Chevron Left
Вернуться к Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction от партнера Университет Женевы

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,396
Рецензии: 346

О курсе

Drawing on the contributions of several academic disciplines including law, psychology, sociology, history, educational and health sciences, economy and anthropology, an interdisciplinary approach guides the student into a selection of critical issues concerning children’s rights. Participants will gain insight relative to the development of this specific human rights category, as well as to the evolution of the challenges faced by children over time and society’s efforts to respond. Successful international strategies and programs promoting children’s rights will be highlighted, as well as the role of key actors involved in international organizations working in this field. This open online course provides an overview of the most important features of children’s human rights. A central portion of the MOOC will consist of a presentation of the international and regional standards on children’s rights and the related international and regional judicial and quasi-judicial bodies designed to ensure their implementation. No prerequisites or specific background is required to register for this MOOC. The course is conceived as an introductory level program, but participants, who wish to deepen their knowledge in the field of children’s rights, or already have some prior knowledge, will have access to additional reading material on a weekly basis. Participants who successfully complete the class activities and final assessment may request for a paid certificate of accomplishment signed by the Instructor and the main professors responsible for the program. However, no credits are awarded. The course consists of seven topical modules distributed on 4 weeks. English is the only language of instruction....

Лучшие рецензии

FR

Feb 25, 2020

Truly interdisciplinary course with rich content, and reasonable depth, based upon team work of faculty. I am even recommend my 15 year child to study it and know about her responsibilities and rights

SD

Jan 31, 2019

I strongly recommend this for people who are passionately working among children across the globe. This is the need of the hour! Let's educate ourselves and serve the best for our children. Cheers!

Фильтр по:

301–325 из 343 отзывов о курсе Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

автор: Sofia K

Apr 10, 2020

My score is 98% but i didnt get certificate with honors(( But i really liked this course. Its great))

автор: Marta D A

Aug 14, 2019

The course contents were really good, but the English level of most of the lecturer was unacceptable.

автор: Keerthana. E

Jul 26, 2020

This session is quite interesting and informative as well please do your best in educating everyone

автор: 임윤배

Sep 22, 2019

The course was very useful and it really covered diverse issues related to the rights of the child!

автор: Susan C

Apr 02, 2019

Very good course, I recommend it to people who wants to gain knowledge on child protection issues.

автор: Deisy M V N

May 21, 2017

Very good professors, diversity of subjects, all that you need to know about children rights.

автор: Nfor H N

Aug 10, 2019

Excellent online study and eloquent lecturers. Makes online study sweet and comprehensive

автор: Adriana F

Apr 28, 2019

Amazing course that put me in touch with some subjects that I've never thought about.

автор: rashi j

Jan 31, 2020

the subtitles need to be worked at, otherwise the course is very informative

автор: Aline V

Apr 28, 2019

Il s'agit vraiment d'une introduction. Ca donne envie d'aller plus loin.

автор: Francesca T

Sep 25, 2018

The transcript for some of the videos is not accurate, need revising.

автор: Pete B

Sep 02, 2017

Great information on an important, complex topic!

автор: Eirini A

Jun 07, 2020

Very interesting and enlightening!

автор: Aishwarya L

Sep 21, 2020

good experience

автор: Rafat A H

Sep 22, 2019

i like coursea

автор: 한승훈

Mar 01, 2019

good

автор: Margaret B

Sep 12, 2017

V

автор: Julianne R

Apr 03, 2018

As mentioned in the course's title, it is an introductory course on children's human rights. As such, it can be a very useful resource for a beginner. Whilst I am not a complete beginner, I did learn about the issue and familiarised myself more with children's rights. After completing the course, I am interested in learning more and digging more into some of the issues that were discussed - in that, the course has definitely delivered.

However, the course would gain from some improvements:

First, as a non-native English speaker, I understand the difficulty of teaching a course in English - however, almost all lecturers were reading their notes and had a strong accent. This killed the dynamic of each lecture. In addition, the transcripts of all videos, including those of interventions made by native English speakers, were full of mistakes (for example, "treaty body" was transcribed as "tricky body", "NGO" as "Ango", and so on). In my view, it would have been more accurate and dynamic if the lectures had been taught in each speaker's native language, with subtitles in English.

Second, the forum, which could be an incredible platform allowing students from all over the world and lecturers to share their experiences and exchange ideas, is left practically unused. Students asked legitimate and interesting questions, both on the substance and logistics (such a technical problems with weekly quiz), most of which were left unanswered by lecturers. In my view, an effort should be made to ensure that the forum is active and that questions are answered.

Third and last, some of the resources supposedly available to students were not, either because access was restricted to paid subscription only or because links do not work. It would be great if all links are checked and all resources are shared. In addition, suggestions for further reading and/or courses would be useful once the course is completed.

All in all, I have paid for the certificate (prior to starting the course). However, whilst I am happy to have one now, I do not think that the level of the course is worth paying for it without correcting the issues I mentioned above.

автор: Max E

Aug 12, 2020

This course have provided information that I will for certain use in my career. I am a little worried that the content has not been updated for a few years and all videos might not give relevant information anymore. I would also like the instructors to add material on how children are affected by the pandemic (COVID-19).

The videos could have been done in a better way, for example by having the instructors actually look into the camera instead of focusing on their script/notes and have more illustrations (or at least something else to look at besides their faces).

Overall I'm glad I took this course but as I have already mentioned, it needs some updates and improvements.

автор: Iryna G

Jun 16, 2017

Overall the course is very informative. However it has a few strong weakness that impact the learning process, which I would like to point out. First of all, due to some heavy accents of the lecturers it is not always understandable what is being said, while the transcripts and subtitles are not proof read, their text contain errors and unrelated words. Secondly some tests contained confusing questions, which were not directly covered by the learning materials. Thirdly, the lack of interactive learning makes the process of learning a bit dull. I am sure there are many interesting video and interactive materials on the covered topics.

автор: Ana-Maria A

Nov 01, 2017

I think the course was focused to much on aspects relating to the history of the Convention of the Rights of the Children and less on the actual subject. The transcripts had some errors, although these would have been very useful as the teachers are not native English speakers. It did not motivate me to pay for the Certificate.

However, the presentations with the actual subject (human children rights) had been interesting and I learned new things during this course. Other courses relating to aspects concerning children (custody, international kidnapping, single parent family, etc) would be very useful and interesting.

автор: Serena P

Apr 10, 2017

I was slightly disappointed by the course: too much information was given and not always in a clear way. In particular, sometimes the sessions were jumping from one discipline to another with not much explanation and this was confusing. Also, the information provided was in huge amounts but not in details. I expected to get more detailed information on children's rights while sometimes the presentations were only very general overviews.

автор: Janmejay G

May 29, 2020

I strongly recommend this for people who are passionately working among children across the globe. This is the need of the hour! The course itself is helpful because it gives you an understanding of the issues with Children's rights. However, I put only three stars due to some technical issues I faced during the course and also because some of the links for reading materials are not updated and I could not open them.

автор: Fiona V C

Jun 25, 2017

The transcripts are automated and aren't proof read, therefore don't make sense at times which makes it difficult for those struggling with the accents of the lecturers - which can be very hard to understand. They also talk very very fast at times which is again hard to understand when they're accents are strong and their English imperfect.

автор: Charvi A

Jun 27, 2020

Informative about the UNCRC and it's history. Does mention various issues children face (mostly in the global south, with the exception of juvenile justice) and gives a very basic overview. Lacks critical engagement with the UNCRC, as it does not mention the possible issues with the list of rights and the universalism that they entail.