Chevron Left
Вернуться к Database Management Essentials

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Database Management Essentials от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,083
Рецензии: 521

О курсе

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Лучшие рецензии

AS

Jun 29, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

PG

Dec 29, 2018

This course is having very knowledgeable content. It was having various factors which developed my thinking ability and how to execute the queries. This was absolutely beneficial for me.

Фильтр по:

351–375 из 507 отзывов о курсе Database Management Essentials

автор: Muhammed K A

Nov 19, 2016

good

автор: Agyekumhene E B

Oct 20, 2016

good

автор: Naresh B K

Oct 02, 2015

Good

автор: Melaku G

Sep 19, 2019

e

автор: Ramiro C

Mar 22, 2016

E

автор: Ledon L

Feb 08, 2016

D

автор: RONIELSON L

May 10, 2018

Content: The course content provided sufficient technical database management information, practice and exposure for novice database managers and/or for those learning the introductory aspect of database management.

Approach: The course systematically and effectively employed in-video quizzes and peer-graded submissions and reviews to enhance and further retain the impact of each lesson provided in their modules.

Overall impact: The course fundamentally jumpstarts basic database management principles. To solidly and essentially grasp and enhance one's knowledge of this technical occupation, further continuation of this specialization would be beneficial.

автор: Zafir S

Apr 28, 2020

This was a solid course overall and I learned a ton, but there were some things that can be improved, which I have listed below.

1) Videos with more explanations on how to use some of the software would've been helpful. I had to find external videos in order to learn how to use Visual Paradigm and Oracle SQL Server more effectively. This took additional time when trying to solve the practice problems.

2) Grading each other was helpful, but I think an additional grade from the instructor would be helpful in order to get more feedback on errors and things done well.

автор: Domingos J S

Nov 08, 2016

Great course, learned a fair deal in regards to DB from a beginners POV. The only thing that left a sour taste in my mouth is the poor attitude of some students towards each other. The course uses peer-reviews and sadly some students take joy in poorly grading others whilst providing feedback along the lines of 'Great work!'.

If there was the possibility to actually report these users instead of having to resubmit your work and pray the next set of peers have some decency, I'd happily change my review to a 5 star.

автор: Minas-Marios V

Aug 04, 2020

Very informative course with thorough explanations on that goes beyond teaching you the basics of databases and SQL and focuses on Database Design practical issues. It is a great source of learning material for both beginners and experienced students/professionals. I highly recommend it to everyone. My only complaint is that it could be a little more extensive in some matters (such as advanced SQL queries, normaiization, etc.).

автор: Bernhard K

Feb 28, 2016

A good entry into database thinking. Homework is a tad on the high side for people who just want to learn on the side. Also, not clear why diagrams can't be automated directly from the database programs e.g. Access. Why would I draw an ERD and then design a database separately - better just design the tables and the diagram directly; then you have your ERD from the program e.g. Access or Filemaker.

автор: Uche G E

Jun 15, 2020

I enjoyed the course and learnt a lot about the fundamental skills required to function as a Database Developer/Administrator. I would suggest that the optional textbook be made available through a dedicated platform at no cost to the student. I needed more personal studies after the videos and the presentation slides were not as detailed and therefore not sufficient. Thank you.

автор: Dustin E

Jan 20, 2016

The lecture videos have a format that is a bit over structured. It feels like the instructor takes as much time asking and answering an often contrived "motivation" question as he does teaching relevant material. The slides are of sufficient quality however to make viewing the lectures optional. .

I would have appreciated having all the courses documents in single zip file.

автор: Michael J M

Jun 20, 2018

It is good - generally- and long at a 7 weeks giving a good grounding in the subject matter.I really struggled to understand some of the lectures in the last week as the oral description often seemed not to match the material being displayed on the screen (seemingly what was being described was a more extensive version of the table being discussed I eventually concluded).

автор: Aidha B

Jan 12, 2016

The course was very well presented and was easy to follow. my only problem is that I struggled a little and as much as I was trying to follow and read the recommended reading material, I found that there was not enough time due to the volume of assignments per week. Maybe if the assignments were reduced or we have them every 2 weeks?!

автор: Nguyen T

May 28, 2016

This is a very good course that teaches you many important skills in preparation for the next courses. It does start off with the basics of SQL DDL and DML that most professionals may already know, but later modules that cover design concepts and practice are very good. There are a few errors in the videos but these are easy to spot.

автор: David L

Oct 31, 2015

Very comprehensive course on introduction to database. This is an advanced course so you should have some experience with DBs before taking it. The lecturer, Mr. Mannino, delivers a dry, straightforward teaching style. There are plenty of materials but unfortunately, there is little interaction in the forums from the teacher himself.

автор: Jordan G

Jun 02, 2016

Good course for broad end-to-end discussion of database design and management. Lectures are decent, assignments and practice problems are pretty helpful. Class takes 3-4 hours/week on average, though it varies by week. Would have like to see more advanced discussion for some of the easier topics/shorter weeks.

автор: D'arcy M

Jan 27, 2018

Some of the assignments are very tricky in how they are worded which leads to simple mistakes. I also wish the examples would go through each of the type of problems. I learn best through reading examples rather than the theory so when I don't get to see a problem broken down I find it very hard to learn.

автор: Miguel C S

Apr 25, 2017

Very well structured course, with very nice contents. Needs revision for a lot of easy spottable errors, better lecture slides and better explanations. The last module also needs a complete revision because it has errors and it is really not well explained (beside the subject is relatively simple).

автор: Stefan K

Dec 28, 2015

Very nice introduction to databases. The lectures are not very engaging, the plus is there are practical assignments for every week, where you learn the most. First you submit your own solution and then you provide feedback to your peers. I like the format of the assignments.

автор: Edgar S

May 19, 2017

Me pareció un curso muy completo que sienta las bases para entrar en el mundo de las bases de datos. Se aprende de RDBMS, ERD's, Normalización, entre otras cosas. Eso si, hay que poner mucha atención en los videos por que el tema puede ser bastante abstracto.

автор: Martin R

Apr 01, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the course instructor has a nice tonality and the presentation are most of the time well structured. The database installation should be covered in more detail and i had to buy the book in order to understand everything. Over

автор: Friso S

Nov 04, 2019

Content wise a very good and useful course. But the technical support on the installation and use of the software needed to complete the course is very limited, and the manuals are not up to date, as they refer to older versions of the proposed software.

автор: Mouhammad M

Dec 17, 2015

The course is well structured with clear objective for each lecture. It starts by asking the main question about the course then summarize the answer and the key messages.

Practice and assignment are valuable to apply and test courses knowledge.

Thank you