Chevron Left
Вернуться к Data-driven Astronomy

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Data-driven Astronomy от партнера Сиднейский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,177

О курсе

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Лучшие рецензии

SK

10 сент. 2020 г.

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

28 февр. 2020 г.

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 345 отзывов о курсе Data-driven Astronomy

автор: Luis C M R

9 мар. 2021 г.

This course is amazing. I enjoyed learning about astronomy, writing code and applying machine learning models!. Where can is the second part coming out?

автор: Matsvei Y

1 мар. 2021 г.

Very good and full of information course. Helped me in understanding a lot of astronomical theories and how to solve astronomical problems using python

автор: Andrés A M

27 мар. 2021 г.

Great course!! Very entertaining and useful to introduce concepts of big data, machine learning and database management to physicist and astronomers.

автор: Xiaoping L

11 мар. 2018 г.

It's awesome! the combination of lecture and coding-tast is a very brilliant mode. This is my first course I have ever finished in Coursera! Thanks!

автор: karthik s

22 июля 2020 г.

I really loved the content from this course. The information that was given in the course was at least from decades of research and its conclusions.

автор: Erin D

30 сент. 2018 г.

Excellent. Teaching is thorough and concise, the quizzes and external coding problems are challenging enough but not overwhelming. A great course.

автор: Rian F J

24 окт. 2020 г.

This course is very fun to work on. I like the platform they are using to practice coding. The videos are also very informative and interesting.

автор: Pierre B

20 апр. 2018 г.

Great course to get an overview of the type of problems that astronomy faces and how to use data and machine learning techniques to solve them.

автор: Bojan D

28 июля 2020 г.

This is an excellent course. I would strongly recommend it to everyone who is interested in astronomy, machine learning, or computer science.

автор: Michael W

8 мар. 2019 г.

This is a very well organized, interesting, and, quite frankly, fun class. I especially liked being able to do hands-on exercises in Python.

автор: Pedro d S Q

30 мая 2020 г.

I liked the way the lectures were presented, and each assignment help me in getting a better grasp on the subject we were learning about.

автор: Andrew J

23 июля 2021 г.

E​xcellent MOOC providing astronomical knowledge along with the application of that knowledge in data science using real-world problems.

автор: Abhinuv N P

24 апр. 2017 г.

Excellent course for astronomy enthusiasts with really useful and informative Python Assignments. One of the best MOOCs I have attended.

автор: Danilo S O

9 июня 2020 г.

Such an amazing course, one really learns so much, good methodology. All the assignments were very useful and instructors explain well.

автор: Pamela S P

7 июня 2020 г.

Curso con hartos contenidos interesantes y explicados de una manera simple y entendible. Me encantó el formato de programación que usa.

автор: Meghna D

4 дек. 2020 г.

I really like how well-paced it is. it definitely is a good introductory course for someone who is interested in pursuing this field.

автор: francisco

11 мая 2019 г.

An exciting course towards data science is involved in other topics as Astronomy, and a glimpse on the techniques that are being use.

автор: Tony G

22 авг. 2019 г.

Excellent course. One of the best I've taken. Love that real data sets were used to illustrate the concepts. Highly recommended.

автор: Gaureesh C

15 авг. 2020 г.

Great course for Astronomy enthusiasts as well as for people looking to improve coding skills in python, sql and machine learning.

автор: Yogita P

12 июня 2022 г.

This course is really amzing and helpful to learn about astronomy and astroomical data analysis using python and machine learning

автор: Давыд А

26 дек. 2021 г.

I​ just want to say thank you very much! It's a great course. I got acquainted with the basics of big data analysis in astronomy.

автор: Pier-Francesco R

17 июня 2019 г.

It's a good start point if we want to understand actual astronomy and the analysis of new big surveys like SDSS or the next LSST

автор: John A

10 дек. 2020 г.

An excellent introduction to the uses and benefits of data science in Astronomy, using real world examples. I really enjoyed it

автор: Marco P

14 сент. 2021 г.

Great course and a great opportunity to learn about data analysis, classification of galaxies and astronomy. Very inspiring.

автор: Abhijeet B

23 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course designed to provide a good introduction to data analysis in astronomy with plenty of hands on excercises.