Chevron Left
Вернуться к Climate Adaptation in Africa

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Climate Adaptation in Africa от партнера Кейптаунский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 53
Рецензии: 22

О курсе

This course explores why climate change adaptation is important in the African context. Africa is considered one to be one of the most vulnerable regions to climate change. Historically, climate-related hazards such as drought, flooding, pest and disease outbreaks, coastal storms and heat waves have had devastating impacts on people and the environment in which they live. Often the damage knocks back progress that has been made in social and economic development, slowing down the achievement of development goals. Climate models suggest that many of these climatic hazards will intensify as the global climate warms. Building resilience to climate risks, through adaptation, is critically important for future development in Africa. The course will examine adaptation in theory and in practice, through a focus on four sectors that are critically important for climate resilient development in Africa: Water Security, Agriculture and Food Security, Ecosystems and Ecosystem Services and Resilient Cities....

Лучшие рецензии

TM

Jul 07, 2020

i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

SN

Oct 31, 2018

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

Фильтр по:

1–22 из 22 отзывов о курсе Climate Adaptation in Africa

автор: Etienne K K

May 04, 2020

Very good course. Very knowledgeable tutor. Mark was very clear, each point presented fitted very well with the content being discussed. The examples used were very practical and very informative.

This was a very excellent course and highly recommended for even African leaders.

However, the grading of peer reviews could be improved. The points could be better distributed to cover various scenarios. For example, if a question requires a list of 3 items and an explanation of each, it needs to have pointing systems that range from 6 to 1. meaning if 1 is missing from the list, then we can score 4/6. Or if 1 is listed without explanation, then it is a 5/6 score. In many cases, grading was easy, but assigning a score was not so easy as in-betweens were needed.

автор: Andrew J C

Jul 14, 2020

Mark's clear and well layered explanation of the present climate situation in Africa, the predicted climate and ways to adapt to it are excellent. Mark puts the continent under a microscope for us, as he says Africa is the sharp end of climate change so this really opens our eyes to what will happen elsewhere the world and what can be done about it. The material he provides is easy to understand even if the ideas are complex. His guests provide a well balanced picture of the whole of Africa. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to understand climate change and adaptation.

автор: Jasmin R

May 04, 2020

I found this course super interesting! It discusses a wide range of different adaptation issues, taking into consideration both the environmental and humanitarian aspects of climate change. Even though the focus is on Africa, the information can be adapted to other contexts as well. I was fairly well educated about climate change before taking the course, but I feel like it really boosted my knowledge of the adaptation and development aspect. I would definitely recommend it!

автор: Fazla Z A

Aug 22, 2020

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested. i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

автор: Andrea C

Aug 24, 2020

Thank you so much Coursera, UCT and ACDI. The course content is informative and well structured. I have thoroughly enjoyed working through the material and feel that I have developed a good base understanding in this field.

автор: Jessica A

Mar 27, 2020

So well presented, great content and useful exercises. Professor New has created a must-have course for anyone starting out in climate change adaptation, or those who need a refresher. I recommend it widely.

автор: Tanaka M

Jul 07, 2020

i learnt a lot from this course. not only do i know more about climate change impacts on the environment, but also how to mitigate risks related to climate change and how to adapt to those risks.

автор: Sizwe N

Oct 31, 2018

This was an amazing relevant course, now i can take action to climate adaptation in Africa having a clear understanding on how to choose and implement the best option suggested.

автор: Mouloukou K

Jun 29, 2020

Very good course to understand Africa`s current & future challenges related to climate change and what could be possible to do in the African context. I highly recommend it.

автор: Carl A S

Aug 31, 2019

A comprehensive introduction to the current and potential long-term effects of climate change on the socio-economic well-being of the African continent.

автор: Thabisile N

Oct 31, 2019

Very informative course for people who want to learn fundamental issues of climate change adaptation in the African context. Highly recommended course.

автор: Alexander B

May 21, 2020

Extremely good and insightful content on an equally pressing issue providing countless examples and progress markers to ensure your understanding.

автор: KOUASSI K T B

Oct 24, 2019

Super ce cours. Je suis bien outillé pour comprendre les questions relatives au climat et les stratégies d'adaptation dans les pays africains.

автор: Renelle

Jun 03, 2020

This is an excellent course. I learnt so much that I can start to apply in my current work environment. Thank you.

автор: Iviwe M

May 28, 2020

Very informative and eye-opening

автор: Lily M

Jun 30, 2020

Really interesting course!

автор: Kleber L d S

Jan 29, 2020

NOVOS CONHECIMENTOS

автор: Sabitu I A

Sep 10, 2020

An explanatory and very interesting course for a beginner of climate study in africa.If you are a lazy student kindly stay off this course.

автор: Vince M

Dec 24, 2018

A very informative and practical course especially for todays world where climate change is a reality in Africa and across the globe.

автор: Oliver S N

Aug 30, 2019

Mark New did an excellent job- would definitely recommend to anyone interested in geography or environmental studies.

автор: Amy T

Jun 15, 2020

I learned so much information!

автор: Paulina H

Aug 14, 2020

I like the content, the presentation and the presenter are the problem. There is a more visually engaging way to present this material than just looking at the instructor sitting on a stool and talking. Thats why I dropped the course: boring presentation.