Chevron Left
Вернуться к Classical Sociological Theory

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Classical Sociological Theory от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,894
Рецензии: 538

О курсе

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS

Jan 07, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT

Oct 29, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 529 отзывов о курсе Classical Sociological Theory

автор: Firdaus K

Apr 15, 2020

Prof. Bart van Heerikhuizen was brilliant!!!!!! I loved the course, his line - up of Classical Sociologists and the reading material. But most of all Prof. Heerikhuizen's style of engaging the learner with not just the theory, but trivia about the thinkers, his own experiences and the specific comments to underline key ideas - all these aspects made the course intriguing, enjoyable, memorable & useful. I am so glad that I have finally begun my journey to learn Sociology. I would love to take every single course by Prof. Heerikhuizen in Sociology available on Coursera.

автор: Alba C R

Mar 24, 2019

I loved it! I've studied some of the authors during University but I forgot a little bit about them. This course helped me refresh my memory and introduced me to the other authors.

But actually what I enjoyed the most was the Professor. He explains everything in a way everyone can understand and one can see the love and passion he feels for his career. He is such a good teacher. The way he explains sociology makes everyone want to keep learning about it! I would have loved to have him during my University degree.

Thank you so much, it's been a pleasure!

автор: Antonia T B

May 30, 2018

An EXCELLENT course. Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen is an incredible teacher. His lectures are exciting, interesting, well presented, and engaging. I love the fact that he quotes in the original French some times. The videos are short and very clear and the quizzes are great (interesting but easy). The course explores the ideologies and thoughts of different thinkers: Mandeville, Smith, Comte, Tocqueville, Marx, Durkheim, Weber, and Elias. A wonderful course. Really. Thanks a lot and many greetings from Madrid / Antonia Tejeda Barros

автор: Aisha A K V

Jun 07, 2020

Prof. Bart Van Heerikhuizen's classes were really in-depth and I could get quite a good overview about all the classical sociologists and their major works. As he took us ahead with class, I gained a better comprehensive understanding of the readings. I feel the course fulfilled attained it's aim of making the students prepared to learn and read the the classical sociological texts. This course overall was an insightful and thought provoking journey for me, as well it laid my foundations of understanding Classical Sociology.

автор: Prabhjyot S

Jan 11, 2019

I just want to say that the course was overall very good and thank you very much the team from Amsterdam university for making sociology an MOOC and present in such a beautiful way.

My feedback is that the sociological theories that we have taught here if somehow get connected with the problems and management system of the contemporary society than the students get develop a lens through which it can easily perceive and understand the society in a more sociological way.

Thank again team Coursera and University of Amsterdam.

автор: Elizabeth S

Jul 08, 2020

I am so grateful for this course! The lecturer is very passionate, and presents the topics in a very accessible, but interesting style. The course is well organized, so the concepts build on one another well. For me, this course was a great refresher as I have studied most of these theorists many years ago. It would also serve as an excellent first taste of the discipline for beginners. I highly recommend this course, and I am very hopeful there will be a second MOOC, as suggested in the last lecture.

автор: Sanjeet A

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent course with a well-balanced approach of the classical sociologists' fundamental ideas. Self-driven research is required if you wish to explore the topics presented to a deep degree but this course provides a great starting platform. In particular, Dr. Bat van Heerikhuizen was incredible. His passion for the subject is very evident and his teaching style is clear, well-focused, and personable. I highly recommend this MOOC for anyone remotely interested in an introduction to sociology.

автор: Travis S

Feb 17, 2019

This course was an excellent introduction to Classical Sociology, I learned a significant amount and greatly enjoyed it. Dr. Heerikhuizen was very effective in highlighting the key points and explaining them in an understandable fashion. The assigned readings provided good primers on the path to achieving the goal of the course, which is to be able to read the classical texts independently. I highly recommend this course for anyone looking to begin or expand their knowledge of sociology.

автор: María G

Jan 14, 2016

This course is the absolute best I have taken on Coursera. The teacher is very engaging, explains with ease is a very friendly professor that guides you effectively as if you weren't taking this class online. It is elegantly designed with in-video questions and helpful quizzes that are short and on-point. I liked the over-all design, it touches in the most important thinkers of Sociology but also focuses on aspects that aren't always taught in Sociology classes. A great course!

автор: Natasha B

Jun 04, 2020

An exceptional overview of classical sociological theory and an exceptional professor. Finishing this course in a week marked by civil unrest in the United States brought greater understanding to my surrounding world, and, in turn, a degree of solace that can be summed up in one of our professor's final comments: "Maybe one day we may better understand those figurational processes and learn how to steer them in such a way that it will lead to less human suffering."

автор: Chin L Y

Jul 19, 2017

A very intriguing course that looks into the thinking of the great thinkers who had thought much more about how our modern society works. It is, as if, they had used a long binoculars that could help them see the future from the past. I am not merely saying they are predictive in their thinking, in fact, I am saying their theories or observations had actually been so relevant even in today's context. I was never interested in sociology but this course changed me.

автор: Anoushka B

Aug 03, 2020

Amazing course, I learned so much! The videos were super fun and informational, I really enjoyed the way the professor intertwined his own experiences and reflections into his teachings. The readings were also a great addition to the videos. (However, they definitely take longer than the approximated time of "10 minutes"!). Overall an enriching experience. Very accessible and easy to navigate the way everything was laid out. Glad I did it! Thank you very much!

автор: Martaliu

Jun 18, 2020

This is the best Sociology Theory course I've ever had. I am a postgraduate Sociology student. I am a fan of Pro. Bart van Heerikhuizen's way of teaching, every section of this course is so amazing and attractive that I can't lose my attention on it. From his fantastic diluciation on those great classical sociologists' experience on their historical work, I gained more passion and interest on my sociological study which I was really appreciated for.

автор: ANDRE T

Apr 20, 2018

This course was everything I expected. It could not be more deep considering the media and the course's duration, but even though it was very explanatory of the classical authors in Sociology. I learned a lot. The instructor is terrific. And the quizzes are not absurdly obvious as they are many times here nor they are difficult even considering someone whose first language is not English. Looking forward for the course in contemporary sociologists

автор: saba

Mar 27, 2017

I should say this is one of the best cours in this subject that i have ever seen . i am sociology student in MA and indeed i have spent a different classes in such this subjects, so it is normal to recognize all of this theory , but this kind of method in explaining and the way is selected by this skilled professor is really nice , at the end i should say he really know her audiences and their question too .

thanks your team and website so much

автор: kathryn

Oct 18, 2015

Great course. Not only is the topic interesting and the lectures informative and clear, but the lecturer is thoroughly engaged, obviously loves the subject and his enthusiasm is infectious. Really well put together by the team at University of Amsterdam. I found the readings interesting and the regular tests were challenging. I feel like this stretched my brain, in a good way. Can we follow on course about the modern greats of sociology? Please?!

автор: DISHA D

Jul 15, 2020

The course proved to be very beneficial for me. I learnt in details and concise manner about all the Classical Sociologists and also internalized ways to compare their thinking with my own understanding towards the society . It really enlightened me and fulfilled all of my informational needs.

Special thanks to the COORDINATOR# Bart van Heerikhuizen.. Sir, I feel really privileged to attend your course and gain immense knowledge through it.

автор: Marcela P R G

Sep 30, 2020

For me, this course was an absolutely challenge, I speak spanish, so to understand everything in english was a little bit hard, but totally worth it. I learned so much these last 8 weeks, I recommend so much this course. I had so much fun learning and reading the texts. Thank you to all the persons involved in this amazing proyect, and over all, thank you so much, Bart, I'll never forget you and what you taught us.

Thank you.

автор: Leonard D

Jun 12, 2019

Fascinating course that allows students interested in sociology to attain a strong foundation from which to continue their studies. It was wonderful to learn about the classic sociologists and their theories from a gentleman who is so clearly passionate about his field of study and eager to share his expansive knowledge of it with his successive generation(s). Highly recommended to anyone interested in the social sciences.

автор: Paul P

Oct 06, 2015

This course is a very interesting introduction to the Classical Sociological Theory. The main authors and their works are presented in a thematic and progressive way. The pedagogic skills of the teacher, based on his involvement and his enthusiasm, are astonishing. I hope to find nearly the course on 'Modern Sociological Theory' as the sequel of this one. Thank you very much to the team to this great work and best for all!

автор: Shehely A

Sep 04, 2020

It was very very interesting. As Bart van Heerikhuizen were saying he is missing the direct expression from the students or participants in his lecture, sometimes I also felt so during my study time in this course. I was deeply been attached with the different theory given by different sociologist. Sometimes I was wondered that some of the theories relate to our contemporary time, but they expalained it long long ago.

автор: Stephen D

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent overview on the major sociological thinkers from Adam Smith to Norbert Elias. A very good introduction to the subject. Beware though - the professor is an engaging teacher, but his quizzes are tough. You actually have to do some of the recommended readings to answer the questions - there are at least three questions in each quiz based on the writings of the sociologist who is the subject of the test.

автор: Jason S

Jan 31, 2017

This is one of the most fascinating classes that I have ever taken. The material itself is mind-blowing- it covers some of the most influential thinkers of the past few centuries. The professor of this class is what really made it special- he is an excellent teacher, full of great stories and examples. He truly knows both how to keep one's attention and also to deepen one's fascination with sociology. Thank you!

автор: Lidia A P

Apr 22, 2019

An eye-opening course, that inspired me to read these great works and maybe study sociology. Professor Bart van Heerikhuizen makes of this course a truly enjoyable and accessible to everyone (with a good English level) experience - I looked forward to following the "Classical Sociological Theory" course every time I opened my computer. Special thanks for sharing this FREE course with such enthusiasm !

автор: Hussain H

Mar 26, 2019

I am very glad to share my experience with fellows. This course have enabled me to understand the base of sociology what we called the roots of sociology. It is easy to read and write about theories but to understand its philosophical perspective is like a soul to the body of knowledge. Thankyou course era for enabling me to understand the depth of sociological theory.