontology and this basic knowledge has set up a strong and concrete base for my future studies. thank you

автор: Sanoop M

9 мая 2018 г.

This course is just awesome, and so are the instructors! It was an amazing ride over the last 12 weeks and I learned a lot about dinosaurs .The focus on the scientific method rather than just a pool of data is praiseworthy. It has given me an impetus to research further on these amazing groups of animals.

Thank you Betsy,Phil, Gavin, and the rest of the staff.. :)

Sanoop M

автор: Zach E

24 авг. 2020 г.

Thank you all! I've always loved dinosaurs and this was a great overall lesson of everything dinosaur. The "quiz" questions given throughout the lectures were not always just to see if you were paying attention in the lecture, but also to hypothesize and think critically. I thought those were very effective! Hopefully someday I can visit the University and its resources.

автор: Rachel G

13 авг. 2019 г.

I have had an exceptional time participating in this course! I've had an interest in paleontology for a while, and this was a great introduction course. The reading is super informative and very interesting. The mini quizzes within the videos are very helpful and are useful tools to keep you on track. I have loved everything about this course. I'll probably take another!

автор: Toby C

19 июня 2020 г.

I've thoroughly enjoyed this whole course and learnt a great many things. I'd like to think this a fantastic stepping stone and has opened me up to a variety of options moving forward. My interest has grown and I am looking forward to further study and learning in the future.

The accessibility of the course is perfect and i highly recommended it to anyone considering it.

автор: Tim K

5 июня 2018 г.

Dino 101 was well written and presented. Quality work by leaders in their field. The readings were interesting and clear though some of the lessons could use some proofing for typos and syntax edits. I have already enrolled in another palaeontology course presented by the University of Alberta and plan to take the other courses offered in palaeontology by them as well.

автор: Erin B

9 июня 2017 г.

So much fun to learn about paleontology! I joined this course after a visit to the Museum of Natural History here in New York. I realized I could take a class for free and learn so much more than even a day at the museum could teach me. Sometimes the quizzes were challenging, but I feel like I am much more knowledgeable now and hope to learn more in the future. Thanks!

автор: Chelsea I B

28 апр. 2020 г.

Holy cow so much material. I had a blast learning about Dinos and so much more. Betsy, Phil, and the rest of the presenters did an amazing job and really showed they knew their stuff. This class made me excited to keep learning. I appreciated the provided notes as they gave a variety of information that supplemented and reinformed what they were saying in the videos.

автор: sarah c

28 июня 2020 г.

Thank you so much for awakening the long lost passion which I have had for paleontology and all things Dinosaur. This course is superb not only does it educate you, it is done in an understandable manner and the tutors are very engaging . I enjoined this course so much I have signed up for another with the University of Alberta. Thank you to all persons involved.

автор: Megan W

2 июля 2019 г.

This is a fascinating course! You are sure to learn many interesting things about dinosaurs, dinosaur terminology and the time periods they lived in. Easy to follow with great instructors, and well thought out lesson structure. Quick review questions in each lesson make this course easy to comprehend. I recommend this course to anyone with an interest in Dinosaurs.

автор: Jonathan J L

14 авг. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in paleontology and biology in general. The course material is engaging and presented in a format that is accessible to students of any age and level of education. The lessons are also an enjoyable introduction to other scientific areas beyond the dinosaurian focus of the title.

автор: Zeeshan Y T

24 сент. 2020 г.

Thank you for this excellent course. I thoroughly enjoyed my journey. In fact, I am sad that this is over. I look forward to learning more with University of Alberta and other experts. By the way, I am from Bangladesh and I am 11 years old. My grandfather did his PhD in Economics from the University of Alberta. Thanks to Coursera too for this opportunity.

автор: Cesar L

6 апр. 2020 г.

Great course with great teachers. Reading material and videos complement each other in a way it makes it much nicer to learn. It was always a dream to know more about dinosaurs and now I will enjoy much more my visits to museums and articles about this group. Perhaps, as a documentary maker, one day will prepare something about them! Many thanks from Brazil!!

автор: Diogo d L F

19 июня 2020 г.

I was always fascinated by dinosaurs, from a very young age, I even thought about pursuing a career as a paleontologist at some point (today I work with crocodilians!). The course was wonderful, I was able to revisit a lot that I had read when I was younger and learned many other things! Thank you very much to everyone who makes this amazing course possible!

автор: Destinee M

26 окт. 2019 г.

I absolutely love this course. You can take efficient notes and refer back to the videos through them. Some small spelling errors in the notes but it is always an easy fix. Really interesting facts and information involving dinosaurs as well as some interactive puzzles and questions in the videos. Overall very fun and easy to do, even with a busy schedule.

автор: Sarah O

5 июля 2020 г.

This was a very useful, fun, and engaging course. Being a more-than-casual dinosaur fan already, I still learned so many new things and unlearned some false illusions I had regarding paleobiology. This course had great resources and was easy to follow along with. Thanks so much for such a wonderful time! I'm excited to continue my paleontology education!

автор: Alex P

28 мая 2018 г.

A most informative, interesting, understandable course!

I must confess that I studied Biology and Geology (B.sc) and yet I had real fun refreshing what I know and learn new thing.

I am an english speaker, but it is not my first language, yet I understood everything, the speech was very clear and the PDFs for each class help.

Overall, a wonderfull course.

автор: Jessica W

14 авг. 2020 г.

Great course, very well organized! The only issue is some dead links in the readings and the fossil viewer does not work. Otherwise I highly recommend this and it is well worth the time.

Side note...there is a big problem with a lack of representation of POC in paleontology. It would be nice of some of the presenters were members of the global majority.