Chevron Left
Вернуться к Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction от партнера Университет Женевы

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,886
Рецензии: 463

О курсе

Drawing on the contributions of several academic disciplines including law, psychology, sociology, history, educational and health sciences, economy and anthropology, an interdisciplinary approach guides the student into a selection of critical issues concerning children’s rights. Participants will gain insight relative to the development of this specific human rights category, as well as to the evolution of the challenges faced by children over time and society’s efforts to respond. Successful international strategies and programs promoting children’s rights will be highlighted, as well as the role of key actors involved in international organizations working in this field. This open online course provides an overview of the most important features of children’s human rights. A central portion of the MOOC will consist of a presentation of the international and regional standards on children’s rights and the related international and regional judicial and quasi-judicial bodies designed to ensure their implementation. No prerequisites or specific background is required to register for this MOOC. The course is conceived as an introductory level program, but participants, who wish to deepen their knowledge in the field of children’s rights, or already have some prior knowledge, will have access to additional reading material on a weekly basis. Participants who successfully complete the class activities and final assessment may request for a paid certificate of accomplishment signed by the Instructor and the main professors responsible for the program. However, no credits are awarded. The course consists of seven topical modules distributed on 4 weeks. English is the only language of instruction....

Лучшие рецензии

FR

24 февр. 2020 г.

Truly interdisciplinary course with rich content, and reasonable depth, based upon team work of faculty. I am even recommend my 15 year child to study it and know about her responsibilities and rights

SD

30 янв. 2019 г.

I strongly recommend this for people who are passionately working among children across the globe. This is the need of the hour! Let's educate ourselves and serve the best for our children. Cheers!

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 464 отзывов о курсе Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

автор: Joseph F

20 нояб. 2018 г.

Great introduction. Was very interesting and to the point. As a beginner I appreciated the varying levels of depth to the course allowing all to benefit. For 5 stars I would have preferred better quality videos as some had lots of background noise etc. making it difficult to concentrate and listen but other that that, great.

автор: daishiyi

3 нояб. 2017 г.

Overall this course has provided students with lots of information, the only thing might be that the content is a bit plain and there is lots of content for students to memorize. Since the concepts are a bit far from our life, it might be hard for students to memorize what they have learned through the course.

автор: Adam N

18 июня 2017 г.

A very insightful and thought provoking course. I really enjoyed learning the global perspective of children's rights. It an ideal course for people who wish to upgrade their skills and knowledge in children's rights, especially with a transnational focus. The questions can however, be made more challenging.

автор: Kerrin B

15 июня 2020 г.

Very good lots of interesting learning that I didn't expect, such as the dangers of drug treatments and children. I learnt of some networks to report suspected child trafficking cases to.

While the lectures were all 5 star, if anything the pedagogy/ diacritics could be a little more innovative.

Great course!

автор: Meaghan H

24 апр. 2020 г.

It was sometimes difficult to understand the speakers (as an American English speaker) but the transcription helps, although it is often incorrect which is problematic for accessibility. If you can get past the history lessons in the beginning that are more dry, the rest is much more focused and interesting.

автор: LKC

12 мар. 2021 г.

The course is interesting and gives a very wide overview of the CRC.

However, I regret that the transcript in English is not better. Words missing, or wrong words that make it hard to understand. I had to listen to some parts more than twice to figure out what was said which made it less enjoyable to follow.

автор: Emily S

17 апр. 2018 г.

Overall excellent in content, focus, and delivery. Video transcriptions were helpful in double checking when I had trouble with the lecturers' accents or needed to see how a particular name or acronym was spelled, but sometimes the transcriptions themselves also had inaccuracies which was a little annoying.

автор: Deeqo G

1 мая 2017 г.

Overall, great work. The course creators did superb job. My only recommendation is that the questions should be more challenging. Even thought its an introduction course, course participants should be challenged. We should have individual and group work components attended to the course.

Deeqo Godax

автор: Новикова М М

9 мая 2020 г.

There are some problems with videos, some videos wasn't applied. And sometimes it was hand to anderstand some word because in the text these words were omitted. But I really like this Cours because all the information was important and I got the knowledge that I needed.

I really enjoyed the course!

автор: Farhan Z

4 апр. 2020 г.

Good course. Simple to follow and wide in its ambit. A good introduction to Child Rights. As a law student, I was happy to learn as an introduction, perspectives from sociology and social work/research. Some of the later modules on global health and research could be made more substantive.

автор: Kyra Z

23 февр. 2021 г.

A great course and introduction on Children's Human Rights! Would love to have seen these conversations applied to other situations as well, such as children's human rights in conflict settings, disaster response efforts, etc. Nevertheless, would definitely recommend it to others!

автор: Zinaida B

14 мар. 2019 г.

The content is great, the syllabus is well constructed and expansive, but the delivery is a little lackluster and dull. There are many better ways to deliver online course content then to just have individuals sit in front of a camera and read a paper as if at a conference panel.

автор: Shelby A B

16 июля 2020 г.

An informative overview of the UN Convention of the Rights of the child. The lectures and quizzes do not exactly match up, and focus on seemingly arbitrary concepts sometimes. However, it was a great overview and left me wanting to do a lot more research on my own!

автор: Sukhpal K M

18 янв. 2019 г.

Very well structured. Excellent speakers and reference materials. The length of the lectures is just right. the sessions on traditional harmful practices should have explained a bit in detail about various kinds of harmful practices like sacrilege or coin rubbing.

автор: Tan L L P

16 апр. 2017 г.

Informative and easy to digest content that leave students with a better grasp of the challenges that children's rights advocates run into in the past and today. Course content is modern enough to discuss sexting and whether it infringes on the rights of a child.

автор: Olusola A

12 мая 2017 г.

Basically OK and informative. Some of the English was however difficult to listen to and understand, and the subtitles did not help much also. Aside this, the main Ideas were passed on, and the course gives a good basic introduction to Child Rights issues.

автор: Eduard I

8 окт. 2017 г.

Useful for those who want to learn about child rights for the first time. Will not recommend to professionals.

автор: Johannes B

1 июня 2020 г.

It is an ok course, it provides a good foundation although many lessons are partly outdated and many phrases are inaudible and not available in the written transcripts. If the speaker uses a foreign word the transcript does not pick it up etc. Needs to be updated and improved

автор: Морев А Л

3 дек. 2019 г.

Very biased course.

автор: BEN M A B

26 дек. 2019 г.

Thank you for this valuable course that helped me:  To improve the understanding of child protection  To increase the capacity to prevent abuse  To strengthen skills to recognize diverse child protection issues  To gain skills in upholding child rights  To increase awareness on how to create a protective environment  To strengthen the ability to identify child protection issues without stigmatizing or targeting the child  To understand and use the term vulnerability appropriately  To utilize a holistic framework when responding to child protection: responsive action, remedial action, protective environment action

автор: Sandra. L

14 авг. 2021 г.

My name is Sandra Lucien, I'm from Haiti, I am currently  an Instructional Assistant with ASD children, working in Public Schools. At first, I took the course to understand certain things about Children's Human Rights just for fun, but it turned out that this course was great. I loved the videos, also the video lengths were great. I learned more about society, people in the workplace, children are being smarter than we think, when they are engaging etc. I now know that one should not criticize what they can't do or understand. Thank you so much for your time and for making learning fun. I did get my certificate.

автор: Federica C

19 июня 2020 г.

Having already a solid background in human rights and experience in the field of child protection, I was a bit scared by the "introduction" word mentioned in the title, being afraid the course would be too basic. Instead it was extremely interesting to follow this course for the multiple inputs and explanations it was providing. Topics are presented from different perspectives and by experts in different field, I believe this gave me the possibility to learn a lot and complement my previous knowledge with relevant information coming from other disciplines. Historical videos are those I have appreciated the most!

автор: Kim V

19 июня 2022 г.

I have been exposed to several discussions on children's human rights since 2018 or 2019 with my employment with the Commission on Human Rights of the Philippines, but only in this course was I'm able to further my knowledge on the following: 1. How violence against children (VAC) weakens the foundation of a state's social progress; 2. Proper understanding of children's need of care vis a vis their evolving capacities (and autonomy); and 3. Scope of issues on children's global health. Thank you to all instructors of Center for Children's Rights Studies, University of Geneva and Coursera.

автор: Ethige B S

15 окт. 2018 г.

First of all I am thanking very much University of Geneva, Switzerland has given opportunity to study about Children's Human rights - An Interdisciplinary under Coursera organization. I am a Auditor of the United Nation Association of Singapore and active in Human right as well as Humanitarian. This course is very helpful to improve my knowledge as well as Laws. Further more I would like to thank all Professors and Lecturers explained very clearly, wider and deeper to understand all modules in this course.

Best Regards from Singapore

Ethige Bernard Silva.

автор: Liliana F D V A

25 мар. 2019 г.

The content of this course is truly exceptional! I loved the diversity of topics presented and the instructors really made me want to go into further detail as I do research on my own! I believe that I would only like to point out that there were some discrepancies in the transcripts of the videos which, if corrected, would make this course just perfect. I would really like to thank all the experts and instructors for their invaluable time and support creating and sharing this MOOC with the community!