Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 5,289
Рецензии: 1,208

О курсе

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

DA
24 авг. 2020 г.

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

HR
1 мая 2017 г.

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

Фильтр по:

1151–1175 из 1,205 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

автор: Chris M

28 июля 2019 г.

Some good resources provided, but too high level. Looking forward to more detail in the next courses.

автор: S.Sai R S S

11 июня 2020 г.

There is not much Depth even in the topics covered in this course !!

автор: Beverly F

28 авг. 2019 г.

I thought this would be a class to learn Tableau. it wasn't.

автор: Elizabeth N

19 февр. 2021 г.

I wish it focused more on the technical aspect of tableau

автор: Seho L

22 янв. 2020 г.

Material is too scattered and I didn't learn much.

автор: Kevin M

8 июля 2019 г.

Assignments were way too easy and tedious.

автор: Monserrat A R

12 мая 2020 г.

mucho mas básico de lo que me imaginaba

автор: Bobby G T

12 июня 2021 г.

The first part seemed very amateurish. One part included listening to a podcast interview for half an hour. During the short demonstrations, the demonstrator moved quickly, saying what they were trying to accomplish but without explaining HOW they were doing those things (items like the need to right-click versus double click). The project involves reading through a website filled with other people's reports, picking one at random, and then remaking the report to your best guess with no grading criteria and no explanation of the underlying data.

As a professor, I've been doing course development for a while. I really cannot recommend this course to anyone.

This does not appear to be about Tableau but, instead, is a generic discussion of data visualizations that happens to use Tableau as example software. Even then, it is poorly executed.

автор: Adrienn P

5 мар. 2021 г.

One of the worst courses I've taken on Coursera so far.

It basically tells you how to download and install Tableau, then some very very basic functionalities. Then the final assignment asks you to make an advanced visualisation. How? I don't know, no one in the course explains it.

Another thing I really didn't appreciate is that the course asks you to sign up for 4(!!!) external accounts, which for the purposes of learning the topic are totally unnecessary (they ask you to create a Google, Twitter and Data.world account next to registering to Tableau).

For those consious of data privacy, please be aware that without setting up an account on all of these platforms, assignments cannot be completed.

автор: Lara K

5 дек. 2021 г.

T​here was a decent amount of introductory info in the lectures. Unfortunately, the main takeaway for me was irritation that (1) the technical Tableau demonstrations were very quick (with the screen in tiny font, so you can't see what the instructor was doing), (2) we were COMPLETELY unprepared for the homework assignment (producing a viz), and (3) the homework assignment required that you share your viz on Twitter, which I was not previously on and did not want to join. This course is the reason I will not be recommending this 5-course specialization to others.

автор: Zack W

26 июля 2020 г.

Not very informative, it would help a lot if there was some sort of standard dataset that was included with the course rather than picking your own, as the dataset I picked was not nicely formatted for use in Tableau (although I would've been fine making visualizations in Python/R/etc).

Final project requires you to post on Twitter. I do not have a Twitter, I do not want a Twitter, I don't understand what Twitter has to do with learning Tableau, therefore I did not finish the course.

автор: Larry C

16 сент. 2016 г.

Very basic in terms of material covered. Would be nice as a free remedial class in prep for the main specialization. Homework assignments were confusing and did not appear to have been reviewed by the instructors before being sent to students (main problem, the free software students use was not the same version as that being used to develop the homework). Instructor support was not evident in the user forums. Below the quality of the free classes taken in the past.

автор: Peter C

7 февр. 2019 г.

I thought the presentation was clear, the production was professional, and the instructors were solid. Unfortunately I felt the course had too much "fluff" and not enough functional/technical knowledge. Yes, there are interesting topics... but for a course titled, "fundamental of Visualization with TABLEAU," I expected a lot more of Tableau to be covered. All you get from this course is how to connect to data sources, which is intuitive to begin with. Disappointed.

автор: Theodore B

18 дек. 2019 г.

I think this course could use a real bump with instruction and content. I found Week 3 to be very repetitive for each "module". I am flat out disappointed and I wish I could get my money back. I shouldn't be able to breeze through this so quickly without really touching the tool before. Second - the Week 3 Peer Review assignment won't even work - I can't get TP to import it no matter how I try - Excel or sliced CSVs.

автор: Edward M

8 июля 2019 г.

This is really more of a fundamentals of visualisation than a Tableau course. Misleading title aside, the course left quite a bit to be desired and included peer-reviewed assignments which covered content not discussed in the course. Repeated attempts by participants to have the assignments updated and have gone unacknowledged for 2 years from when I took the course in June 2019.

автор: Jahanzaib Q

31 мар. 2021 г.

Everything taught in this course could have been learnt for free from the Tableau training video. Also, the peer review grading system is absolutely bogus and no one deserves to have their work graded by an incompetent person who is clicking through your review without even looking at the work. On the plus side, you get a badge that you can add to your linkedin

автор: Karen V

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I was disappointed with the amount of time that was dedicated to teaching the actual basics of Tableau and basic data visualization best practices. Also, more emphasis was placed on using Twitter and connecting with the data viz community for the last project rather than focusing on the fundamentals of Tableau and visual design.

автор: luc m

6 мая 2020 г.

Do not take this course. The material has little to do with the present version of Tableau. The data files provided by the instructors actually crashed the latest version of Tableau 2020.2

Furthermore most of the supporting material directs the student to the tutorials provided by Tableau.

This was an absolute waste of my time

автор: Prateek P

3 окт. 2019 г.

Poorly organized course. Video lectures were repeated, assignments were ambiguously stated, and quiz questions did not challenge the user to apply the knowledge presented in the course. The Tableau software is incredibly powerful, but I can not recommend using this course to learn it over other resources available online

автор: Mehmed P

13 янв. 2020 г.

I was not able to complete assignments because I needed to buy Tableau Desktop for my Week 3 assignment. Tableau Public does not have certain features that are necessary to complete this rather trivial assignment.

Biggest issue is that this is a specialization course, and that means money is not refundable.

автор: Shashidhar G

2 мар. 2020 г.

Not in a favor of this course as it takes much of our time in the review, and involve inconsistent score by reviewer mindset. Received an email from Coursera with a low Grade achieved score after scoring more than the threshold assessments.

Disagree with Coursera discern method on learning and review.

автор: Atif S

13 мар. 2021 г.

The content on Tableau.com/learn is far focused and better for anyone to gain skills on Visualisation.

The rest of the content should have focused on best practices of visualisation and their commentary but it was quickly summarised into a 3 minute video with no rationale.

автор: Marcel G d R W

9 апр. 2017 г.

Poor course. No original material, they use Tableau training material. I did the first 4 weeks of the course in 5 hours and learned nothing new, except using Tableau. I could have learned the same using the Tableau first video in 10 minutes.

автор: Luke B

16 авг. 2021 г.

The course doesn't come remotely close to preparing a new Tableau user on how to finish the final peer graded assignment. I am furious that I wasted time on this course when this is the exit toll-gate.

автор: Avinash S

28 авг. 2020 г.

Extremely slow paced and basic.

The material covered by the entire course is tiny.

The quizzes seem pointless.

Why do I have to have an account on Twitter to complete an assignment?

Very disappointing.