Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics от партнера Кейптаунский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,830
Рецензии: 855

О курсе

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Лучшие рецензии

AM

15 дек. 2018 г.

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

28 июля 2017 г.

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 857 отзывов о курсе Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

автор: Khurram S

4 нояб. 2018 г.

It was an awesome experience. I had already a bit of statistical experience but wasn't confident enough. Now, i can go out there in to the world of Research with full confidence & perform a valid research. Anyone who wan't to dive in to basics of Research & statistics involved with it, this course is a MUST for them. Thanks Sir Juan!

автор: Andrew B

21 окт. 2020 г.

For a new job I needed to refresh knowledge of medical statistics that had been very long neglected. I couldn't get myself motivated to plough through a textbook and instead gave this course a try - the first MOOC I have done. I was very pleased and the videos kept me engaged. I really appreciated Dr Klopper's enthusiasm, thanks.

автор: Upasna G

14 апр. 2020 г.

This was a good course to give a basic overview of statistics used in clinical research. Now I have a sense of what exactly is happening under the methods section of articles. However, this is still too basic and to fully grasp research articles, one needs to take a more advanced course. But this is a great stepping stone for that!

автор: Craig E

3 янв. 2020 г.

Dr. Klopper does a great job teaching these fundamental aspects of clinical research statistics. I particularly appreciated the shortness of the lectures, section quizzes with immediate feedback, notes provided, and flow of information. The course material was easy to follow and study, and I gained a lot from the course. Thank you!

автор: Kabue K

7 мар. 2019 г.

The course was presented with absolute perfection. It has enabled me to really understand the statistical elements of clinical research. The skills and knowledge attained will enable me to appreciate the statistical elements of publication more comprehensively. Thanks to Dr. Juan Klopper and the University of cape town team.

автор: Emmanuel B B

18 окт. 2017 г.

Great course content. Well elaborated and easy to understand even for non-science oriented students. It is an excellent starter for students wishing to pursue clinical research studies as it presents the important first steps for research. Thanks to you Dr Juan Klopper, the University of Cape Town, and the entire Coursera team.

автор: Stefka B

23 июня 2022 г.

V​ery interesting course, excellently organised, clear objectives, acieved by taking small steps with simple easily digestable pieces of information and regular reviews and tests of knowledbge. I deffinitely learned much and I recommend the course to everybody needing to aqcuire a good basic understanding on clinical research.

автор: Ahmed S A S S

3 июля 2018 г.

Very organised course and clearly explain the basics of Statistics needed by Medical researchers. It doesn't get very deep in explaining the math behind the tests, however it gets you a good start for understanding the results section in any article you read. Any one who need to start medical research should go by this course.

автор: Deepak S

10 мая 2020 г.

Excellent course. Much needed start for my journey into the world of biostatistics. A topic I dreaded is now made easy to understand. Dr.Klopper was a class apart. Thank you Dr.Klopper. Classes are well spaced and not saturating at all. Notes are very clear, saves a lot of time and helps us focus better on the video lectures.

автор: Louie K

3 мая 2021 г.

Really enjoyed the course. I would have liked some more practical examples in the notes to work through the math just a bit more. Having a better idea of how to do the math helps to settle the concepts better. This course was much better than an entire semester spent learning biostatistics in first year of university.

автор: ARNAB D

27 апр. 2020 г.

This is a well designed course. Learned a lot and enjoyed too. Statistics which I learned with complicated mathematical equations at high school and graduate level, comparing statistics learned this way from clinical research and applied dimension was fun. Thank you Dr. Juan H Klopper for making statistics this easy.

автор: Deleted A

10 апр. 2020 г.

Provided a really good overview of what statistics are appropriate to use for specific research questions and data types, plus went over study design a bit. Broken up into short videos which really made it easy to follow the course material in between my other duties. I have recommended this course to others already.

автор: Dr. M U M D o P

7 июня 2020 г.

This course is the one which i enjoyed studying statistics ..the content was truly an eyeopener to beginners for whom the term statistics is like greek and latin. Kudos to the Resource person for the enormous effort in designing self paced clinical scenarios which made this course learner friendly..

Thanks a tonne

автор: A P

4 февр. 2022 г.

e​xcellent course. The instructor presented the material in an interesting and understandable manner. Definitely took away fear of unknown mathematics. A very worthwhile effort for anyone who wants a better understanding of research studies. The assignments are very relevant to the material in lecture. Thanks

автор: Barbara J K

9 авг. 2020 г.

I am so glad I started my Coursera experience with Dr. Klopper. He is such a good teacher, and presents the material so well, that the learning experience was truly a valuable one. Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics was my first virtual class; there will be more. Thank you, Dr. Klopper!

автор: Diana E V G

1 июля 2016 г.

This online course is one of the best I have enrolled so far. I paid for earning a certificate and it is worth the money. Some refreshers for statistics and also enables you to expand your knowledge about clinical trials in general. Highly recommended if you are just starting to learn about clinical research.

автор: Eleanor L

6 июня 2016 г.

An excellent introduction to (or refresher of) statistics that pertain to the clinical setting. The two peer-reviewed assignments were very valuable and interesting. My one complaint is that the videos are short, so some lessons are made up of many 2+ minute videos that need to be downloaded separately.

автор: Meher C

29 июля 2020 г.

It was an amazing course!! The concepts were very understandable so that a beginner (such as myself) can build a strong foundation about clinical research. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone interested in clinical research (whether they be beginners or experts). Thank you Dr. Klopper!!

автор: yann t

27 янв. 2021 г.

Very happy, I learnt so much and finished the whole course in 5 days. I learnt during my first years at university some of those tests/concepts but I had completely forgotten since. So it was very refreshing too.

Juan is very good at explaining things, all the concepts look then so easy to understand.

автор: Diana P

2 сент. 2016 г.

One of the best courses I've ever had (including classes at my University)...

Starting fro the basics, explaining the difference between numerical, categorical data, discrete and continuous variables, Prof. Klopper gave me a better insight in the subject.

I am extremely grateful.

Kind regards,

Diana

автор: Eduards K

19 сент. 2017 г.

Close to perfect introduction in statistics. Uses plenty of examples from open-access publications, and the test questions actually require to apply acquired knowledge instead of just repeating it. Only drawback is, that it's a bit too simple, if your interest in the topic is even slightly deeper.

автор: Egehan S

29 окт. 2019 г.

Fantastic course for both medical students and medical professionals alike (and anyone else interested in this field :). Would definitely recommend anyone trying to improve their statistical knowledge. This is a good starting point for anyone planning on conducting their own statistical analyses.

автор: Michelle M

16 янв. 2022 г.

This is an excellent course. I would recommend it for those hoping to gain an understanding of clinical research or refresh what was learnt during undergraduate training. The blend of lectures, reading, quizzes and assignments ensures that you have a clear understanding of the content presented.

автор: Pierre-Marie B

19 мая 2020 г.

Great course, review all the basics, and bring you from beginner to intermediate +++. I strongly recommend. You may need to investigate some concepts outside of this course from time to time to fully understand but Juan Koppler will give you a guideline to finally understand the biostatistics.

автор: Violeta C

22 мая 2018 г.

It is by far the best course among the various ones that I have followed in Coursera. The explanations are clear and the examples really helpful. The tests and exercices following each lesson are also extremely useful and allow you to realise whether you have understood the lesson or not.