Chevron Left
Вернуться к Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Computational Thinking for Problem Solving от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,139
Рецензии: 389

О курсе

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Лучшие рецензии

J

18 дек. 2018 г.

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

3 февр. 2019 г.

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Фильтр по:

376–391 из 391 отзывов о курсе Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

автор: Stephanie M

13 июля 2020 г.

There are giant leaps in logic for the assignments using python. It was not friendly for someone with no python experience.

автор: Prasad K

2 апр. 2019 г.

Not very rigorous course. However, it is OK for an introductory course for non CS students.

автор: Susan B

17 июня 2022 г.

Loads of peer-review, Not my favorite, but I see why it is necesssary.

автор: Vishal K

30 авг. 2020 г.

it was nice But not in deep.

автор: Kristin G

13 авг. 2021 г.

This course is well-intended, but falls short of its goals. Far too much time is spent on the very basic concepts (the 1st 3 weeks), leaving almost no time for learning the Python programming in the 4th week at the level they expect. If you get stuck, there is no support. No one answered the question I posted online, and when I emailed a question, I got a response that my question would be answered in days. Considering each section is only 1 week long, waiting days for an answer prevents me from submitting my project on time.

The projects all go one step beyond what you were taught, with no opportunities to practice incremental steps to develop the thought processes that would enable one to move independently to writing programming beyond the course materials. Also, basic program formats are not taught (when to use parantheses vs brackets, for example), so executing code results in error messages before one can get to the point of testing functions.

Finally, the Coursera structure is irritating. Messages pop up in the middle of the videos telling me I'm meeting my learning goals, which then knock me out of the video, so I have to go back and find my place again. There are constant "add-on" purchase pressures and daily adverts trying to convince me to pursue a Masters when I hate the course I'm taking currently.

If you just need to get a certificate, go ahead and take this course. But if you actually want to see if programming is for you, take a real class. Or purchase a book for half the price of this course and teach yourself, as this course doesn't provide any benefits beyond what you can find in a book

Finally, the Coursera structure is irritating.

автор: Baoshun Y

5 окт. 2020 г.

This course is disappointing. It does not provide useful information in the first 3 weeks, and rush to python introduction in the lask week without enough excise and clarification.

автор: Ryan L

1 авг. 2019 г.

Terrible. Too many bugs in the autograder. Need more specific guidelines for submission in section 4.8

автор: Martin

31 мая 2019 г.

Boring, not application based.

How this help me on the job?

автор: Ami O

1 окт. 2020 г.

very messy although basic. It seems the course was rearranged in the middle so the quizzes don't always add up. Otherwise, either they assume you already know it all or they try to make you think it is complicated. Some very "sophisticated" trick questions suggest the later.

The instructors just quote the material in a very friendly voice. They lach intonation or emphasize. It was really easy to loose attention.

Further more, the examples they gave were not always easy to follow. For me, it was easier to follow the computer programs than to understand the human description.

... and they rely on peer review excessively. Every student should prepare himself being a part time Teaching assistant. Since you need to review one assignment but your assignment needs to be graded by 2, it don't add up and you end up begging in the forum to be reviewed if you want to get the certification

автор: Russ E

23 мар. 2021 г.

This course requires some significant experience using Python programming, which is required when you reach the last section of the course. You will need several days or a week to learn Python and that may be beyond what you had planned in terms of time commitment. Also, the instructional videos are very very rudimentary, but the quizzes require more detail info that you will need to get from other internet sources, like re-learning math logarithms. >>>>Please credit my account, the course is poorly designed.

автор: Sergio I

10 апр. 2020 г.

Very difficult, especially the last module. I'm sorry but I don't agree with the expectations provided by the presentation of the course. It is difficult to get support and you feel easily lost. I don't recommend taking this course unless people are very proficient in computer science and / or Python.

Thank you.

автор: Delroy C

9 авг. 2021 г.

I always wanted to withdraw from the class, the final section of the assignment was not my favorite. I need to withdraw right now. I haven't found a way to withdraw altogether please let me talk to somebody immediately.

автор: Deleted A

23 сент. 2020 г.

Can't unenroll from course. And beware: indoctrination starts with the very first video.

автор: Nassiba R

9 нояб. 2021 г.

Peer dependency who still is a student doesn't make sense. Will not reecomend.

автор: 김승운

10 мар. 2021 г.

4주차 과제가 너무 어려웠어요