Chevron Left
Вернуться к Building a Data Science Team

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Building a Data Science Team от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 3,177
Рецензии: 437

О курсе

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Основные моменты
Applicable teachings
(рецензий: 79)
Brief, helpful lectures
(рецензий: 11)

Лучшие рецензии

NN
14 дек. 2017 г.

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

SM
14 янв. 2021 г.

Very well organized. Might consider adding couple of additional speakers with with more executive and management level experience with organizations that successfully implemented Data Science.

Фильтр по:

276–300 из 430 отзывов о курсе Building a Data Science Team

автор: GIacomo V

20 дек. 2015 г.

I really enjoyed this course and I have found a lot of similarities with issues and challenges that I face every day at work. This has been very useful to me bot as a way to get inspired on new ideas and techniques, and as a way to confirm what I am already doing.

However, there were few occasions where I found the quizzes not to be clear enough.

In some instances this was due to the fact that the question asked required some extra knowledge that couldn't possibly be achieved only by reading the course material or listening to the class. I was lucky I new the answers because of my personal experience but it seemed quite unfair in my opinion. Also lectures materials are very short and don;t provide any extra information.

In other cases, the answers, especially when there were multiple answers didn't seem to be clear enough and sometimes contradicting what I had listened in the class. I don't remember specific cases at the moment, however I have left feedbacks throughout the course. You should have my feedbacks where I mentioned specific questions that in my opinion were confusing.

Hope this helps,

Giacomo

автор: John H

29 сент. 2015 г.

Good coverage in a very fast intro to the subject. Definitely take away some things I am able to put into use in my work. I get the feeling this is quite a new course (compared with the very well established Data Science Specialization) and does not have the student interaction base yet. I hope this aspect develops - perhaps even with the TAs. For this level course student interaction could be even more valuable than the more hands on data science subjects. Hope this specialization takes off as well as the DSS did!

автор: Stellios S

17 сент. 2017 г.

Good course that puts various aspects of a Data Science manager day-to-day activities into perspective presented by a talented instructor. However, I feel that there are a couple of things that could fit into the course like the role of Data Curators in a team or the distinction between Analysts and Scientists (which, I know, is not always clear). The notions of KPIs and OKRs could also have been pointed out when it comes to setting goals and managing.

автор: Cyril B

22 февр. 2017 г.

A very interesting course focus on the true life with data science teams. This course is more about the day to day life and problem to manage a data science team and less about pure organization. The financial aspects are not covered by Jeff nor the complex problems of people organization. I have noticed that I was the sole person to post on the forum.

автор: Reinaldo B N

3 апр. 2016 г.

I have studied this course as part of the Executive Data Science Specialization. I think this set of four courses meet my objectives by providing a very nice overview on the key points of data science projects. They are good to give a flavor on data science and data science projects helping decide if you want to search for more in depth knowledge.

автор: Rong-Rong C

1 дек. 2017 г.

Informative overview of the various roles in a data science team. The course is well-paced with plenty of supplemental curriculum to add substance beyond hiring. This covers the qualitative qualities that define and differentiate the human interactions of a successful team from that of the technical.

автор: Ben W

10 окт. 2016 г.

A good, enjoyable course with some interesting additional reading. I think I would have preferred a little more detail/content to have given it a full five stars. That said...I am very happy to have taken and passed the course. Thank you all involved. Now on to 'Managing Data Analysis'!!

автор: Charissa B

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Really helpful for a manager of a data science team. Not overly technical for those without a data science background. Would certainly recommend to those in management positions who need to get up to speed on data science and managing teams involved with this discipline.

автор: VIDHYAMBIKA S

25 июля 2020 г.

A Very useful course and is recommended for leaders, entrepreneurs who plan to organise and manage a data science team in their company also recommended to all students who plan to become a data science manager or want to just know what makes a datascience team

автор: Miomir Z

30 июня 2017 г.

Data science part was very valuable to me while some basics of people management are just basic. Overall solid course that i would recommend. More advance/modern/popular tools such as coaching and shared leadership were missing to make it 5 stars.

Best,

Miomir

автор: Pascal N

18 нояб. 2015 г.

Ver good with clear and on point material. I would suggest to include real life stories of success and failure some managers had in building a data science team, and discuss about the mistakes or the strengths of their recruitment process.

автор: Olga W

4 авг. 2020 г.

Mostly relevant information and useful pointers for a quick introduction. Since I am already managing a data science team for over 2 years, I was looking for more in-depth insights and advice on solving a variety of problems.

автор: Matthias L

11 авг. 2017 г.

It was a great overview of the different roles and also the interfaces between people and different teams. Nice to see that culture and communication were seriously discussed, showing awareness for organisational theory!

автор: Carlos A H

15 июня 2019 г.

Excellent insight and guidance on essential practices in building a data science team. Area of improvement is emphasizing python more than R as python has become the preferred programming language in data science.

автор: Julien N

20 февр. 2018 г.

Nice explications of a data science team, its players and how they interact within their team and the other departments of their organisation.

The Capstone project is the perfect application of this class

автор: prasanna v

23 янв. 2017 г.

Good overview of forming Data science team. The challenges are typical of any SDLC project. However I was looking to glean some specific challenges between DSc team and product or marketing teams.

автор: Maxim S

4 дек. 2020 г.

Quizes contain mistakes, some of them did not accept answers which are definitely right (as it was told ithe lectures). Some mistake were not improved since 2015, according to threads from forum.

автор: Ryan V

22 мая 2016 г.

Good but should come after the Managing Data Analysis for understanding better what the people you hire are actually going to do. Preventing the "Dilbertification" of the data science manager.

автор: Clifton d L

21 нояб. 2017 г.

I found this course useful, especially the hints regarding a code of conduct for Data teams and the interactions with other teams. Also a good refresher on general team-leadership/management.

автор: JOSEPH A

16 апр. 2018 г.

Excellent content - delivery could be improved somewhat but happy overall. Lots of practical advice relevant to the job and team dynamics. Read the supplementary material/links

автор: Vaughan W

31 янв. 2017 г.

Good overview of the roles and skills needed, but loses a little momentum when it gets into the team management side of things, which is covered in many other business courses.

автор: Ravi K S

4 апр. 2018 г.

1 start less because of the ever-confusing quiz questions. Hit and trials make you go mad, and insance when you figure out the correct answer that you couldn't have imagined.

автор: HYUN K

14 мар. 2016 г.

This class had hard quiz.

Sometimes it seemed very basic, but some are hard unless you read and learn really well. Great class/knowledge. Practical real-life examples help.

автор: Jeffrey M S

15 авг. 2017 г.

This course had a lot of practical, helpful guidelines for managing technology professionals in general, in addition to specific pointers for managing a data science team.

автор: Gopal I

3 сент. 2018 г.

Team building is common. Could have cited examples of skill sets needed and how to keep track of changing industry and academia needs for building a team