Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking от партнера Google

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 36,731
Рецензии: 8,331

О курсе

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Лучшие рецензии

AM

29 мар. 2020 г.

what an amazing course, so much information and yet so easy to understand, would recommend going over a few of the videos and supplemental reading a few times, take the time needed, it'll be worth it.

BC

23 июня 2018 г.

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

Фильтр по:

7851–7875 из 8,422 отзывов о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

автор: Mike S

16 апр. 2020 г.

This is a lot of "book learning". As an IT help desk manager and IT support specialist for over a decade, I don't feel that these lessons are very applicable to what a technician will encounter "in the field". While these concepts are helpful to establish a foundation, I feel that these lessons would be a lot more helpful if they included more "real world" examples. For example: how to hook up a computer, identify ports, proper running of wiring and ergonomics, installing cards and memory, setting up multiple displays, configuring switches and routers, how to do punchdowns, understanding the troubleshooting process, etc. Basically more hands on and less theory.

автор: Michael J

26 мар. 2022 г.

I really hate to give this 3 stars at it is full of information but the problem is there are a ton of new things and words to use and though I can rewind the videos i have found myself getting a better understanding from other youtube videos for the same content. It would be nice to have more interactive exersices as it did help with understanding the IPV6 compression to try out 10 and by the end i felt I had a good grasp. but I dont feel the same with the networking but I do understand there is a ton to learn. Still a great course I just think it could have had more animations instead of seeing the instructor for most of it, and more interactive content.

автор: Emily J

5 мар. 2022 г.

Here is my reasoning for my rating: I wish it had more solid definitions for things before it went into a more detailed explanation of complicated topics, otherwise you are just overloaded with information you don't understand. I'm the type of person that needs the base definition before I add more to it. It took me awhile to make my own and afterwards things started making a lot more sense. I still need to go back and make some for concepts at the beginning of the course so I have a better understanding of the five layer model. To google's credit though, I finished this course in two weeks so I was speeding through rather than taking my time.

автор: Braden B

12 авг. 2021 г.

There are a lot of factual and reference errors in these videos, and the questions are often confusingly written or sometimes just plain wrong. The ipv6 validator in the penultimate quiz is a good example, as it marks something like '9930:cafa::52:4cc:7b7a:37:27e6' wrong while '9930:cafa:0:52:4cc:7b7a:37:27e6' is correct. While it's true that the latter one is *A* correct ipv6 address, it's not *THE* correct ipv6 address. The former is correct, too, but whoever wrote the quiz opted for a big dumb "a === b" comparison rather than write a proper validator. Something I managed to do in JavaScript in about 15 minutes. Which is just plain lazy.

автор: Jessica B

11 окт. 2020 г.

This course introduced a lot of important information pertaining to networking; however, I found myself seeking assistance outside of the course for each week's learning material. It felt like much of the information was explained in a very confusing manner. I might recommend that Google re-evaluate how they choose to present the information learned throughout this course so as to keep learners engaged. Much of the time, I felt like giving up due to the denseness of the material at hand and the difficulty I had in understanding the provided examples, whether they were presented by the instructor or through supplemental links or diagrams.

автор: Aisha Q

10 сент. 2020 г.

The instructor doesn't always arrange the material in a logical flow. I find myself using the transcript to skip over certain segues to understand the point he's trying to make. He also interrupts the flow to mention that he'll discuss a particular topic later, which seems unnecessary to mention at all. Also, at times he glosses over topics that later come in the assessments. I found myself googling a lot of information especially from week 4 which was frustrating because the answers I got were difficult for a beginner to understand. The topics in the other weeks are explained well, but week 4 was a nightmare to understand.

автор: Kwaku A

11 нояб. 2020 г.

Disclaimer: I only did around 1 1/2 weeks worth of content, I unenrolled in week 2. Hence the 3 rating rather than a 1 or a 2.

I have struggled with networking in the past, I thought this course would actually help me and better understand networking but I still couldn't get the hang of it. I just felt like there was so much information being thrown at you and you just have to remember it, there was a lot of terminology that I felt wasn't revisted (That may be because I didn't finish it). I think it would be better if the course was split into two parts so theres more opportunity to nail down what there is to know.

автор: Daxton M

12 июня 2020 г.

For me personally, this course was pretty challenging compared to the other course I took. I feel like some of the videos in this course were too long, and others too short. I wish some topics they went into further detail but I made do with what I had. I also noticed that some of the videos the audio was way quieter or louder than the previous videos. The narrator for this course didn't seem to enthusiastic like the previous narrator. Just know that this course has a lot of information packed in tight, so just know that if you didn't fully comprehend a video just go back and watch it again.

автор: John S

7 окт. 2020 г.

I would LOVE to see this course updated. Also, it would be great in general to get more feedback and interaction in the learning. The quizzes in between modules could be upgraded to be closer to the challenge of the final graded assignment. Also, a final exam that covered the entire scope would be appreciated. I found it very difficult to memorize all of the information without being tested as most of the education is just watching someone talk at a desk. For learners like me who need reinforcement it is not especially effective. However, I did find the material very interesting!

автор: goodservant

6 февр. 2021 г.

As a person without any IT background, teaching was very confusing to understand, because the instructor used technical terms without explanation of it. It only covers important technical terms, but I often had to research through the internet to find out the meaning of the terms and concepts that were mentioned without explanation.

Some video ends before the instructor finishes.

Scripts sometimes do not match with the video.

I am a little worried because I could not build many foundations through this lesson...

But, I still appreciate Coursera for providing a way to learn.

автор: Jason C

19 дек. 2020 г.

Lots of information, very little practical application practice. There was a ton to learn, I would have liked to reinforce it with some hands on implementation through Remote connections of gameplay situations ect... Will definitely need to revisit these lessons to help cement the details of the concepts. Also unsure how much of the information detail I'll need to know offhand for the compITA A+ cert, with this amount of information to absorb it would have been nice to know which information was critical and which information was elective to obtaining the certification.

автор: Angela P

27 мар. 2022 г.

There is a lot of information covered in this course, with most of it being covered well. However, this course does not always explain terms (I had to do a lot of extra research of terms to make sure I understood), and the quiz questions in many cases seemed vague, misleading, or the video content did not adequately prepare for the quiz (i.e. Subnetting Quiz). I also think that having a mid-course quiz explaining exactly how the TCP/IP model works between two computers is a bit unrealistic. Nevertheless, the information was helpful and was mostly organized.

автор: Alyssa M

24 апр. 2019 г.

I think that some of the quizzes were more about memorization of numbers and definitions, which didn't help me truly learn the material. I had to memorize lots of information for the quizzes, which had many bugs so that I was forced to get 100% on everything besides the interactive modules, since they were broken or confusing so often.

I have surprisingly remembered alot of the information from this course, but I have to say most of the details will be forgotten because of how the information was presented in a "here's a word, here's the definition" format.

автор: Troy Z

1 мар. 2021 г.

Overall, video and production quality was great. However, a lot of details to memorize and a huge lack of supporting mnemonics. I get that there's a lot that's offered other than the video learning material, but when I pay for education I'd like help with the actual learning part; not just knowledge dumps in video form. Overall, I still think the cost/benefit ratio is huge, but this is exhausting. I'm going to have to go back and look at professor messor and other supplemental material. I'd say, and above average above the line view of the material.

автор: Aimal A

19 июня 2020 г.

First course had some practical materials, but in this course I didn't observe any practical material and it all focused on history of internet. I think practical is very important than history of internet. For instance, when I interview by the company, I am sure they never ask about the history of internet and they will exactly ask questions about how to build network, in troubleshooting if the internet doesn't work what is your first strategy for identifying the problem internet. I don't see anything useful in this course.

Thank you

автор: Romi S

23 февр. 2021 г.

I found this course far more difficult than the previous one. It took me a long time because I could not follow a lot of what the instructor was explaining. I ended up having to look online for videos explaining how the concepts in this course worked elsewhere just so I could understand what the instructor was trying to say. While I did learn networking, it was a painful process. I truly think you guys should rework these videos and make them more accessible. If you're trying to weed people out, then this is a great way of doing it.

автор: Joseph S

9 июля 2020 г.

While I learned a lot for this some things didn't come easy and that being said something on the test and in the course itself were not clear or gone over. Lot of terms or questions I saw on the test that I got wrong I had to go to external source to understand of even just to get clarified. While I be lieing to say that because of these I didn't learn things because I did learn a lot. Lot of thing that I will need to get a IT career, but I do feel some revisions of this course would benefit future students in the long run.

автор: Rachel P

13 февр. 2020 г.

Too theoretical/conceptual. Very few how-to examples for stuff you would need to actually do in the real world. Why not just give a step by step on how to set up a home router? Also, the explanations jump around way too much - very chaotic! When protocols are broken down into fields, the instructor keeps saying "finally" over and over even though it's nowhere near the end of the list. Jeez. Poorly scripted. Give simple animations on 5 layer model instead of a static cartoon that doesn't help at all. 3 stars is generous.

автор: D.S V

24 окт. 2020 г.

In my opinion the video lectures should take more time to explain the concepts that will be tested. I sometimes had to go outside coursera to youtube for example to find other explanations of core material in order to pass certain areas. Also, several of the plugin quizzes were either broken or badly bugged and I had to use a different browser in order to complete them. I think some technical oversight of the actual tools we use would be good. Other than that it was useful information and I'm glad to have completed it.

автор: Eboni A

10 нояб. 2020 г.

This course went deep and had a lot of information in the form of numbers and acronyms. More visual aids would have been helpful instead of just watching someone on screen spew a ton of information. Overall, this certificate/series of courses could use more teaching aids such as downloadable worksheets or something to help memorize protocols, rules, how many bits something has, etc. It's nice to be challenged but I will have to buy some courses from Udemy for further support in learning and mastering this content.

автор: Anthony T

12 окт. 2020 г.

I appreciated that each week had broken up different aspects of networking and went deep on the terms, and history of the technologies. It was a really tough module in comparison to the last, and it would have been helpful to have more "lab work" environments or homework assignments to get a feel for how these commands and protocols work or differ from one another. Glad to be finished with this one, though I think I'll need to revisit it soon to refresh myself on all of the concepts.

автор: 2 B 4 C

11 янв. 2021 г.

Good Material to Learn, but nothing that really made it stick, even compared to the first course, which had just a little bit of hands-on experience with vms, I felt, and still feel almost completely clueless about networking as a whole, I do understand what many of the terms mean, and what they do, and how they affect each other, but putting it all together to make the bigger picture just blurs it all together, making for a much less interesting course than the first one

автор: Andreas H

15 апр. 2020 г.

I've read a few reviews. Part of the course was easy to understand for me. I'd like to stress that the educational presentation of the course content does not live up to the video quality (audio, video resolution, lighting, topic structure, narration speed...). Compared to the first course in IT Support Fundamentals, I found this course more frustrating and discouraging. It felt like you're learning with a math teacher who doesn't stop to explain things on your level.

автор: Jennifer S

27 июля 2020 г.

Your instructions for subnetting are woefully inadequate. Nowhere do you discuss details of the step-by-step process used, and this is vitally important in order to better understand and utilize subnets. For a layman, the brief explanation and charts used here did nothing more than confuse me even more to the point of tears. I had to find other videos online that broke it down for me with much greater detail in order to fully understand and implement the process.

автор: Iona G

3 июня 2018 г.

I didn't feel like the videos prepared me for the assignments at the end. I know that you should supplement your learning with researching yourself, but I didn't even know what to look up to get the answers I needed. This was particularly the case for subnetting. I do feel like I have a much better knowledge of networking now than I did before starting, but I feel like there were a lot of things that I didn't really grasp as well as I would like to.