Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking от партнера Google

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 31,617
Рецензии: 7,337

О курсе

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Лучшие рецензии

TS
5 авг. 2019 г.

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

AA
25 мар. 2020 г.

Great course. It is great for beginners and for people that may have forgotten a thing or two. The way it was taught makes it so much better than reading man pages or something else as dry and boring.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 7,405 отзывов о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

автор: Zoe Z

20 июня 2021 г.

I really found the instructors for this course great, and it was an excellent overview of networking. I have needed to do a fair amount of supplemental reading however, in order to get a better understanding of the material. I found this course briefly touches on a lot of really complex topics that are difficult to get your head around, but doesn't quite go into depth enough about how these different components will effect us as IT professionals. For example, I would love to see more information about troubleshooting at different layers in the model, and identifying where the source of the problem is. While this was very informative regarding networking, I'm not sure there was enough information about troubleshooting networking issues, which I would really like to learn!

автор: Bína M

17 июня 2021 г.

I​'ve taken detailed notes throughout the course, just shy of transcribing everything that was said, and still during tests I couldn't find the answers in my notes sometime. I suppose it's just one of the skills of an IT support person to look things up, but I still felt unsure whether that was the goal, or not. Still, I feel like I've learned a LOT.

автор: Romaine A M G

19 сент. 2020 г.

About 40 percent was hard for me because of work and the questions where kinda hard if you don't remember every single thing! But my favorite part was the cloud and IPV6 if I have a chance I would have gotten it done faster in a few weeks, not two months. I did the first course in like 3 days!

автор: Daniel P

25 мая 2021 г.

The course had a lot of good material, but could have had a little better support for memorization. It is phenomenal how much you can learn though.

автор: Carlos A

18 июня 2021 г.

T​he course would've been better if it started with the last 2 subjects since they were much more easier than the first 3

автор: MUHAMMAD-AMEIN M

24 мая 2021 г.

a bit too much concept less practical

автор: Douglass A

25 мая 2021 г.

I do feel that this material was hyper-compressed, so for that reason I give it three stars. However, this course does a really good job of getting you up to speed quickly. I would like to get it 3.5 stars if I can, but the rating system won't allow me too. So, while I would like to give it 3.5 stars; I can't. So, this leaves me with giving it three stars. I can't exactly round up four stars, because I do feel at certain points many concepts were quickly glossed over. I'm under the impression that you need to do a lot more reading to do IT, so I'm expecting to do a lot more reading, right after I'm done taking these six courses.

For those taking this course, don't feel discouraged if you can't pass these six courses. This really isn't the end of your path in IT, if this really is for you. Go to a club or do some meetup groups that chat about these concepts, because IT really can be for everybody. IT is tough, the only reason I'm taking it is because my specific life situation that I'm in. I do think this was meant to be taken as a college course, but whatever, you get what you paid for. Don't be discouraged by the grade you get either, because as long as you pass that's all that matters. Most important of all, have fun. Plus, I bet in the end most if not all of us are going to be completely useless on how to do troubleshooting in a corporate setting anyways. Just keep going man.

автор: Dylan P

20 апр. 2021 г.

I have mixed opinions about this course.

I will start with the good. As someone with previous technical experience, some of the shorter videos were great refreshers. Overall, by the end of the course, I was more confident in my networking knowledge that had become rusty over the years. I had even learned some new concepts I had never considered before.

The bad. Some of the explanations, examples, and supplemental reading are poor. Upon reviewing the course, I realised that basic definitions and simple analogies are often lacking or missing altogether and this interrupts the flow of the course. I found myself constantly referring to external sources to clarify topics due to the lack of clarity. I could only imagine how frustrating this would be to someone trying to learn IT for the first time!

Despite these criticisms, the course does cover the essential networking topics and is worth completing. I would recommend finding a good resource, such as a book (I used Networking for Dummies as a reference guide) or a website with better explanations. Which is a real shame because with some revision, this could be one of the best introduction to networking courses on the Internet.

автор: Avi L

30 июля 2018 г.

I love the energy and personality of the instructor, but the material was almost entirely learn by rote. There were minimal interactive exercises requiring the application of skills. The tests were taken verbatim from the lecture content, and it's obvious the instructor is reading off a prompt the whole time. The only assignment that isn't a rote test is a paper that just requires describing the same material you were just tested on over again. This course would really benefit from a little more improvisation and visual demonstration in the lecture videos and from more interactive material in the course content. I don't feel like I'm quite as strong in networking as I will be in operating systems after finishing the lab-oriented Power User course that requires a lot of practical work.

автор: Anna L

21 мая 2021 г.

The instructor teaching the course was great but I wish there were more visualizations during the videos to better learn all of the terms thrown at you. It would be better to see how everything is applied and with more hands on activities. There was quite a few times that I had to go on to youtube to better understand the concepts taught during this course because it wasn't easy to digest for beginners.

автор: Janice B

12 мая 2021 г.

The material is presented in a very digestible way; however, it is very, very difficult material which requires too much ancillary information in order to fully grasp the concepts, which are not thoroughly fleshed out,

автор: William J

9 мая 2021 г.

I wasn't really a fan of the instructor, and the course really could have used a lot more interactive activities. I ended up using google to learn most of the material.

автор: Brent R

14 авг. 2020 г.

Easily 1/2 of the information that this course covers is USELESS, POINTLESS when the scope of the program is for people wanting to get into IT. I have been in IT since the early 80's, and I'm going for the certification to prove to prospective employers that I'm serious about returning to my roots--support. I can assure you that for someone just starting out in IT, it is utterly pointless to spend any time at all on datagrams, counting in binary and compressing IPv6! Jesus!!! spend more time going from the top down (i.e. troubleshooting fundamentals, etc.) and a hellova lot less time coming from the "bottom up." If I were training to become a carpenter, I would Hnever take a course that included an in depth history of the nail!! (who gives a S....t about what happened to Netscape Navigator!) This is a course for people trying to get into IT not trying to become a professor of networking traffic.

автор: Isis C

4 июня 2021 г.

This sucked. Please allow copy & paste function during the quizzes. IT is about being efficient and using tools, then please for the love of God, LET ME USE SHORTCUTS. Networking takes time to understand, I get it, but at least give us some downloadable pdfs with the diagrams and models from the video instead of making me SCREENSHOT every second to have models to reference. Victor, my man, thanks for teaching the course, but it needs some WORK to help students understand. This would have been hard at university, CC or online. The least they could do is PROVIDE US WITH PRACTICE EXAMPLES FOR THE GRADED ASSIGNMENTS that way we are well equipped. Rant over. Thank you coursera.

автор: Brandon M

8 апр. 2021 г.

In my opinion this material was far too in depth, beyond that which is required for Tiers 1-3 Support Techs, I guess that's why the course is titled "specialist". The routing paths and subnets quiz had me stumped for 4 weeks. I solved it using Dijkstra's Algorithm. it was really quite easy once I had figured it out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GazC3A4OQTE

автор: Alonzo G

16 окт. 2020 г.

The course doesn't provide enough applications for real life. It "tells" a lot more than it "shows." I really wish I learned more practical information from the Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course.

автор: Anthony H

11 апр. 2020 г.

The quiz has excellent knowledge for beginners and covers a variety of topics that one would need to learn for either Comptia Net + or later down the road their CCNA. My issue with this course is with the graded quizzes. The wording of the questions act almost as if they are trying to trick the tester by playing semantics. For example there was a question I encountered covering DHCP, paraphrasing it asked what would the type of IP be classified if you attempt to assign it to the same machine every time. "This would be "Static" being the IP is not being selected out of a pool of IPs. but the answer was labeled incorrect. Also in Week 5 there was a "1" Question graded quiz that has you move the wifi frequency to prevent interference. 1" the instructions are out of date and do not clearly identify what the course sees as "Least frequency interference". Also while interpreting the instructions you are given only 3 tries which will prevent you from completing this course. Not only do I think this should have been a interactive activity no graded. This is not how you perform a site survey. If you have overlap you modify the channels broadcasting (1,6,11) or move the direction /type of antennas.

автор: Miljen A

25 сент. 2020 г.

While the first course was pointless, this one contained actual useful information... encapsulated in an excruciating avalanche of filler, time wasting intros, and the most obnoxious puns I've had the displeasure of being exposed to. And that's not even touching on the multiple tests and quizes that don't function correctly. If I had to rate my Coursera experience overall, I'd give it negative stars if possible. I'd absolutely demand my money back if there was anywhere else to get this information. Your service is an abomination, and you should all be ashamed of yourselves for contributing to its existence.

автор: Joshua C

18 сент. 2020 г.

Unbelievably disorganized. It feels like the instructors were simply told to type up definitions of terms on the fly with extremely, unnecessarily verbose and confusing wording. A huge sticking point was the fact that the instructor never pointed out the simple fact that subnets LOOK like IP addresses but are COMPLETELY different from them. This alone would have helped tremendously, but a friend and I taking the course were left in major confusion for a long time. There are other significant issues with this course, too, which has so far been easily the worst of the 4 out of 5 that I've done.

автор: James B

6 нояб. 2020 г.

Seemed like a lot of information that I didn't need to know and the quizzes asked questions about very irrelevant things that weren't emphasized enough in the lessons because going back to find the answers proved to be a chore. I understand the information and what was presented but the quizzes were a nightmare because they asked you stuff that I'm sure even seasoned vets don't have memorized but it's stuff you would have to memorize when there's no benefit to committing it to memory or barely to even write in my notes.

автор: Adude601

18 янв. 2020 г.

Terribly formatted and extremely glitchy, which is very ironic considering this is an IT course. Tech support simply does not respond to any inquiries, even if they are as desperate as "this quiz does not function". On one of them, I literally had to drag boxes (which were either blank or had the text practically in another box!) at complete random until the quiz accepted them. The lectures themselves are horrible. You will learn more by just looking up YouTube videos on the subject.

автор: Nguyen T P

5 мар. 2020 г.

This course has a problem with Wireless Channel Quiz of Week 5 learning. I tried a lot of time with 5 success scenario for the quiz but it still grade me 0 point, I asked customer service for support but they are not happy to help me and very unaccountable. For anyone who want to learn this course, you can learn but for this quiz "Wireless Channel" is very frustrating. This could be the first and last time I use this coursera platform because of terrible customer service.

автор: Kron A

25 июня 2020 г.

In the second part of the course, I could not send the answers to the quiz, I cleaned the cache and cookies in the Chrome browser. I tried running the task from the Tor browser. All the technical support tips that were written on their forum did not help, there is no way to contact technical support on Coursera. Do not pay for this, the problems are not solved, contact directly there is not provided with other courses on Coursera such a problem was not.

автор: Efrain V

14 мар. 2018 г.

I'm only on to the second week of this course and I have to second guess the the teaching methods used on this course. It seems that the designers decided to use the lazy approach of content dumping and useless memorization. Just by seeing the phrase "100% or more" to pass, you can understand the lazy approach to this course. Content its buggy having to close and reopen quizzes to complete them, and just uninspiring in general.

автор: 221910310006 A N

14 мая 2021 г.

i have to get my cerificate. you people should not ask for account verfication for certificate.My university payed huge amount to you, i think.Please solve this problem quickly.I tried for multiple times to verify my account. its your problem that you are unable to verify my account. A part i am taking the picture correctly for multiple times.Beacuse of you my teachers are pressuring us to put certificate.