Chevron Left
Вернуться к Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Character от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 1,750

О курсе

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Лучшие рецензии

SS

10 авг. 2016 г.

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N

25 сент. 2020 г.

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 512 отзывов о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

автор: Khushboo K

24 авг. 2020 г.

I loved how Amy Bloom has inserted images in between the videos explaining about the craft of character. I love the eloquent description with examples that made the course easy to understand and I felt confident while doing the assignments.

автор: Julie G

9 апр. 2022 г.

T​his course was excellent. I especially enjoyed the interviews with writers and the exploration with them of their craft. Also the exercises provided a good opportunity to practice different aspects of writing characters and dialogue.

автор: Steven M

5 мар. 2022 г.

This was a very satisfying course. Good instruction, good examples, good interviews with working writers. I would note that the instructions for some of the assignments were a little unclear, though maybe this was a spur to creativity.

автор: Beth P

8 дек. 2020 г.

I loved the writing prompts for this part of the Creative Writing Course - The Craft of Character.

The directions for assignments got more complex as the class went on. I got a lot of peer review feedback which was helpful and welcome.

автор: Audrey A

10 авг. 2022 г.

Excellent. I found the course to be engaging and profound. It laid the foundation for an even deeper study of the craft of character. I am grateful to Amy Bloom for sharing the knowledge and inspiring me to write more. Thank you!

автор: William I H

15 сент. 2017 г.

Loved the lectures and the assignments have improved my writing. It's a course, like the Plot course, that I can see myself retaking and it being just as useful. Would love to see a follow-on set of writing classes here too ;)

автор: Odira U

29 мар. 2016 г.

This is my best course in this specialization. The assignments were challenging and fun, and it also made me realize that I'm more of a character person. I find it easier to create a character then to write about the setting.

автор: Giovanna A

24 апр. 2021 г.

Es un curso muy completo de tantas manera, disfrute mucho cada clase y las actividades, siento que con cada modulo voy aprendiendo nuevas herramientas de gran ayuda al momento de estudiar, editar o crear un texto. Gracias.

автор: Sarwaswa V

22 мар. 2018 г.

It was overall a terrific course which really made me to think things especially Week 2 and Week 3.

Great peers .

I always felt they gave me legit review for my work.

I look forward to come across all of you in next segment.

автор: Zakir H M

26 авг. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Learning various techniques to come up with an effective character is really fascinating! I thank you very much for offering and conducting the course that is instructive in many a way.

автор: Sean D

23 июля 2018 г.

Great course, although some of the assignment briefs could be clearer. I would definitely advise using the forums to help get advice form members and mentors and also search for assignment examples. Tough but rewarding.

автор: Tulia G

7 мая 2019 г.

Excellent course for having the first insights about the different kind of narrator, learning about how to build background and subtext in order to show our characters trough details, actions, and locations. Thank you!

автор: vf

5 сент. 2016 г.

Just finished watching all the videos and it is excellent!

To say, 'well done' to any bit of good work is to take hold of the powers which have made the effort and strengthen them beyond our knowledge. Phillips Brooks

автор: Tuakondja V

23 дек. 2021 г.

I​ learned how to use my senses and everyday life events and conversations in order to build strong characters, and how to use dialogue in ways that support the development of each character and bring them to life.

автор: Rodrigo B

24 окт. 2020 г.

Great! I was expecting a character-centered course, so getting to know that creating a character involves environment, how to use in a useful way (pardon for the pun) dialogue, etc; really opened my mind. Thanks!

автор: Pradyumna K

27 июля 2020 г.

I found the course very well structured. It was easy to understand and added so much to my understanding of characters and point of view. The assignments were a little tough but I think that is only a plus point!

автор: Tabitha R B

23 сент. 2019 г.

Got a LOT out of this one. I've really started to have the proverbial rubber meet the road, I'm discovering my voice better as a writer. Thank you so much for all the information you provided in this course!

автор: jayne

22 окт. 2016 г.

This course has been unbelievably useful. It has exceeded my hopes. It is well taught and the assignments have really challenged me. I have learnt just as much by reviewing the work of others. Thanks so much.

автор: John D

1 дек. 2016 г.

Terrific class that does a great job of teaching how to write believable characters. I also learned a lot about how to incorporate your characters in your setting and how to write different points of view.

автор: Edwin D S d L

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Professor Amy Bloom teaches writing with clear examples and explanations. Her lectures also include intervews with many published authors that enrich the contents of the course with their own experience.

автор: Krysten C

31 дек. 2019 г.

Really loved this course. The assignments were challenging in their own ways, bringing you out of your writing bubble and getting you to really think about your characters and how to bring them to life.

автор: Andrés F G

18 февр. 2022 г.

This was was very good! the style was different from Brando's course of course, I could see the personality of the professor in each piece of content and on each assignment. I really enjoyed this one.

автор: Trishanku T

7 апр. 2022 г.

Easy to understand and it give me confidence to write. Thanks for this amaging course. I learn something new in every lession about constructing a character to develop it . Its very helpful to me.

автор: Eneida A M

2 нояб. 2016 г.

In this course I learned how to build characters traits and bring them to life. I also learned about POVs and the difference between them. I wrote, rewrote and did it! A special thanks to Amy B.

автор: R.K. M

24 янв. 2018 г.

This course had great focus and helped highlight and give remedies for a number of areas where I need a great deal of improvement. Both the instruction and the peer review was very helpful.