Chevron Left
Вернуться к American Contract Law I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе American Contract Law I от партнера Йельский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 423
Рецензии: 102

О курсе

American Contract Law I (along with its sister course Contracts II) provides a comprehensive overview of contract law in the United States. The course covers most of the key concepts found in a first year law school class. Each lecture is based on one or more common-law cases, integrating legal doctrines with policy discussions. The course also covers key sections from the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC), which governs the sale of goods. By the end of the course, the learner should be able to understand: Formation: how a valid and enforceable contract is created, including concepts such as offer, acceptance, consideration, and promissory estoppel....

Лучшие рецензии

AH

May 03, 2019

This course is an interesting, entertaining, and informative introduction to the prerequisites to contracting. I really enjoyed it and look forward to building on the foundation it provides.

PE

Dec 10, 2019

An outstanding introduction with a very engaging instructor! This course made me think, and it made me come to terms with the legal underpinning of contract law. Completely worth my time.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 102 отзывов о курсе American Contract Law I

автор: Piotr G

Jan 31, 2019

A very good course for non-lawyers or lawyers from outside the common law system. Allows to understand the basics of the US contract law. A great opportunity to take a different look on contracts - other than the continental Europe perspective .

автор: Ahmer J K

Feb 14, 2019

Exceptional course! Loved it. Would highly recommend.

автор: Larry W

Jan 07, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It was more challenging than most Coursera Courses, and I had to dedicate more time and focus intently while in it. I learned a great deal however, and have already been able to apply some of what I learned to real world situations. It was more in depth than Contract Law 1 at my University. I think it could be well complimented if only Yale offered a Moot Court through Coursera as well.

автор: Chuck B

Jun 04, 2019

Excellent course and the speaker was outstanding. He made the subject matter very reasonable to understand and he had excellent communication skills. I did have to back up the video several times as i wanted to obtain the essence and understanding of his lecture.

If I was to go to law school I would want this gentleman to be my contract teacher.

автор: Umer A

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent professor with detailed but understandable explanations of sometimes, complex topics. Highly recommended.

автор: Marcia L B

Nov 20, 2019

This course was very interesting to me! I learned many things about contracts! Perfect!!!!

автор: John B

May 04, 2019

A very good overview of principles of contract law. A great refresher course.

автор: Jaime-Louise S

Jun 13, 2020

Great course and easy to follow. Would love the readings to be a little more of a summary rather than the whole case but nevertheless an amazing set up!

автор: Tin T N

Jun 13, 2020

One of the most helpful legal instruments I’ve learned from this course is that although many of us for practical purposes would not read all the terms and conditions on most websites or online transactions, a legally useful and time-saving way to gauge the credibility of a site which is bound under the U.S. jurisdiction is to observe how transparently its terms and conditions are displayed.

According to an American common law provision recorded in clause 211(c) of the Restatement (Second) of Contracts (1979), if one party designs/displays a term in such a way they know that the other party will be unlikely to read in full, that term will not be enforceable. A further insightful idea to constrain the abuse of customers’ trust of the reasonability of online terms and agreements as well as their limited time resources has been proposed by Professor Ayres and Professor Schwartz in their law-review article ‘The No-Reading Problem in Consumer Contract Law’ in 2014 (available at http://www.stanfordlawreview.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2014/03/66_Stan_L_Rev_545_AyresSchwartz.pdf).

In short, they proposed the requirements for online sites to add a warning box containing the most unexpected and unfavorable terms in their contractual offer, basing their argument on the presumption that most consumers would have been familiar with other standard terms in the market they are engaging with. Some natural questions I could think of would be

1. How to quantitatively determine the benchmark on which term(s) being ‘unexpected’ and ‘unfavorable’ enough so that they are legally required to be in those warning boxes? In other words, how to determine the minimum required terms in such boxes?

2. Should there be an upper limit of how many terms could be contained in those warning boxes? (to prevent bad-faith sites from saturating all those boxes with unnecessary terms to overwhelm customers but still nominally meet the requirement)

3. As new forms of services and products are coming up online fast and faster, if quantitative limits could ever be set for question 1 and 2, how are those standards going to be adapted to new markets/new industries? (This question may be particularly relevant if the initiative is to be extended to civil-law jurisdictions which may not enjoy the benefit of constantly-evolving case laws like the American judicial tradition.)

Any inputs or constructive criticism would be more than appreciated!

автор: Nelida K

Apr 12, 2019

The course allowed me to acquire concepts on contract formation, valid offers, the extent of consideration as a contractual element, notions of default and mandatory provisions, the different scenarios that may play to allege promissory estoppel, through the analysis of famous cases and renowned judges' findings. All of it engagingly explained by the instructor in videos. I found the readings a bit long and convoluted, not per se but maybe due to my own personal circumstances. It would perhaps be useful if the end-of-module questionnaires could have links to the relevant cases so that one could consult or revisit the case in question before answering, when in doubt, without leaving the questionnaire form. Otherwise, a good foundation to understand the ins and outs of contract law.

автор: Dr. J S

Jun 19, 2020

The Course on American Contract Law I, has been extremely informative, dealing with the fundamentals on American contract law. Starting with the basic rules, principles and theorems on contract law, the course also enunciates the various stages of Contract Formation and explains the sense and the various interpretation(s) of the term(s) of contract law namely, Offer, Counter Offer, Acceptance, Consideration, Quasi Contracts, Promissory Estoppel, Irrevocable Offers, etc, through the most relevant case laws.

My most sincere thanks to Prof. Ian Ayres and his team, along with Coursera for this course.

автор: Eugène

Jun 18, 2019

I've completed dozens of courses, on Coursera & FUN platforms, in English & French, and I have to admit, this one, so far, is simply the best! Why? It's based on self-dev principle, lazer-focused on transforming knowledge into skill set and is not polluted by useless time-wasting peer assignments. The only downside is video low resolution pics, but it ain't no dealbreaker. Kudos to the Prof, the way to go!

автор: Qi W

Jan 31, 2020

Very insightful. very well organized with thorough analysis to each classical cases in contract law history. Professor also provide insights from economic and policy perspective to help understand the logic behind a specific legal choice and the potential profound influence a case may impose to the entire society and to commercial practices.

автор: Dmitriy K

Mar 21, 2019

It is an invaluable course. It teaches the basics of contracting required for a decent citizen to respect personal as well as others rights. If want to know when your promise can cause legal consequences or learn the discipline of reading your mail and take actions to decline unwanted terms and conditions imposed by others then GO AHEAD!!!

автор: Tenisha Y

Apr 17, 2019

This course is informative,indepth, exciting and interesting. Dr. Ian Ayers plays a pivotal role as law professor. I am honored to have taken this eye-opening course and I look forward to taking American Law Part II. One of my favorite parts of this class was providing research for the cases. T. Younger

T. Dyanne Younger

автор: mark w

Apr 27, 2019

Professor Ayres is engaging and detailed about the nuances and formation of the multiple contracts and cases studied. He is thorough and showed the multifaceted applications of interpretation due to time or perspective, as well as the concrete and sometimes not so obvious foundations of those contracts.

автор: Brian B

Jul 19, 2020

This is my second course taught by Professor Ayers. He is engaging, knowledgeable and is able to break down the most difficult court decisions so students can better grasp the reasoning and logic utilized therein. I look forward to learning more in American Contract Law II and beyond.

автор: Santiago C G

Jul 07, 2020

I was very pleased to take this course. The introduction to American Contract Law has been of great utility in my everyday profession and I can only aspire to continue learning of a different legal system than the one employed in my country.

автор: Ron R

Mar 26, 2020

This was a lot more than I expected! It was a serious and heavy introduction to contract law that is not shy to go deep into each case. I feel there was a lot more substance to this course than the advertised "beginner" label. Thank you!

автор: JAIME B V G

May 07, 2020

This is a great opportunity to understand the basics of contracts under the U.S. legal system. This is a very helpful course to enhance the students vision on contracts, even for Lawyers foreigners to the Common Law such as myself.

автор: Matthew W

Jul 15, 2020

This course was excellent, it was exactly hat I needed training for at my current job. I work as a civilian, government contractor and it met every little mark, to meet my needs in understanding contracting more efficiently.

автор: Louis K

May 29, 2020

Remarkable introduction to contract law, which also gives useful insights into the general philosophy of American law, as compared to other legal systems, with a strong focus on the law and economics approach.

автор: Cheng X

Mar 24, 2019

Interesting course and I learned a lot of contract law. However I do wish if there is basic structure on contract law before the cases so that students can map out a path to learn.

Thank you very much Ary.

автор: Joseph P W

Jan 28, 2020

This was a great course. I truly enjoyed it. The subject matter was presented in a way that was easy to grasp but also forced the learner to consider each case in its entirety and the outcomes thereof.