Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking от партнера Google

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 36,522
Рецензии: 8,291

О курсе

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Лучшие рецензии

TS

5 авг. 2019 г.

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

BC

23 июня 2018 г.

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

Фильтр по:

7801–7825 из 8,377 отзывов о курсе The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

автор: Leonard W

17 мая 2018 г.

Things that can help this class improve:

1.More visual aid

2. less quizzes and more activities (The quizzes end up being these tedious open book tests that just teach you how to research and fill in the blanks versus actually understanding networking concepts, I'm still pretty lost on the concepts of routing tables and sub-netting)

3. Break up the videos with questions like what was done in course 1 (This is much more effective than quizzes because it keeps attention on the material. It was really hard to keep focus during this module and I believe My knowledge retention suffered because of it)

My main criticism of this module is that it goes through very tricky concepts way too fast. I had a hard time keeping up with the individual parts of the five layer network model. It was very tricky visualizing these concepts in action, especially with week 2, I had to do a lot of independent research just to keep on track.

I hope this feedback is helpful

автор: Ankit B

15 авг. 2020 г.

This course consisted of too many technical terms. Victor was very good at explaining everything. However, his lectures were probably easily understood by students with some IT or Computer background. However, most videos kept mentioning that we didn't need IT or Computer background to complete this course. In order to do this, I feel that Victor could have better explained technical explanations followed by some real life human examples as well as adding some sort of exercise for students to ensure that they understood the concept for each week as well as an exercise that would test the comprehensive knowledge of all of the concepts working together in this 6 week training. I feel that I am some what lost if I have to explain some of the items in this course. I definitely don't think I would be able to explain the technical aspects (examples) provided in this training if I was asked questions during an interview.

автор: James F C

27 авг. 2020 г.

I had to take a Network+ course as part of my IT Management A.S. degree. Because networking is so complex and there are so many associated terms to learn, all of the course quizzes and even the final exam were given open book... otherwise there'd by a high fail rate.

This course was more abbreviated than that but I still learned important things that I had already forgotten or never quite grasped from the college course. But, the in-depth technical details of networking are still somewhat fuzzy to me because of how complex it all really is. Network engineers are no dummies, that's for sure.

For subjects this extremely technical and complex, I feel strongly that detailed graphics are an absolutely crucial teaching tool. So I wish that this course would've presented many more graphics to help explain the course content and help students better visualize what was being discussed by the instructor(s).

автор: Signija A

3 авг. 2021 г.

No doubt that provided information and given knowledge is great.

I'm unsatisfied and disappointed with support when it's needed. There is Quiz where everybody stucks. There is no explanation, no help when asked and basically if you don't have friends from IT field you are out. I read all possible info all around, but still didn't get through. And I don't think this is the point of distance learning - to leave you alone when you ask Qs, without explanation how to understand better the Quiz. On the forum you can see, students ask questions - but there is no answer from professionals. You get the answers from the same students as you - but it doesn't help to understand. So, I wanted to finish this course, but after many tries to reach the help - I 'm leaving this course.

автор: Brooke F

2 мая 2018 г.

I'm finding that the videos are doing a really good job of building things up from the bottom. I keep getting quite frustrated though because the beginning of each week seems to be just a bunch of definition/explanation of concepts that I cannot tie together being so new to some of this stuff. Week three was especially hard to get through because it seemed all disconnected until the very end. I know the first video always goes "After this course you'll be able to...", but it would be nice to actually see the end point and then build up to it so I could start to put things together better as things progress. This would have especially been helpful in week 3. If I had seen that last video first, then again at the end everything would have made much more since sooner.

автор: Mikey B

28 июня 2020 г.

I definitely gained the knowledge to at least be able to talk about networking and how networking works. The course videos are very information dense and it will take a few times to go through them while taking notes. My main problem is that almost all, except for a small bit at the end, was networking theory and no practical real world skills. It would have been extremely helpful to actually include networking scenarios or help desk support common networking issues. They only had one at the end. Theory is great, but it needed more practical application. For example, they could have included how to set up a DHCP server, or actually creating a network from scratch for a small business, or a daily routine of maintaining a network for a big/small business.

автор: taylor p

7 июля 2018 г.

This content is presented poorly. In some parts it is unnecessarily complicated, and in others you assume or leave out critical information for understanding what is going on. I will try from now on to take a more detail log of when this occurs so I can present a helpful review. However, for almost every module I have had to look to an outside source to complete it and once I learn it, then I have to suffer through the video which is weirdly organized and full of terrible puns. I understand that it is important to be a self learner in IT, and I assure you, I have taught myself many things proficiently, but It is hard to feel like this certificate will even be taken seriously when the medium is so difficult to learn from. Who knows, maybe it is just me.

автор: Matthew W

27 янв. 2022 г.

Overall, the material contained in this course will be useful and is foundational to an entire IT career. However, I was disappointed in how this course focused entirely on lectures when I imagined this being an alternative to traditional academia. There should be more forms of assessment besides multiple choice quizzes to practice skills. Why not have pauses in videos where you have to answer questions or drag and drop? A platform like Pear Deck could have been a major inspiration for this course; have students be actively involved in the courses instead of listening to narration. The videos also could have used significantly more contextualization and connection between ideas.

автор: Mike S

16 апр. 2020 г.

This is a lot of "book learning". As an IT help desk manager and IT support specialist for over a decade, I don't feel that these lessons are very applicable to what a technician will encounter "in the field". While these concepts are helpful to establish a foundation, I feel that these lessons would be a lot more helpful if they included more "real world" examples. For example: how to hook up a computer, identify ports, proper running of wiring and ergonomics, installing cards and memory, setting up multiple displays, configuring switches and routers, how to do punchdowns, understanding the troubleshooting process, etc. Basically more hands on and less theory.

автор: Michael J

26 мар. 2022 г.

I really hate to give this 3 stars at it is full of information but the problem is there are a ton of new things and words to use and though I can rewind the videos i have found myself getting a better understanding from other youtube videos for the same content. It would be nice to have more interactive exersices as it did help with understanding the IPV6 compression to try out 10 and by the end i felt I had a good grasp. but I dont feel the same with the networking but I do understand there is a ton to learn. Still a great course I just think it could have had more animations instead of seeing the instructor for most of it, and more interactive content.

автор: Emily J

5 мар. 2022 г.

Here is my reasoning for my rating: I wish it had more solid definitions for things before it went into a more detailed explanation of complicated topics, otherwise you are just overloaded with information you don't understand. I'm the type of person that needs the base definition before I add more to it. It took me awhile to make my own and afterwards things started making a lot more sense. I still need to go back and make some for concepts at the beginning of the course so I have a better understanding of the five layer model. To google's credit though, I finished this course in two weeks so I was speeding through rather than taking my time.

автор: Braden B

12 авг. 2021 г.

There are a lot of factual and reference errors in these videos, and the questions are often confusingly written or sometimes just plain wrong. The ipv6 validator in the penultimate quiz is a good example, as it marks something like '9930:cafa::52:4cc:7b7a:37:27e6' wrong while '9930:cafa:0:52:4cc:7b7a:37:27e6' is correct. While it's true that the latter one is *A* correct ipv6 address, it's not *THE* correct ipv6 address. The former is correct, too, but whoever wrote the quiz opted for a big dumb "a === b" comparison rather than write a proper validator. Something I managed to do in JavaScript in about 15 minutes. Which is just plain lazy.

автор: Jessica B

11 окт. 2020 г.

This course introduced a lot of important information pertaining to networking; however, I found myself seeking assistance outside of the course for each week's learning material. It felt like much of the information was explained in a very confusing manner. I might recommend that Google re-evaluate how they choose to present the information learned throughout this course so as to keep learners engaged. Much of the time, I felt like giving up due to the denseness of the material at hand and the difficulty I had in understanding the provided examples, whether they were presented by the instructor or through supplemental links or diagrams.

автор: Aisha Q

10 сент. 2020 г.

The instructor doesn't always arrange the material in a logical flow. I find myself using the transcript to skip over certain segues to understand the point he's trying to make. He also interrupts the flow to mention that he'll discuss a particular topic later, which seems unnecessary to mention at all. Also, at times he glosses over topics that later come in the assessments. I found myself googling a lot of information especially from week 4 which was frustrating because the answers I got were difficult for a beginner to understand. The topics in the other weeks are explained well, but week 4 was a nightmare to understand.

автор: Kwaku A

11 нояб. 2020 г.

Disclaimer: I only did around 1 1/2 weeks worth of content, I unenrolled in week 2. Hence the 3 rating rather than a 1 or a 2.

I have struggled with networking in the past, I thought this course would actually help me and better understand networking but I still couldn't get the hang of it. I just felt like there was so much information being thrown at you and you just have to remember it, there was a lot of terminology that I felt wasn't revisted (That may be because I didn't finish it). I think it would be better if the course was split into two parts so theres more opportunity to nail down what there is to know.

автор: Daxton M

12 июня 2020 г.

For me personally, this course was pretty challenging compared to the other course I took. I feel like some of the videos in this course were too long, and others too short. I wish some topics they went into further detail but I made do with what I had. I also noticed that some of the videos the audio was way quieter or louder than the previous videos. The narrator for this course didn't seem to enthusiastic like the previous narrator. Just know that this course has a lot of information packed in tight, so just know that if you didn't fully comprehend a video just go back and watch it again.

автор: John S

7 окт. 2020 г.

I would LOVE to see this course updated. Also, it would be great in general to get more feedback and interaction in the learning. The quizzes in between modules could be upgraded to be closer to the challenge of the final graded assignment. Also, a final exam that covered the entire scope would be appreciated. I found it very difficult to memorize all of the information without being tested as most of the education is just watching someone talk at a desk. For learners like me who need reinforcement it is not especially effective. However, I did find the material very interesting!

автор: goodservant

6 февр. 2021 г.

As a person without any IT background, teaching was very confusing to understand, because the instructor used technical terms without explanation of it. It only covers important technical terms, but I often had to research through the internet to find out the meaning of the terms and concepts that were mentioned without explanation.

Some video ends before the instructor finishes.

Scripts sometimes do not match with the video.

I am a little worried because I could not build many foundations through this lesson...

But, I still appreciate Coursera for providing a way to learn.

автор: Jason C

19 дек. 2020 г.

Lots of information, very little practical application practice. There was a ton to learn, I would have liked to reinforce it with some hands on implementation through Remote connections of gameplay situations ect... Will definitely need to revisit these lessons to help cement the details of the concepts. Also unsure how much of the information detail I'll need to know offhand for the compITA A+ cert, with this amount of information to absorb it would have been nice to know which information was critical and which information was elective to obtaining the certification.

автор: Angela P

27 мар. 2022 г.

There is a lot of information covered in this course, with most of it being covered well. However, this course does not always explain terms (I had to do a lot of extra research of terms to make sure I understood), and the quiz questions in many cases seemed vague, misleading, or the video content did not adequately prepare for the quiz (i.e. Subnetting Quiz). I also think that having a mid-course quiz explaining exactly how the TCP/IP model works between two computers is a bit unrealistic. Nevertheless, the information was helpful and was mostly organized.

автор: Alyssa M

24 апр. 2019 г.

I think that some of the quizzes were more about memorization of numbers and definitions, which didn't help me truly learn the material. I had to memorize lots of information for the quizzes, which had many bugs so that I was forced to get 100% on everything besides the interactive modules, since they were broken or confusing so often.

I have surprisingly remembered alot of the information from this course, but I have to say most of the details will be forgotten because of how the information was presented in a "here's a word, here's the definition" format.

автор: Troy Z

1 мар. 2021 г.

Overall, video and production quality was great. However, a lot of details to memorize and a huge lack of supporting mnemonics. I get that there's a lot that's offered other than the video learning material, but when I pay for education I'd like help with the actual learning part; not just knowledge dumps in video form. Overall, I still think the cost/benefit ratio is huge, but this is exhausting. I'm going to have to go back and look at professor messor and other supplemental material. I'd say, and above average above the line view of the material.

автор: Aimal A

19 июня 2020 г.

First course had some practical materials, but in this course I didn't observe any practical material and it all focused on history of internet. I think practical is very important than history of internet. For instance, when I interview by the company, I am sure they never ask about the history of internet and they will exactly ask questions about how to build network, in troubleshooting if the internet doesn't work what is your first strategy for identifying the problem internet. I don't see anything useful in this course.

Thank you

автор: Romi S

23 февр. 2021 г.

I found this course far more difficult than the previous one. It took me a long time because I could not follow a lot of what the instructor was explaining. I ended up having to look online for videos explaining how the concepts in this course worked elsewhere just so I could understand what the instructor was trying to say. While I did learn networking, it was a painful process. I truly think you guys should rework these videos and make them more accessible. If you're trying to weed people out, then this is a great way of doing it.

автор: Joseph S

9 июля 2020 г.

While I learned a lot for this some things didn't come easy and that being said something on the test and in the course itself were not clear or gone over. Lot of terms or questions I saw on the test that I got wrong I had to go to external source to understand of even just to get clarified. While I be lieing to say that because of these I didn't learn things because I did learn a lot. Lot of thing that I will need to get a IT career, but I do feel some revisions of this course would benefit future students in the long run.