Chevron Left
Вернуться к A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data

Отзывы учащихся о курсе A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 486

О курсе

We have all heard the phrase “correlation does not equal causation.” What, then, does equal causation? This course aims to answer that question and more! Over a period of 5 weeks, you will learn how causal effects are defined, what assumptions about your data and models are necessary, and how to implement and interpret some popular statistical methods. Learners will have the opportunity to apply these methods to example data in R (free statistical software environment). At the end of the course, learners should be able to: 1. Define causal effects using potential outcomes 2. Describe the difference between association and causation 3. Express assumptions with causal graphs 4. Implement several types of causal inference methods (e.g. matching, instrumental variables, inverse probability of treatment weighting) 5. Identify which causal assumptions are necessary for each type of statistical method So join us.... and discover for yourself why modern statistical methods for estimating causal effects are indispensable in so many fields of study!...

Лучшие рецензии

WJ

11 сент. 2021 г.

Great introduction on the causal analysis.The instructor did a great job on explaining the topic in a logical and rigorous way. R codes are very relevant and helpful to digest the material as well.

MF

27 дек. 2017 г.

I really enjoyed this course, the pace could be more even in parts. Sometimes the pace could be more even and some more books/reference material for further study would be nice.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 155 отзывов о курсе A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data

автор: Pichaya T

26 февр. 2018 г.

Excellent courses. I gain my expectations.

автор: Akin A C

3 янв. 2021 г.

excellent course, very very useful!!

автор: Takahiro I

26 сент. 2017 г.

The best lecture series of causality

автор: Clancy B

28 авг. 2018 г.

no nonsense, in depth and practical

автор: Carolina S

18 мая 2021 г.

A very good introduction course.

автор: Paulo Y C

2 авг. 2020 г.

intense and well crafted course!

автор: William L

3 апр. 2020 г.

wonderful course, very helpful

автор: Bob H

19 окт. 2017 г.

Good intro of the techniques.

автор: Junho Y

21 дек. 2020 г.

Jason Roy! He is a monster!

автор: Xisco B T

5 мая 2019 г.

Very interesting studies.

автор: Andreas N

29 авг. 2020 г.

Very well presented.

автор: Chang L

11 сент. 2017 г.

enjoyed it very much

автор: Jose S

22 февр. 2020 г.

Enlightening.

автор: Bolin W

4 июня 2021 г.

wonderful!

автор: Alfred B

22 нояб. 2019 г.

Overall a great course. Better than other courses on causal inference on coursera. However, some of the topics (e.g. within the IPTW and IV methodologies ) were presented in a sort of general manner (intuitive). Which is obviously not a fault of the instructor and is due to the strong research nature of these topics. Personally, I can't think of presenting, for instance, 2SLS or insights on IPTW in more detail within a crash course. Perhaps, increasing the number of weeks to 6 or 7 in order to include more detail on, e.g. 2SLS would be a good idea. What definitely helped to make up for those missed details is the practical examples parts with R. Keep up the good job!

автор: Marko B

12 окт. 2019 г.

Clear course most of the time and a very interesting subject. The teacher covers the concepts from many angles: conceptual understanding, math, examples and R code. I like how there is little "fluff", you learn a lot for the time given and I don't feel any of the concepts covered are unnecessary or esoteric. The only negative is that the course could've benefited from more practical assignments. There are 2 R code assignments: could've been more. I was thinking about giving it a 5 or 4 stars and decided on 4 in case a non-perfect score actually makes the instructor improve the course.

автор: Sébastien M

30 апр. 2022 г.

It was very fluid and well-detailed. The sructure of each video was clear with a lot of nice examples.

However I found the content too much specific (usually on Biological questions), which makes most of the tools used here questionable for others fields. For example, some of my great questions are :

1- How do I estimate causal effect if the treatment is continuous ?

2- What if I have a set of treatments and want to analyse the causal effect of subsets within them ?

It would be nice to take the content of this course on a more general view :)

автор: Joe v D

24 авг. 2017 г.

Very approachable as someone with a Masters in Statistics, probably tough if you are not comfortable with notation and concepts of intermediate prob/stats. Extremely clear and concise presentation. Coverage of methodology is a little weak, there is not enough discussion of the dangers of doing causal inference on observational data, nor of the dangers of the proposed methods. For instance, propensity score matching is ineffective or even harmful in the face of hidden confounders, which in the real world you almost always have.

автор: Alberto R N

23 сент. 2020 г.

It is a great course for those who want to better understand how causality works, statistically speaking.

Until the 3rd week the classes are very well exemplified and detailed, great to follow.

Then, it is difficult to follow the explanations, impacts of the models, etc. - a pity.

The interpretation of analysis results, variations and other subtleties is not the focus of the course. If you expect to see analysis and interpretation of results right away, this course is not for you.

автор: Tom v D

1 дек. 2022 г.

The instructor explains the concepts very clearly and the slides/examples are instructive. I enjoyed the course, finished it, and feel that I have a good understanding of the basics of causal inference; good enough to apply the learned techniques in the real world.

The fact that the slides are not made available is a big downside for me. Furthermore, the labs could have come with more instructions for those that have never worked with R before, like me.

автор: Manuel A V S

6 мая 2018 г.

I have an economics background and during my undergraduate studies I took several statistics and econometric courses. The contents delivered in this course complemented my knowledge very well from another point of view. I would definitely enjoy a more advanced course dealing with other methods. The only aspect I would improve is providing the slides for further study. Other courses in Coursera do this and, honestly, I often consult the slides.

автор: Tanguy d L

19 окт. 2021 г.

Great professor and teaching. This course was a great introduction to causal inference. I remain a little unsatisfied however on a few concepts which I found insufficiently explained. In particular, the link between DAGs & d-separation and the 2nd part of the course is not very well explained. I would recommend to first follow the EdX course "Causal Diagrams: Draw Your Assumptions Before Your Conclusions".

автор: Varun D N

2 мая 2020 г.

The contents of this course are extremely concise and useful. The course prioritizes some of the important techniques used for causal inference. The practice tests , quizzes and data analysis tests were helpful to learn better. The lectures weren't inspiring or exciting and self-motivation is necessary to be able to stick with it. However, I would recommend this course to anyone interested.

автор: Tiago F P

9 нояб. 2022 г.

The course is an excellent starting point for someone that wants to dive into Causal Inference. After this course, other literature starts to become more accessible.

A drawback is that the programing language used in the examples and on some quizzes are in R. Some of the quizzes are very old, and the given instructions to solve them need to be "bent" a little bit in order to be solved.

автор: Chi B

26 янв. 2022 г.

The contents covered in the lecture are excellent. I've gained a much better understanding of Causality thanks to this course. The only complaint I have is that the dataset required for the coding assignments has not been updated, and therefore does not have the exact same features as mentioned in the instructions.