Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking от партнера Google

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 38,387

О курсе

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Лучшие рецензии

AM

29 мар. 2020 г.

what an amazing course, so much information and yet so easy to understand, would recommend going over a few of the videos and supplemental reading a few times, take the time needed, it'll be worth it.

TS

5 авг. 2019 г.

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

Фильтр по:

8626–8650 из 8,849 отзывов о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

автор: Aleksa O

18 мая 2022 г.

Boring

автор: Phoebe M

7 сент. 2021 г.

thanks

автор: moamn h

21 июня 2022 г.

weeak

автор: Carmine S

10 мая 2022 г.

buono

автор: Anshul B

8 янв. 2022 г.

Nice.

автор: rumbidzai n

23 дек. 2020 г.

great

автор: MD S H

19 сент. 2020 г.

great

автор: C C K 2

4 мая 2022 г.

good

автор: Kate W

2 дек. 2021 г.

Good

автор: daniel k

11 мар. 2021 г.

hard

автор: Kacham A

23 февр. 2021 г.

Good

автор: Pat D B

1 июня 2020 г.

Hard

автор: PRITHVI C

16 февр. 2020 г.

Nice

автор: LAILI H

19 мар. 2021 г.

:)

автор: Pat T K

17 янв. 2021 г.

overall: It could be simplified and focused on quiz questions and modules, etc as well. The lesson content is extremely dense and not easy to grasp. It seems too complicated and not useful for learners.

Quiz modules set-up requirements could be explicitly stated

e.g. one exam only works on Chrome; another exam fails students without explicitly explaining the rules for failure. Even after submitting correct questions the quiz shows failure. (requires refresh of entire page, should consider eliminating the "refresh" question button that results in a fail. This is not a browser issue from my experience).

If you update the above, I'm sure you will have fewer frustrated students.

I feel sorry for the teacher who is getting heat for this module. If there is a curriculum creator, it seems he/she simply copy and pasted info and created an exam without checking whether the content was clear in the lessons. As a credentialed teacher, I'd eliminate most of the complicated wordage, lengthy explanations. I'd add examples/visuals, and makes sure the quiz is relevant to what was discussed in the lesson. In addition, I'd make sure the instructions and the requirements for the quiz was CLEARLY and explicitly mentioned.

Interesting note: ipv6 compression tools on the web may be producing wrong answers, or the answers in the quiz are wrong. I'm guessing maybe the web tools may be missing parameters in their algorithm that produces wrong answers? I'm assuming and hoping the quiz correct answers are correct.

автор: Erik S

12 июня 2020 г.

I think the course was alright. The instructor while very friendly, and making an effort to be engaging, seemed like he was reading off of slides, versus actually working to teach a relatively complex subject such as Networking. I took extensive notes, but even then, it seemed that the explanations given for some of the core topics and vocabulary had no rhyme or reason to the emphasis placed on them, and sometimes assumed prior knowledge not covered within the class. In other words, a concept that only was covered for less than a minute might be tested extensively in the final exam, but one that might've been covered for an entire video might only have a single question, or none at all in the final. The jokes, while cute, sometimes were incredibly distracting, and would sidetrack off of some core concepts leaving me having to watch a certain segment up to three times. Finally, some of the interactive lessons were amazing at teaching complex concepts in a somewhat fun, and interactive environment, but they also would occasionally be somewhat buggy, with one of the last ones not loading at all. I think this course could be a little better prepared to become an actual interactive classroom, this one at least seemed more like a very bright student's presentation on what they know on the topic of networking.

автор: Cristina S

1 июля 2022 г.

T​he material prepared by Google is dense, well organized and well presented, and very engaging. There were some errors in the course material, as well as in the quizes (I raised some of them, others were years old). I would rate the Google course 4 stars because of this.

H​owever Coursera "mentors" and the Support Team get 1 star, and that's just to be polite!

I have been prisoner of this course for 2 weeks, just like hundreds of other learners, due to problems with the last graded plugin "IPv6 Compression". There have been hundredes of complaints, and we received no useful help during that time! Even more frustrating was to find in the discussion forums for the week 6 that the same issue happened last year, and the year before, and the year before!

M​ore than that, some of the errors I raised were raised before, and still not fixed (one of the issues was in a quiz regarding TTL decrement). Even though I raised them again, I have few hopes that they will be fixed, continuing the confusion that some learners experienced when contacted by a "mentor". By the way a mentor is an "experienced and trusted adviser"​. That is not I have experienced! I suggest going with "customer support", and maybe I will be more forgiving!

автор: Valentin C

4 янв. 2022 г.

Words are thrown around interchangeably and haphazardly too often for something supposed to be so logical. It doesn't have to be dry but I felt it was made to be so personable that info came out confusing and sloppy at times. The quiz questions felt more focused on learning your specific cue cards than the actual universal knowledge. Sometimes it felt the questions were more tricky than the info itself. Plus, when you get a question wrong it doesn't tell you what specific video to double back to, it just lazily tells you it's somewhere in the entire section. Sometimes it's obvious where the question will be but often things are thrown in randomly to the weekly modules. I found myself confused after watching 7 minute videos only to head to youtube and getting a better explanation in less time for many of these subjects. The info was basic enough for beginners but I felt it left out more practical knowledge. I learned about subnets but I can see subnet addresses on my personal computer but I feel based on what was taught, that isn't where you go to change it? I don't even know? This felt more like a data dump than teaching. I know more but I wish I could have learned more of how to apply it.

автор: Tabathia S

12 мар. 2021 г.

In multiple places, it felt very disorganized and in multiple places "I should call out" completely reverses what was said before.

Some spots felt like the videos were out of order, a topic was presented then the opposite was presented, but then it was switched back to the first topic. Don't explain dynamic addresses switch to static and then return to dynamic.

If there are 13 AUTHORITIVE root servers say there are 13 authoritative root servers. Don't say there are 13 root servers and then say "I should call out" there are more than 13 root servers. If VPN is not a protocol don't call it a protocol and then have "I should call out" it's not really a protocol. If it makes the topic easier to understand state that a simplified way is this, or at one point it was this way, but now we have expanded to this way.

I want to go into networking and taking these courses to get started while working on certificates for networking, but this course was very confusing and difficult. Even after already taking networking classes. I considered giving up since everything was all over the place.

автор: Nick S

16 янв. 2021 г.

Lots of basic errors that weren't corrected in the videos, simple errors that make it difficult for people learning for the first time. Ex: 1+1=3 then a window pops up saying "Oops! We meant to say 1+1=2" there are way too many of these throughout all the IT support course. Another big issue is that when I get stuck and go to forums there are so many others lost and confused by the videos and explanations given (understandable with it being tougher material) but then there are no instructors/mentors responding to help! There are tons of unanswered threads with people like me who couldn't grasp some of these concepts because they weren't explained enough and the only people answering them are other students taking the class who found it through youtube or people who already know the info and are just taking the class to refresh their knowledge. Really good program but there are too many errors in my opinion and too much room for improvement; it seems like they just wanted to get it out rather then get it done right.

автор: Christopher D

18 янв. 2022 г.

The entire course was disorganized and poorly taught. The information is good, but if you truly want to learn what he's teaching you'll need to take the time to research each topic thoroughly - wikipedia and youtube are good sources.

Mostly the teacher just stares at t he screen reading a script. Minimal visual aids means most of what he says is just blah blah. I had to read articles and go to youtube and find videos on the topics in order to understand what he's mindlessly rattling on about. He uses technical terms for several videos without defining them. You get quiz questions on topics he's yet to even cover.

Some of the quizzes are buggy and will give you a 0% even if you get all answers correct, and requires repeated attempts to pass. The Network Channels quiz in week 5 took about 30 tries before it passed me, even tho I got every question correct. This test was so easy it took only 1 minute to complete and a child could pass. So frustrating.

автор: Scott L k

25 июля 2022 г.

The instructor is hard to watch and instead of saying "IP A "he reads the entire IP ,you try and stay attentive while someone reads out long strings of numbers .The test is problematic ,doent give help after wrong answerr or any input at all (lazy)or comprehensive instructions on how to use buttons inserted for 1 quiz only .The personal story interstitials are a waste of my time ,not motivational and production $ could be used to better explain concepts you rush through so I have to listen to these peoples stories about their lives .Spell check and reasonable font size within testing would be a professional touch as well.So far class seems old and cheap .Reading materials with graphic aids and not just supplemental reading would be helpful.

Have to reitterate how poorly this networking segment is written !

Stopping mid explanation to insert new concept before finishing initial explanation is ridic and I find the instructor detestable.

автор: Weston O

24 мая 2022 г.

L​ot of material thrown at you, very simple things are given explanation and other more complicated things you need to understand are just glossed over. For example a network switch is described as being a part of the data link layer, and as someone completely new to networking I didn't know if a switch was an actual piece of physical hardware or if it was computer software. And some assignments provide very little useful knowledge while just being tedious, like the IPv6 Compression assignment. I would have very much liked to have it explained in more detail how to actually set up some of the things talked about in the course. HOW do I configure a router to use NAT? HOW do I set up a VPN server for a buisness? HOW do I make my home network work better? Overall it was fine and you did learn some good things, but definitley was not a course I was super motivated to go back to.

автор: Richard K

5 окт. 2021 г.

I found the instruction needlessly confusing. The instructor sort of rambled making no distinction between needed facts and ancillary information. When questioned, i was asked to respond to questions based on one sentence of content. Their was little to "drill down" on as everything was a mono-tone of boring lecture. Yes, the information was correct, but much of it was presented without benefit of instructive example. Just a little time taken to show the "how" of operations would have made a great difference. Instead, i struggled to maintain interest and in the end i settled for the passing grade ( 92 ) instead of pushing for my best. I felt like this just had to end. Worst, i started to doubt myself and the value of this course. But, shaking that off i intend to go to the next level and do well their. Bits and bytes was disappointing

автор: Mike A

13 июля 2020 г.

While a lot of the information in this course is useful, it's presented very densely and with a fair amount of superfluous information surrounding it. I appreciate the desire to include the origins of technology, but there's a point of diminishing returns on the benefits of understanding something that no one ever encounters or uses as a modern day technology specialist. The information that was relevant was incredibly useful, but the presentation, particularly the horrendous puns and jokes that are delivered through poorly held back laughter, was irritating enough that I almost completely abandoned the course and cancelled my subscription to the specialization. I know that's a stupid, petty reason to dislike it so much, but I also don't think I should highly recommend something that I often found inaccessible or off-putting.