Chevron Left
Вернуться к Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Computational Thinking for Problem Solving от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
Оценки: 377
Рецензии: 127

О курсе

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Лучшие рецензии

J

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 04, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 126 отзывов о курсе Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

автор: Patrick T R

Sep 18, 2019

Great course for beginning a journey into computer science!

автор: Akash K B

Sep 23, 2019

The teachings that i experience here is way too different from Indian online education system .

Coursera is more developed and skill enhancer to the one who is beginner and want to learn with minimum pressure in a different way.

Thanks to Coursera (Computational Thinking for problem solving).

автор: Rushy R

Sep 24, 2019

A very good beginners course to learn how to take a computational approach to solving problems. For those who come from a non CS backgrounds and want to learn programming, this class is a great starting place, highly recommend!

автор: Miguel

Sep 28, 2019

Very thorough starter course. I especially loved the composing algorithms , translating to pseudocode and coding into python exercises in the final week. While occasionally tricky, thinking through an exercise and finally solving it is satisfying. Thank you Upenn!

автор: Echo R

Sep 30, 2019

very useful! It will train you how to think like a computer, and hence to understand it how it works

автор: GO T

Oct 02, 2019

It was amazing program to learn the computational thinking and the basic of python programming. Some tests were difficult for me, but it was good training to learn the programming.

автор: Garret B

Oct 01, 2019

Very well thought out. This course covers simple concepts while still being engaging and challenging. Examples from varying disciplines help illustrate concepts in a real-life context.

автор: Jeanne C

Oct 04, 2019

Well organized, engaging, informative.

автор: Lluc R S

Jan 18, 2019

Useful course taught at an adequate rate. I recommend it for people who are interested in learning the basics of computational thinking, i.e. a systematic approach to problem-solving.

автор: Renée F

Mar 08, 2019

could benefit from more active assistance with assignments, especially section 4

автор: Joseph R

Jun 28, 2019

The course is great. I learned a lot. The support for the course is SUPER slow. It's hard to get any direct help for any questions or issues that you are having. Beware of assignment 4.7!

автор: Nguyễn N P A

Jul 30, 2019

Overall the course is interesting and informative to beginner. And this way of thinking is truly practical and helpful in the real life. But the last part of the course including the coding part is not truly adequate for the beginner, making the beginner has to go extra miles to be able to do it but I wondered its necessity.

автор: Danielle J

Jun 10, 2019

Really great course. I found the wording of a couple homework problems to be confusing, but overall really enjoyed the course

автор: Matthew M

Aug 09, 2019

the auto-grader for programming assignments can be a bit unforgiving at times, but the course is challenging and thorough for a month-long course. Would recommend. To improve experience with the auto grader some more hints in the assignment page could help, for example offering some explanation of the return function before, rather than after, a quiz that required its use.

автор: santiago p

Aug 17, 2019

Great course and content. The responsiveness to questions and issues in the forum was not the best and could be improved. Overall the course was well structured, engaging, and insightful. Feel great to start coding in Python.

автор: Elise N

Aug 19, 2019

The autograder can be somewhat of a pain and some of the solutions in the peer-review sections aren't the most efficient. Otherwise it helped teach the building blocks of coding.

автор: Weilian X

Aug 24, 2019

Very nice course of people who have no experience with computer and programming.

The only thing I can complain is the peer-graded assignment.

автор: Shalin M

Sep 23, 2019

The course is very well designed and taught, however the peer review system is a real pain.

автор: Jill N

Oct 09, 2019

The first 3 weeks of the course were great. It really helped change my way of thinking to solve large complex problems. I can use this in my role as a Business Analyst.

The lecturers presented the materials in a clear manner, with real life examples to help the understanding.

Then, came the python coding. The first few modules of the Python section were fine. Then came section 4.7 It was a lot more difficult than the others, and I found that the helpdesk was slow to respond. It took longer than it should have to complete that section, but I pressed on.

Then, there was the final test. Section 4.8. There were some concepts in this exam that were not included in the lecture material. The online help was non-existent. It took DAYS to get a response from the TA in the discussion group. Even then, the response was not particularly helpful. We were then told to send a problem flag to review the code (since we were not allowed to share the code in the discussion group.) I submitted a problem ticket a week ago, and still have not received a response. Keep in mind that I'm not a developer.

I found help in other places, and was finally able to complete the assignment. It's a shame that the problems with the last section of the course seemed to take away from what was otherwise an excellent course.

автор: Mudasar A

Oct 08, 2019

Excellent!

автор: PRASAD K

Apr 02, 2019

Not very rigorous course. However, it is OK for an introductory course for non CS students.

автор: Matthew B

Jul 31, 2019

Impossible to get any feedback. Very hard to follow what the requirements are at the end.

автор: Terri T

Sep 04, 2019

Everyone will not be able to complete this since it does not offer additional resources that are relevant to the assignments. I tried and will not finish as it has become to time-consuming. I am learning however, there are not examples or help for you if you do not understand the instructions.

автор: Ryan L

Aug 01, 2019

Terrible. Too many bugs in the autograder. Need more specific guidelines for submission in section 4.8

автор: Martin

May 31, 2019

Boring, not application based.

How this help me on the job?