Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Complex Analysis

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Complex Analysis от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.8
Оценки: 637
Рецензии: 195

О курсе

This course provides an introduction to complex analysis which is the theory of complex functions of a complex variable. We will start by introducing the complex plane, along with the algebra and geometry of complex numbers, and then we will make our way via differentiation, integration, complex dynamics, power series representation and Laurent series into territories at the edge of what is known today. Each module consists of five video lectures with embedded quizzes, followed by an electronically graded homework assignment. Additionally, modules 1, 3, and 5 also contain a peer assessment. The homework assignments will require time to think through and practice the concepts discussed in the lectures. In fact, a significant amount of your learning will happen while completing the homework assignments. These assignments are not meant to be completed quickly; rather you'll need paper and pen with you to work through the questions. In total, we expect that the course will take 6-12 hours of work per module, depending on your background....

Лучшие рецензии

RK

Apr 06, 2018

The lectures were very easy to follow and the exercises fitted these lectures well. This course was not always very rigorous, but a great introduction to complex analysis nevertheless. Thank you!

GC

Mar 21, 2017

With this wonderful complex analysis course under your belt you will be ready for the joys of Digital Signal Processing, solving Partial Differential Equations and Quantum Mechanics.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 189 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Complex Analysis

автор: Natasha S

Jun 25, 2018

The prof makes it easy to understand yet fascinating. I enjoyed video checkpoints, quizzes and peer reviewed assignments. This course encourages you to think and discover new things.

автор: Rajesh J

Apr 09, 2017

Helpful introduction to complex analysis. Sketches the intuition behind fundamental theorems without becoming too difficult for amateur mathematicians to follow.

автор: Bojan B

May 07, 2017

Really good course, covers the topics I expected and wanted and at a depth that was good for gaining understanding without getting too deep. This is exactly what I wanted for the amount of time I had each week.

автор: Meir S

Jan 17, 2017

Excellent entry into the world of complex analysis. Dr. Petra Bonfert-Taylor carefully constructs the foundations for complex functions while constantly providing enriching examples. Complications in advanced proofs are sometimes obviated (she will mention what she chooses to skip). If you only need to learn to use complex analysis Dr. Petra Bonfert-Taylor provides more than enough guidance. Since I enjoy understanding mathematics from the axioms up, I found myself turning to outside resources to fill in the nuanced complications. Consider doing the same if you are like me.

автор: Rongge Y

Oct 02, 2017

Great course! Very nicely explained to someone new to the topic!

автор: Etienne R

Jan 17, 2017

I never took a course in complex analysis before and very much enjoyed this introductory course. I found that the material was presented in a very understandable way, with good and often illuminating examples.

автор: Caruso N

Aug 08, 2016

Great Course!!!

автор: Myron K

Oct 26, 2016

Materials and instructor excellent. Got very good grounding.

автор: Seyyed M A D

Apr 04, 2018

Very good teacher. Very good materials.

автор: Gary U

Oct 02, 2017

Excellent course for an introduction to complex analysis. Beginning from basic concepts, the instructor develops the basis of complex analysis. The first two weeks having to do with Julia sets and Mandelbrot sets are colorful lessons, the real analysis starts on week 3. The instructor is excellent, providing step by step instructions in the presentation and also some proofs of the theorems. Week 4 lessons 4 and 5 deal with the Riemann Zeta function and the Prime Number Theorem, very interesting and addition to the course. There is much more that could be added, perhaps a further course can be developed for the MOOC.

автор: Morris S

Oct 15, 2017

Very interesting, and challenging!

автор: Arpon P

Feb 25, 2017

This course is fairly appropriate for those who have completed high school eduaction and opt to pursue higher studies in the field of science and engineering. This is an introductory course on complex analysis and does not cover advanced topics like zeta function, Manderbolt set etc in great detail. If you are doing major on Mathematics and looking for a graduate level course, this is not for you.This course offers an introduction to complex numbers, then discusses briefly on function iteration. In this course, you will learn on complex functions, complex derivative and integration, Cauchy-Riemann equation, Residues. The topics required to pursue undergraduate science education are covered nicely in this course.It is essential to do the quizzes and assignments to get hold of this topic. I thought the exercises in the course are not enough. I would recommend to do more exercises from any standard textbook on Complex Analysis. This course does not specifically follow any textbook. You will get some suggestions for textbook in the discussion forum.To get a deeper understanding, it is a great idea to follow the discussion forum. If you have any difficulty in understanding any topic, you can share in the discussion forum. Also following other people's questions helps you to develop an insight on this topic. Discussion forum is an integral part of this course. Use it wisely.To conclude, any high school graduate can take the course without any difficulty.

автор: Cristóvão Z R

Aug 08, 2016

Very good course. The professor introduces evey element in a careful and insightful approach

автор: Henrique S L

Jan 30, 2017

Excellente.This course is a great way to learn complex analysis.

автор: Roberto A G L

Jul 03, 2017

Quite complete!

автор: Jean V

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent

автор: 簡睦樺

May 01, 2017

Clear and understandable lectures and homework.

автор: Kevin R

Oct 09, 2017

This course is a wonderful Introduction to the topic of Complex Analysis. Many thanks to Prof Bonfert-Taylor for taking the time to put together a well-organized and concise course. The quizes and homework assignments generally took me longer than the stated time, but I was OK spending the extra time re-reviewing lectures to ensure I knew the material appropriately.

автор: Changyu G

May 17, 2017

A good and clear introductory course for Complex Analysis! Cover the basic theory of Complex Analysis with rich examples.

And it's awesome to see the fractal geometry part (Julia set, Mandelbrot set, etc.)

автор: Ran L

Jul 02, 2017

Fabulous course!

автор: Cristino C

Aug 16, 2016

Excellent.

автор: Brahadeesh S

Sep 05, 2017

The course content as well as the presentation of the material by the instructor are both wonderful. The quizzes and peer-graded assignments are optimally designed. Although there are few proofs of theorems, the applications and examples are in sufficient number that the understanding of the theorems is obtained.

автор: Marc Z

Oct 23, 2017

Very didactic!

автор: pedro h

Aug 04, 2016

Super completo, recomendado, util.

Gracias por este curso.

автор: Pieter v d D

Dec 30, 2017

Very nice introduction to complex analysis. Explains a lot about interesting theorems without digging too deep into the proofs.