Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data Structures and Performance

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data Structures and Performance от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,122
Рецензии: 435

О курсе

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Лучшие рецензии

DB
12 окт. 2017 г.

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS
18 дек. 2015 г.

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Фильтр по:

401–425 из 427 отзывов о курсе Data Structures and Performance

автор: José M G

21 сент. 2018 г.

More examples of java are necessary.

автор: Abhijit G

23 мар. 2017 г.

very good course for data structure

автор: 王海阳

2 апр. 2016 г.

not bad,but too simple for me

автор: Rakesh V

19 дек. 2015 г.

but more depth is required

автор: Muhammad M

12 июня 2020 г.

It was really helpful...

автор: Siddharth S

17 авг. 2019 г.

It was a great course

автор: Saadat R

8 окт. 2016 г.

Excellent explaination

автор: Juan A

3 янв. 2016 г.

Very good lectures.

автор: Arpendu K G

16 сент. 2017 г.

Excellent course

автор: Hans M

10 июня 2016 г.

Great course

автор: Cinzano

12 дек. 2015 г.

worth taking

автор: Ahmed A

30 окт. 2016 г.

Thank you.

автор: Ajay K

5 февр. 2016 г.

Loved it

автор: KODURI V J N S G V T C

28 июля 2021 г.

good

автор: Daniel J D

7 апр. 2016 г.

The course does an OK (but not great) job at teaching Data Structures. And it does an OK (but not great) job at teaching Algorithm Performance/Optimization.

The lectures and starter code could use some better integration.

The assignments could be improved. They give you a bunch of code and ask you to complete it. This is kinda the way things work when you inherit a bunch of code, but its not how it works if you have to write it from scratch.

This course has been taught many times, and the forums contained old posts, and they didn't seem as useful as in other courses I've taken.

My main objective for this course was to continue learning Java, and it helped me do that, so I gave it 3 Stars.

автор: Orlando C

30 мар. 2018 г.

I started the specialization without any kind of programming experience. Although I find the content very relevant, I believe the assignments can be overwhelming sometimes for someone with as little programming background as myself. Recommendation is to, instead of having the students build everything at the end of the weeks, divide the homework in 3 or more pieces and as the lessons progress, program just a bit of code.

автор: Brandon W

21 нояб. 2020 г.

It is a decent course to learn different data structures in Java. I've learned a lot throughout this course. However, the biggest drawback is that it is an old course just like the previous one. A new decade already has started long ago and this course could give much more if it was updated in accordance with new versions of programs. For future students, please do so.

автор: mohammed

9 сент. 2016 г.

its very basic stuff , and uses not optimal solutions to coding challenges , which might be okay for basics , for example the spelling check/suggestion project algorithm is probably exponential in time complexity .

автор: Kerstin K

23 июля 2017 г.

Still the first weeks only repetitions from the predecessor specialization. But better assignments than the first course and not only repetition.

автор: Jacob F

26 июня 2018 г.

good materials, learnt a lot but human interaction is a desert think this course is too old maybe

автор: Unnar T B

5 дек. 2015 г.

Not difficult course but teaches you much about Java

автор: Rachmat F

11 февр. 2016 г.

good course, but... paid, I can't submit the task

автор: VIKALP P

7 июля 2021 г.

good course..Followed practical approach

автор: Barath K

24 нояб. 2019 г.

good

автор: Ahmet G

1 февр. 2021 г.

Did not like this course at all, it is not flexible at all when it comes to IDE choices and offers very little support when it comes to using IDE's such as Intellij. The course consists of core and support videos, the idea being that if you are competent enough you are able to tackle the assignment/projects at any point. If you feel like you need more help you can dip into the support videos. The problem with this is that the videos are not actually very good and the support in the forums are lacklustre at best. The end of course peer review is an absolute joke and literally has no value to the students what so ever. It's basically students grading eachother positively so that everyone can pass lol.

Things that need to improve:

- Outdated content and Java version, Course structure needs to change, support videos need to be more supportive and maybe incorporate a code as you go approach incrementally building up on concepts, more active lecturers on the forums.