Chevron Left
Вернуться к Dairy Production and Management

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Dairy Production and Management от партнера Университет штата Пенсильвания

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 865
Рецензии: 281

О курсе

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

Лучшие рецензии

AC
14 нояб. 2020 г.

The course gave a clear and detailed view of all the compartments of the dairy industry with specific number and studies that give a clear message of the development and the cycle of the industry,

SS
20 дек. 2019 г.

it was an amazing course which help me to understand the dairy production and management and also help me to improve my knowledge regarding dairy management as well as skills.\n\nThank you.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 277 отзывов о курсе Dairy Production and Management

автор: Peter J S

27 авг. 2020 г.

The Dairy Production and Management course provided me with an incredible opportunity to learn about dairy farming where I would not be able to learn outside a University or a dairy farm. Thank you to all of the instructors and Penn State University for providing the training.

автор: Eddy L

5 мая 2016 г.

Excellent course.

It is a really good overview about Dairy Production and Management. It does not bore with too much detail. However provides enough additional material to work with and get as far into the subject as one wishes to.

Thank you so very much for this online course.

автор: Erik F

26 нояб. 2016 г.

Excelente curso, con videos de alto nivel técnico e información actualizada, excelente todo el material en cada uno de los módulos, recomendados a aquellos les guste la producción lechera. Espero que sigan sacando cursos de este tipo. Recomendado a la comunidad de Coursera.

автор: Utibe M O

28 июля 2020 г.

Thank you Coursera for this opportunity. This course has really opened my eyes to many things I had little or no idea about. I can now speak boldly on the subject of dairy production and management. I am very excited that I enrolled for this course. Thank you!

автор: Johanna C

2 мая 2016 г.

Very interesting course covered a number of different areas I was particularly keen on the sustainable and environmental issues. I don't have any farm animals but it still taught me a huge amount of what is involved in getting a pint of milk to ones doorstep

автор: Edwin J T

9 июля 2020 г.

What a fantastic course. I have learned more to bring me up to date with modern practices.

The knowledge from the Professors on the course and how the course is structured and delivered has been excellent.

Well done for giving this opportunity within reach.

автор: Hussaini S M

29 янв. 2020 г.

Very interesting and educative course indeed. I have just started Dairy Farming and the course has given me a lot of insights and best practices in Dairy Management from Breed Selection to Nutrition, Reproduction / Farm Management practices and Economics.

автор: Lenin A

24 июля 2020 г.

This is a wonderful course for beginners. Provides valuable knowledge to people like me who are looking into change of career. I thank the professors and all faculty members profoundly for imparting much needed knowledge in Dairy farming and management.

автор: Vanessa S D

13 янв. 2018 г.

I really liked the course, the very complete topics and the doctors who gave it with very useful information. The app works for me perfect because it reminds you of the dates and you can take it at the moment you have time no matter the place. Thank you.

автор: Dr. J T

19 мар. 2018 г.

I liked the detailed information and presentation about the different aspects of Dairy Farming.

Every module is presented in a very simple and detailed manner. Appreciate the efforts of everyone who have taught me through this course.

Dr. Jayaprakash TG

автор: Sara S O

16 апр. 2016 г.

It is an excellent course! Thanks to it I have learned lots of things I dind't know about dairy farms. Also about care, food and needs of cows. The videos are so great and professors make lessons easy and accessible to all levels. 100% recommended!!

автор: Ernestine P I

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you for this opportunity to know more about dairy management. It made me realize that indeed we need to learn continuously. Thank you, Coursera for this opportunity! Continue to help everyone who seeks more knowledge and learning. More power!

автор: Elizabeth A R

31 мая 2016 г.

Great course, loaded with information! Definitely worth going through for any cattle farmer or vet. My only complaint is that on some of the quizzes, you will never get the right answer because the answer keeps changing. But that can be fixed. :)

автор: Dakshayani S

22 нояб. 2020 г.

I am grateful to Coursera and pennstate for providing this awesome course.It provided me with a lot of knowledge about the dairy field and covered vast range of topics that are very essential for a person working in this field.Thanks a lot!!!

автор: MUSA A

30 янв. 2018 г.

An excellent course from PSU. The instructors are superb and interesting to listen to. The aditional readings are unbeatable and they serve as good resources to perfect student understanding. Excellent score to coursera and PSU. Keep it up.

автор: Muhammad I

2 нояб. 2020 г.

I am thankful to Coursera and Penststate University that provides me with a great experience and knowledge. But still I have not got my certificate, i am student and unemployed please give my hard work response with certificate. Thank you

автор: INAM-U-LLAH

22 мар. 2018 г.

This is a very good course for the people interested in dairy farming or for those who want to start a career in dairy farming. I would definitely recommend this course as a short term and efficient approach to learn about dairy farming.

автор: Merga B

25 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent and highly organized course for dairy extension workers, teaching staffs and research workers in the same discipline. I thank you all instructors, organizers and The Pennsylvania state University for this wonderful course.

автор: Ghada G E A

2 мая 2018 г.

Thanks to every lecturer of penn state univeristy for opening this opportunity of sharing such a great informations for the world's benefit, It is a pleasure to join this helpful course.

Thanks Coursera for hosting and presenting.

автор: Margot V

11 мая 2016 г.

Excellent online tutorial. Course had a lot of application to my field of study in South Africa. I will definitely be applying for more courses and using Coursera more. Thank you to the lecturers at Penn State University.

автор: Amin M H D

27 июня 2020 г.

Nice Course and valuable information with very qualified and experienced persons.

Thank you so much for this valuable knowledge, and all these efforts for preparing this course full with information and knowledge.

автор: Mahdi E f

11 июня 2018 г.

Thank you for all instructors for making all this profound technical information simple and understandable. This dairy course provided me with very useful information on how to manage a successful dairy farm.

автор: Hitech f c

5 дек. 2020 г.

The most valuable course releted with dairy management , complete and very informative, everybody must learn this before planning to work in dairy farm related industry I feel proud to be part of this course

автор: Muhammad Y

26 сент. 2020 г.

It was a great learning for me because the course contents was so nice, up to date & comprehensive. I wish everyone who is the part of dairy production in any way either owner or employee should do it.....

автор: Navjodh k

16 июля 2020 г.

I have enjoyed this course and it was very helpful for gaining knowledge in the field of Dairy Production and Management.

Thanks for providing great opportunity to be part of this knowledgeable platform.