Chevron Left
Вернуться к Database Management Essentials

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Database Management Essentials от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.6
Оценки: 1,743
Рецензии: 430

О курсе

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle or MySQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle or MySQL....

Лучшие рецензии

LL

Nov 15, 2016

Excellent course content, very well presented, great slide decks.\n\n(When I hear "DB Management" I think of tablespaces and indexes. The course should be named "Data Modelling Essentials" instead. )

DD

Oct 21, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Фильтр по:

376–400 из 415 отзывов о курсе Database Management Essentials

автор: Badrinath

Aug 06, 2019

the data modelling part did not cover advanced topics on super type and sub type concepts. also not a single class on design patterns. wish they had a practical case study assignment.

автор: Jason C

Jun 06, 2019

Lessons started out very strong, the middle was a little muddled, but ended strong.

автор: adrian a

Aug 25, 2019

Review process taking a longer time, plus assignment solutions have few errors

автор: Jeff S

Jul 10, 2019

Should have been a bit more challenging.

автор: Mauro G

Jul 01, 2019

Theory about BCNF a bit poor, but in any way it's a very good

introductory course

автор: Esteban R

Sep 02, 2019

Muy buen curso, los conocimientos quedan muy claros después de realizar los assignments

автор: Denis M

Oct 25, 2019

Good overview of DB basics but be ready to train your patience as software installation will be the most demanding task.

автор: Basem E

Oct 13, 2019

Valuable Course Content, Good Instructor

автор: Friso S

Nov 04, 2019

Content wise a very good and useful course. But the technical support on the installation and use of the software needed to complete the course is very limited, and the manuals are not up to date, as they refer to older versions of the proposed software.

автор: NUKALA V S J

Nov 07, 2019

excellent for learning about database management

автор: Frank B D R

Dec 03, 2019

Long but rewarding course, grading it 4-5 because sometimes its boring but thats mostly the SQL, the professor is great and explains really well!

автор: Meena V

Dec 14, 2018

Very time consuming.

автор: Brian M

May 04, 2016

The specialization is great, and the course breadth and topics described in each is equally good. For this course, however, I felt like I could have covered what was taught by myself with a book, i.e. I didn't feel like it was class room level engaging with the explanations.

I realized this is a one way MOOC, but I've taken courses off and on since they came out, and some others felt more interactive. This was more of here's a slide, I will read what's on the slide and explain some topics. The assignments were not bad, but definitely took more time than stated (just keep that in mind). The other thing that would help immensely is having TAs in the course. It's possible that they may get some later, but I've felt I learned/got feedback a lot more in courses with TAs.

That said, this is an excellent introduction to databases course, and there's not many of them out there. If I had to go it again, I would, and I also paid for getting the cert - if anything for career advancement and having it on your LinkedIn profile as a starter DB course.

автор: Matko V

Jul 10, 2016

Nice introductory course for database management. Assignments are challenging enough for beginners like me but I like that. If I'm already 'investing' my time into something I expect to learn something in return. This course gave me that kind of reciprocity. Course would benefit from radically different approach to video-lessons. Reading from power-point slides which are written in the same manner, have identical structure tends to become tedious after a while. Professor seems nice and knowledgeable but a bit more relaxed and/or engaging approach would be beneficial to many. Oh, and peer-reviewed grading, wherever possible, should be replaced with an auto-grader. That's not a critique, though. Not quite sure if it's even possible with this kind of material.

автор: Cesar O M

Jan 03, 2016

I wish to have more contact with the academic crew.

автор: Amber B

Oct 05, 2016

Need more lessons on nested queries and subqueries

автор: Mordi O

Oct 29, 2015

looking good, so far

автор: Harshit S

Oct 17, 2017

Start of this course was very good. But after week 5, assignments became very repetitive and most of the assignments were based on developing an ERD in a tool called ER Assistant. I feel like this part could be covered in 2 weeks time and more stress could have been given to the SQL part of the course.

автор: Xiyu F

Jun 15, 2016

The course was clear, I had difficulties to find course materials, especially examples were used in the video class, I wish they had been put in more obvious places.

автор: Donatien L

Jan 27, 2016

Interesting, I would have liked to deepen SQL knowledge and practice. The conceptual parti seems a little bit too important.

автор: TylerOtto

Aug 16, 2016

Great content, horrible technical support from Coursera and the team that runs this program (since it is clearly obvious that Michael Mannino just recorded the videos and is not part of the class anymore).

автор: Jason L

May 07, 2016

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

автор: STEVEN V D

May 17, 2018

Good course with a lot of hands-on assignments. Sometimes the lectures could be brought in a more intuitive way and were a bit 'over-theorized', which made relatively simple concepts seem more complex than they were.

автор: Rana Q U Z

Sep 02, 2016

This course is really helpful About Database Systems.

автор: DWARAKANATH S

Aug 09, 2017

Good Solid