Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

3.4
звезд
Оценки: 624

О курсе

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

Лучшие рецензии

MF

22 сент. 2020 г.

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

SP

29 июля 2019 г.

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 246 отзывов о курсе Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

автор: Tiangeng L

13 мар. 2022 г.

The intended objective of this course is good. This course would have made more sense if (1) codes appeared in the worked samples are replicable from the mode studio, (2) less on-screen editions, (3) more elaborations on the chunk of pre-edited codes copied to the script, and (4) more connections with the previous module.

автор: Ankit G

7 окт. 2021 г.

Important topic but the professor delivery style was not at par with other SQL and Python course professors. The speed of teaching and sometimes depth and details were missing.

автор: Marjorie G

31 мар. 2022 г.

Worst course ever - I don't recommend it

автор: Jose L G M

4 апр. 2022 г.

A lazy written course

автор: Mike F

23 сент. 2020 г.

A good course for learning and apply sql to conduct analysis on ab testing results. Would be better if the instructor could provide more info about how to design and apply AB Testing on the customers

автор: Chris H

4 апр. 2022 г.

I learned a lot from this course. It was tough and really made me think. I do feel like maybe there were some things that were left out of the instruction but appeared on the quizzes and tests. I was surprised at times at the difficulty of the tests and felt I had missed something. Additional excercises with detailed walkthroughs of the code and explanation of the code would have been helpful.

автор: Karan B

21 мар. 2020 г.

Course was ok overall. I learned the basics and the SQL was good. I learned a lot about the basics of SQL through the course. However, the video could have been better edited and the prompts/questions (especially in the final project) were difficult to understand.

автор: Shaini K

8 дек. 2021 г.

The course had a lot of interesting material and covered a lot of concepts, however, the HW was unorganized and very little information was provided to get it started. The course needed a document with a schema for the data set and much more guidance in solving the problems. Sometimes, the solutions videos were to fast and skipped over the code quickly so that it was hard to take notes. A guide to the solutions in a document would be great too. However, I learnt a lot and will continue to practice using the other resources provided in the course.

автор: Alejandro M Z

24 июня 2022 г.

T​he content is good but the assignments are very confusing. Half the time I was guessing at what they wanted me to do. The support is terrible with seemingly no one responding to quesitons and many old questions left unanswered. This is not a well-put together course but if you stick with it you will definitely learn a lot but it takes more effort than it should.

автор: LUIS G

25 июля 2022 г.

n​o se explica el uso de la plataforma para subir trabajo final. No logre entender el efoque de este curso

автор: Naveen J

15 нояб. 2021 г.

From the start the course seemed to be interesting. However, the tutor Ms. Kat wasn't that great at her teaching skills. This is my view and experience and not sure about others. I felt she must have a great knowledge about Ab testing and SQL but unable to pass the same to her students. I faced difficulty in understanding her situation, examples and more importantly how she write queries. There is no explanation on how and where the query comes from. She states clearly that if you don't understand please review the previous course or lessons. There are many stuffs in Course 2 which were not taught or shown in Course 1 to refer from. All above, using Mode analytics was not that user-friendly specially while submitting the final assignment. There are not clear indication or guidance how to use where to go etc. If we need to do self learning we could have gone directly to mode and grasp the knowledge. Her solution videos with typing noise was irritating. Overall, the course has so much to learn and understand the data but for me it wasn't that easy with such tutor especially with fresher like me in IT field or SQL knowledge. Sadie on other hand for Course 1 was way better in explaining and easy to understand. All the best to other guys enrolling this course. I am thinking to enroll for next course which is SQL with Spark. Hope that will easy to understand. I would rate 2.5 stars actually.

автор: John M

13 июля 2022 г.

Useful, but certainly a drop in quality from the first course. The real-world application to preface each lesson was really good, but the quality of the instruction (more presenting information than actual instruction) and the follow up assignments weren't up to par: Frequently the lessons didn't provide enough information needed to do the assignments, and you'd only discover that when watching the follow up videos (quite frustrating). One of the solution videos in particular answered the questions out of order, which was quite confusing (how was that not caught before publishing?!). Several of the lessons felt a quite rushed - perhaps the slides could have included SQL snippets with bullet points and when to use each (like in the first course), in addition to watching the instructor construct the query. Often the assignment questions were ambigious - it wasn't clear what an end result should look like... an example of a finished query and maybe a hint or two about what would needed could have alleviated this.

Overall, I can't say that I'd recommend this course. While the subject matter is a nice progression from the first course, the lessons and assignments aren't clear enough (they seemed lazy at times) and you can probably find better courses elsewhere.

автор: Ester G G

4 апр. 2022 г.

I got to learn very interesting things by doing the exercises proposed on this course but I had to learn many things on my own because the course is not really well organized and the instructor doesn't provide clear explanations on the topics. It's like she is talking about some theoretical things related to her job as data analyst, but then on the practices you have to be able to write very complex queries that have not been explained previously. Apart from that, the questions on the practices are very hard to follow, I had to watch the resolution videos in order to know what she wanted us to do on the practices.

автор: sanket p

25 июня 2022 г.

the teaching method is confusing, its good to get to see the common mistakes made while coding and how to tackle them however its hard to keep up with the numerous changes made. also theres too little reasoning as to why we are doing things. most important solution video 4.3 is missing an entire solution (Q3) which is what the final assesment is based on. i did not like the instructor, i did not like the method and im very unsatisfied with the knowledge i gained from this course.

автор: Daniel L

14 мар. 2022 г.

Videos are kind of confusing and I would strongly suggest to have some ER Diagram as support. All excercises are based on some tables presented during the first videos and then they just assume you're 100% familiar with it.

Also, the way the final assignment is graded has its opportunities, there's some features of mode analytics which I wasn't familiar with and I had to submit my assignment several times. An introductory video explaining how to do so, would be great.

автор: Laura C

20 мая 2022 г.

I stopped halfway through because the format in which the information was presented was really poor. It is hard to follow the structure. Some of the synthax is out of date, the exercises are not clear. I understand that this is a real daily struggle that every data scientist faces, but since this is a course, I expect the learning plan to be clear and the exercises to be valuable and the solutions to be correct.

автор: Derek H

7 сент. 2021 г.

N​ot very happy with this course. They didn't provide access to all necesarry materials, and submitting the final project was horrible, due to Mode problems.

I​ also felt there were many gaps in the subject matter, too many things were touched on but not taught.

автор: 林弋渝

20 авг. 2020 г.

Her teaching mode made me feel very irritable, and I even abandoned class for a while. Many solution videos contain uncertain factors, including many mistakes. I can't get the point very accurately.

автор: Sahil G

2 июля 2022 г.

The way instructor explained the concepts is not upto the mark. Assignments can really never be completed based on the explanation of the concept given by the instructor.

автор: Abderrahmane K

16 июля 2022 г.

Didn't like it at all, too complicated, bad lectures, bad mentor, unclear goals and unclear exercises, and some times bad voice even

автор: G M A E

26 июня 2020 г.

am sorry but this course was very hard to understand , i think the content was very disjoind

автор: Dalvir B

1 июня 2022 г.

Was presented overly complicated for the code used.

автор: Justin M

16 янв. 2021 г.

This course did deal with some useful ideas; things like research design, statistical testing, and what to do with data that isn't cleanly structured. A lot of times, it was like the instructor was taking a normal day on a data science job and walking you through it.

The issue is the lack of structure to the course. Because it was like a a day on a job, there weren't explicit learning goals. Things like "Today we're going to learn how to clean messy data" isn't a learning goal. Instead, you want something like "Here are some ways in which data are messy. I'll walk you through what I do with each one."

The assignments reflect this. I can't stress enough how poorly the assignments supported my learning. The assignments were usually very vague, with instructions that I had to parse through to understand what was even required of me. Questions that just asked open-ended "Does this look right?" kind of questions? I mean... looks fine to me, but I'm literally in a beginner SQL course so what do I know? Then we watch a solutions video where the instructor writes the code to answer it. It lacks any kind of student engagement and doesn't facilitate learning at all.

It's really indicative of the lack of structure of the course. Since there aren't learning goals, there isn't any framework from which to design assignments. The information lacks context, so it doesn't seem useful until the very final assignment, when you need to have learned the A/B testing stuff (but not really anything else). The course material doesn't build together in a logical fashion. I feel like you could take the 4 modules in any order and you'd get the same out of it. This suggests that there isn't a core skill that's being developed over time, but rather a mishmash of ideas that might be useful in a data science position.

In all, I can't recommend this course. The instructor is an excellent data scientist, I'm sure. But her teaching could use some work.

автор: Domenic P

14 июня 2022 г.

the platform we are instructed to use only includes a 14 days trial so make sure you finish the course before!!! Or else you might have to pay for it to finish the course!!

Sorry to say this but this because i firmly believe the instructor is a very nice and intelligent person but the course felt like a waste of time to me. I only finished it for the specialization.

The first two to three weeks were mostly irrelevant to the final project. And the module about AB testing felt taken out of context with no proper explanation how a test is set up etc. Even I as an experienced regression analysist felt very confused by her "explanations"

I felt lost during the exercises. The gap between the first course and this course is tremendous. Also, the instructor does not explain anything, rather she expects you to know everything in before or to google your problems. She does provide a solution but its hard to follow why she is doing what she is doing and more than 50% of the videos is her checking on her own mistakes. Furthermore codes during exercises are screenshots not actual lines of code which means you have to copy every starter code by hand which takes a lot of time in the later exercises....I feel sorry to say that because she really does seem a kind and nice person and I believe she has deep knowledge about the topic but the way of "try it for yourself and then I'll show you" is not what i expect from a PAID course. What is the point of paying for a course when I have to refer to external information, get unclear instructions such as "Look at the table and tell me about it".... The first SQL course was so great that I was really looking forward to this course but it turned out to be quite disappointing... :(

автор: Joseph C

20 дек. 2020 г.

Very poor course. The information was very hard to interpret as the videos provided in the course did not give live output of the query being used or highlight the important sections that were being described. Additionally, the actions requested in the quizzes were incredibly vague and did not prompt the learner for what was actually being asked. This made it nigh impossible to complete the course as it was set up to accomplish. It did not ever even explicitly state which SQL language was being used (note it is different from the language used in the first course in the series). Finally, the crux of course was to teach AB Testing with SQL, however, it was explained in a fashion that was not clear or concise and did not demonstrate a real world sense of how it could be implemented in a work environment, how to set up an experiment, or even how it was accomplishing the task through SQL.

Hopefully it will make more sense as I go over the course from the beginning, but please be aware that this course was not well constructed and any insight that you might glean from it will require much more research on your part.

This course's concepts were not well explained, demonstrated, or executed.

Do not recommend...