Chevron Left
Вернуться к Вычислительная нейробиология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Вычислительная нейробиология от партнера Вашингтонский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 671
Рецензии: 157

О курсе

This course provides an introduction to basic computational methods for understanding what nervous systems do and for determining how they function. We will explore the computational principles governing various aspects of vision, sensory-motor control, learning, and memory. Specific topics that will be covered include representation of information by spiking neurons, processing of information in neural networks, and algorithms for adaptation and learning. We will make use of Matlab/Octave/Python demonstrations and exercises to gain a deeper understanding of concepts and methods introduced in the course. The course is primarily aimed at third- or fourth-year undergraduates and beginning graduate students, as well as professionals and distance learners interested in learning how the brain processes information....

Лучшие рецензии

JR

Apr 08, 2018

Extremely enlightening course on how Neuron's work and the science of computational neuroscience. Even if you don't want to get into the complex mathematics you can get a lot out of the course

JB

May 25, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and think that there was a good variety of material that allowed people of many different backgrounds to take at least one thing away from this.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 155 отзывов о курсе Вычислительная нейробиология

автор: Shwetank P

Apr 27, 2019

This course will be one of the most satisfying pursuits for any individual interested in exploring the intersection of neurobiology, AI and Statistics. The course is really well-rounded covering all major portions in the computational neuroscience. The supplementary material provided for exploration is really intriguing and a must go for people interested in understanding the gory details behind the equations. Hands down! this one is the best MOOC experience so far for me.

автор: Sergey A R

Nov 04, 2016

Te course captures from the very beginning!

The lectures and work with REAL data (despite it's obvious simplicity) will hold you till the end.

The confirmation of the theory, calculated with my own hands, with the practical results from the laboratories.

It's just a first step, the next one is in supplemental materials, and then proceed farther and farther.

Well, and a fly in the ointment :) a lack of programming through the course, we can do more! :)

автор: Iván E

Dec 22, 2019

This course is an introduction to the vast field of computational neuroscience. Every week the subject is different. I found the supplementary videos very helpful on their own, explaining concepts like entropy, probability distributions, gradient descent, and more.

I have completed several Coursera courses, and this has the best kind of weekly tests (homework). I enjoyed the coding and felt that It made the concepts clearer.

автор: André M

Nov 20, 2016

Excellent course, looking forwards to going back over the lectures and consolidating what I've learnt. Big word of thanks to Rajesh and Adrienne, but also to TA Rich Pang, who does an excellent job getting you up to speed on the maths. Very excited about what I've learnt in the course and the way it's made me look at neuroscience in a new and richer way.

автор: Daniel B

Dec 02, 2016

Phenomenal course. My background is in mechanical engineering, but all the biological concepts were explained clearly and concisely. I wish a bit more modeling in Matlab was done, but overall I'm very pleased with the course. A solid background in linear algebra, statistics, and some basic calculus is recommended to get the most out of the course.

автор: Diego B

Apr 07, 2017

I must admit that, before starting this course, I was skeptic about an online course on Computational Neuroscience. My initial feelings totally reversed during the first weeks of the course. I really appreciated the effort of Rajesh and Adrienne to explain the complex mechanisms of neurons and brain functions in a clear and enjoyable way.

автор: Amir Y

Aug 02, 2017

I greatly enjoyed this course. It has a nice structure, and the progress is quite reasonable assuming you have decent background in linear algebra and calculus derivations. They still offer great supplementary resources for those lacking necessary background knowledge. Overall, I'd recommend it.

автор: AmirHossein E

Mar 26, 2017

This course is an absolute must for those interested in computational neuroscience. The professors are very knowledgeable and the course is very rigorous. The techniques introduced in this course are useful and the supplementary material is enough to last for you months of reading on this topic.

автор: Matthew W

Jun 23, 2019

As a beginning PhD student in computational neuroscience, I found this course to be incredibly useful as a refresher. And as an introduction to the subject, it is incredibly engaging, interesting and, of course, one fun adventure! Many thanks to both Rajesh and Adrienne for this course!

автор: Lucas S S

Jul 28, 2017

Well-paced, great lectures and good supporting material to follow up with the studies. Totally recommend to people that are interested in modeling the brain (be it neurons or synapses or behavior) with theoretical and computational tools (even if you do not master the math/programming)

автор: Ravinder S

Jul 26, 2017

Loved this course and will give me direction in grad school however a lot of the information still ending up being over my head, even after watching supplementary videos. This may be a fault of my own instead of a fault of the class. Really enjoyed the first/last teacher.

автор: Kruppa A S

May 28, 2020

Thank you and your team for adventurous journey through such interesting cross-science subject! Especial respect to Richard Pang, who is making complicated things simple!

Namaste and good luck in your further investigation!

With big warm feelings, hasta la vista! :)

автор: Tucker K

Mar 11, 2018

Very interesting and well taught course. I came in with a background in CS and some ML and very little experience with neuroscience and felt like I learned a good bit about neuro and developed a more solid understanding of the principles underlying ML techniques.

автор: Mingchen Y

Mar 03, 2019

This course is very helpful! I especially enjoy doing the exercise which is well designed and facilitates my understanding of CN. Besides, I find the textbook Theoretical Neuroscience by Dayan and Abbott more understandable after I finished this coursera course.

автор: Kanchana R

Jan 29, 2017

Very informative. I started the course as I am an undergraduate who is involved in a research and development project on Spike Timing Dependent Plasticity. This course opened me into the literature on STDP and helped me understand the relevant material.

автор: Alex U

Aug 02, 2017

With a extremely rich content, this course is a challenge for students, even for those with maths, ML or neuroscience background. The course requires students to master knowledge of these three fields, but it will prove that it DESERVES the efforts.

автор: Peter G

Nov 17, 2016

Great course, but it requires quite a bit of mathematics/physics to get through. Enough material in there for three or four courses. The quizzes are not hard though - in fact I'd preferred it if the programming exercises had been more challenging.

автор: Al-Rashid J

Apr 07, 2019

This course was enjoyable, to say the least. It helped explained the thinking behind the conceptualization of existing algorithms that I've been introduced to in other courses for AI, but it further explained how they were mathematically derived.

автор: Tom R

Apr 23, 2017

Really great course to supplement reading of Dayan and Abbott's Theoretical Neuroscience text. Programming assignments were really helpful in getting practical understanding of concepts. Only wish there were more graded programming assignments!

автор: Marcos A

Dec 18, 2016

Excellent Course, with very clear and detailed explanations, and a lot of additional materials indicated through links and papers. I particularly enjoyed the Guest Lectures as well, showing the applicability of what was learned in real life.

автор: Yuyan Z

Oct 30, 2019

A very good introduction to computational neuroscience! The course demands a relatively high level of mathematics (such as linear algebra, optimization problems, etc.), but all of them are quite clearly explained in the lectures.

автор: Estelle B

Feb 07, 2020

Very interesting topic. I particularly liked the tests with programming exercices. It helped to apply the concepts I learned quite well. The tests overall are good quality and do not only expect student to copy/paste knowledge.

автор: sbansal6

Dec 07, 2018

Very clear explanations by professors. I really liked the design of the class and the lectures are very easy to understand if you are just starting in Neuroscience (they don't throw around complicated jargon)

автор: Nikolaos P

Jul 29, 2019

Perfect course. The only feedback I would give is, if possible, to include slides in the weekly material for review instead of just text. Thank you for this amazing tour through Computational Neuroscience!

автор: Jaime R

Apr 08, 2018

Extremely enlightening course on how Neuron's work and the science of computational neuroscience. Even if you don't want to get into the complex mathematics you can get a lot out of the course