Chevron Left
Вернуться к Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science от партнера Гонконгский университет науки и технологий

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 280
Рецензии: 64

О курсе

This course offers a conceptual framework for understanding China that highlights the intersection of politics and economics. It shows that rather than develop into a full blown market economy, state and party officials at all levels of the political system maintain significant influence in economic development. Such a “political” economy has had both positive and negative outcomes, which we will assess in detail. We also look at the origins, views, backgrounds and relations among leaders, and how those leaders make decisions about public policy and try to get those decisions implemented down through the system. China has few formal institutions through which citizens can participate in politics, but we will study the strategies Chinese people use to try to influence their leaders’ decisions. Finally, we assess China’s future and whether rapid economic development and the emergence of a vibrant middle class will push China towards greater democracy or whether the single party system is likely to survive into the future. The course is a quite useful background for Chinese Politics Part 2 – China and the World. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/7FpNL67EbE4...

Лучшие рецензии

OB
20 нояб. 2021 г.

Excellent course for anyone interested remotely in China studies. This course covers topics from Chinese policymaking to Chinese economy, Chinese trade policies and China's rural democracy

AM
17 мая 2020 г.

Fascinating and informative course. If I had to change something, I found that too often the questions often focused on details rather then understanding the material and themes.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 63 отзывов о курсе Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science

автор: Angel V

26 мая 2017 г.

This course about Chinese politics is very good. Chinese politics are extremely complicated, especially for anyone coming from non communist states. This course is a very good introductory course on Chinese politics. China is the world’s second largest economy and one of the most influential countries today. The Middle Kingdom has a very unique political system. The professor is excellent and the institution providing this course is a world class university. I took Part I and Part II of this course. I really enjoyed both courses. I think even Chinese people would learn a great deal during this course. (我建议大家上这门课)

автор: Fred I

26 окт. 2018 г.

Good lectures both for content and delivery. Good slides provided structure and direction plus they were available to download. This course is a must to understand relations between China and the U.S. I was confused by the papers. Since the quizzes just covered a module, I thought that the papers just covered the current module. Instead it required backup info from all the modules. This should be made clear in the paper directions. I will definitely take class two. I have taken plus 20 Coursera classes and I would rate it in the top 5.

автор: Tuna B

31 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent course on China. A little bit demanding but I loved the historical examples and the comparision of other academics. Mr. Zweig is really an amazing proffessor and I hope he will do more courses like this.

автор: Adam M

17 мая 2020 г.

Fascinating and informative course. If I had to change something, I found that too often the questions often focused on details rather then understanding the material and themes.

автор: Russil W

21 сент. 2020 г.

Provides a clear picture of all aspects of politics in China, as of 2015: its political structure (including the dominance and pervasiveness of the Party), the struggle to become leader and to consolidate power, policy implementation, societal engagement (including protests and passive resistance), political aspects of the economy (including the major waves of reform), and finally future developments. The instructor, Dr. David Zweig, is excellent: he presents the material clearly, and he has long experience in the field. I also found the readings quite helpful, although I should warn that you may need to use Google and archive.org to track them down.

автор: Arusyak H

25 июля 2020 г.

I've taken this course as I'm doing my research in Chinese foreign policy and I needed more insight on Chinese domestic and international politics. Prof. Zweig's lectures were interested, backed with surveys, facts, theoretical frameworks and his own experience as a researcher and a former student in China. I really enjoyed the course and I'm going to take Part 2 now!

автор: Andrew

26 мар. 2018 г.

I did this course out of personal interest and to practice studying in case I want to return to university in the near future. I really enjoyed the course and found the content interesting. I also feel it helped me to practice studying and assignment writing. The structure (videos 5-15 minutes long) was great for me too as I'm a stay at home dad 2 days a week.

автор: JOHN Q

20 нояб. 2017 г.

I enjoyed this course tremendously, and discovered that there was a vast amount of information that I needed to learn about this SuperPower. China is an amazing country with an enormous population and economy, a history of remarkable achievement, and yet still unknown in many ways. Thanks for putting this course together.

автор: quentin v

17 нояб. 2019 г.

This course permitted me to catch the domestic economic and political changes of China to replace them in the global evolution of the country and its relationship with the rest of the world. The written .pdf and .txt support make easy to constantly go back searching informations in the whole course.

автор: Mustafa N

14 февр. 2018 г.

This course is great! I learned a lot. More importantly, there were some well provided insights coupled with equally unique perspectives I simply never had before. Thank you The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. And thank you Coursera for hosting this course.

автор: Trevor F

14 июня 2021 г.

The course was a great overview of the structure of the Chinese political system, and some of the challenges it has faced since the Mao era. I thought the sections on Deng's economic reforms were especially interesting.

автор: Matthew J

3 сент. 2019 г.

Very interesting class with a great teacher! Only complaint I have is that the tests have overly-specific questions (the questions bank on obscure dates and names), and that there are some typos on the notes slides.

автор: SUN Y M

20 апр. 2017 г.

Great course with intense knowledge. Just because I had little history background of modern China. Another short course to state facts of history may be helpful. This one is challenging.

автор: Omkar B

21 нояб. 2021 г.

Excellent course for anyone interested remotely in China studies. This course covers topics from Chinese policymaking to Chinese economy, Chinese trade policies and China's rural democracy

автор: Charlie W

12 апр. 2017 г.

Both enjoyable and informative. It is exactly the sort of crash course in Chinese politics I was looking for and I have been inspired to take my learning on the subject further

автор: Claudio C

15 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent. One of the best MOOCs I have taken. The videos, the materials provided (articles and excerpts to read, slides etc.). Moreover, if one writes somebody answers!

автор: Ariel K

24 мая 2020 г.

As someone who had a lot of prior knowledge about Chinese politics, this course gave me more dept on the topic and put my previous knowledge in order. Wonderful course.

автор: J D

6 мар. 2016 г.

A well-structured, thoughtful course delivered by a true expert on the subject. One of the finest courses available throughout the entire Coursera platform.

автор: Huayu D

10 июня 2020 г.

Great class! I learn a lot about Chinese politics even though I am a Chinese citizen. I hope that questions of quiz and final exams can be ameliorated.

автор: Ralph R F

20 мая 2019 г.

Comprehensive and practical. Prof. David Zweig's narrative teaching style and his first hand experience made the course content easy to understand.

автор: Marisa C G

5 нояб. 2020 г.

El mejor curso para comprender la estructura del sistema político chino, la retroalimentación del tutor complementa perfectamente cada sesión.

автор: Kane M

6 сент. 2017 г.

Refreshingly vivid content and lectures. Above average discussions for social science/politics classes on Coursera. Overall big thumbs up!

автор: Aditya S

12 авг. 2020 г.

The course opened up a rather obscure world of Chinese politics, and would greatly help me understand China more realistically.

автор: Herve Y

1 нояб. 2017 г.

I have learned a lot about my roots, professor Zweig is living what he teaches.

Thank you so much to Dr Zweig and Coursera

автор: OLUFSEN, B

5 сент. 2016 г.

I am audting this course and intend to attend the second part. The Professor is outstanding !

Greetings,

Bjorn OLUFSEN