Chevron Left
Вернуться к Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 1,418

О курсе

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Лучшие рецензии

DL

17 апр. 2016 г.

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

MZ

14 апр. 2020 г.

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Фильтр по:

351–375 из 427 отзывов о курсе Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

автор: Chahat B

26 июля 2020 г.

Very difficult for no coding background people. It would be really helpful if you could describe the error in better ways

автор: Christopher C

3 апр. 2021 г.

This course requires advanced programming skills, the first week has taken 3 weeks from me and I am still stuck.

автор: Osimhiarherhuo A

28 апр. 2020 г.

This course although well taught does not take into account those that know nothing about programming

автор: Linyi Z

21 июня 2017 г.

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

автор: Nesrine K

16 нояб. 2020 г.

quite difficult for a begginer we have to practice python first before starting the course

автор: ISIAKA B A

18 июня 2020 г.

This course is not for beginners. It is for those with background computer knowledge

автор: Adnan B

25 мая 2022 г.

This course is so much difficult and it is definitely not the one for beginners.

автор: Rubén d S I

19 февр. 2017 г.

Very interesting but i don't like switching e-learning platforms

автор: TANIA M D P

26 янв. 2022 г.

Good, but it is difficult for biology background students

автор: Laura D C L

4 мая 2020 г.

Useful but terribly difficult, it is not for beginners

автор: Yuchen W

3 сент. 2021 г.

not for beginner who does not know any programming

автор: Sanjeeb S

21 июня 2022 г.

Need more instructions for beginners like me

автор: Sumithra S

27 июля 2022 г.

A bit too difficult for a beginners course

автор: Aravind S

31 июля 2020 г.

I am not able to find the unenroll option

автор: Dr. A A M

20 мая 2020 г.

The coding is too tough for beginners

автор: Youssef M A

16 янв. 2021 г.

Not really for Beginners at all !!

автор: AYMANE K

16 нояб. 2021 г.

The course is not for biggeners

автор: Akshita J

16 июля 2020 г.

its quite tough for beginners

автор: Menaka S

2 авг. 2022 г.

This course is a step above beginner, and more detailed explanations and defining why certain lines are code are used are needed to cater to actual beginners. Variables are suddenly introduced without any explanation, key words are casually mentioned without any context or definition supplied. You need to break this down if this is supposed to be for beginners.

Also, the pacing is weird. The first week you are given an actual week to complete the sections (6 in total with multiple parts in addition to learning 5 units of Python on Code Academy) plus a couple extra days with the quiz due. However, then the following "weeks" get shorter and shorter, despite requiring as much material as the first week to get through (and an addition of 3 units of Python on Code Academy) to the point that by Week 4, you only have 2 days to complete all the assignments, units, and quiz.

Finally, in regards to quizzes, it would be helpful to see the correct answers if you get questions wrong. Some questions, even after I passed the quiz, I had no idea why my answer was incorrect.

автор: Alexis W

6 июня 2021 г.

This course has you perform work through the Stepik platform, which then directs you to codeacademy to learn Python2. The content of Stepik is reasonable enough, but occasionally makes huge leaps in the coding and bio content that one is expected to know. However, the real problem for me was with the glitchiness of codeacademy. As someone with limited coding experience that is totally new to the Python language, I absolutely need this learning. However, I have reached an impassable point where even when using the website's given solution to 'get unstuck', I can't move forward even though both my code and the given code run and output as required! Multiple computer engineers and CS majors from my department have checked the solution, and just been baffled.

This course is a great idea, but is totally dysfunctional for new learners.

автор: Megan K

23 апр. 2021 г.

I think this is a fascinating topic, but NOT as advertised. I have studied computer science for two years and consider myself confident in coding for my level. However, this course is not for beginners. A very strong coding skillset is needed for this course. Also, the time commitment is very underestimated. I worked through around 30% of the Week 1 modules, which were supposed to take an estimated 4.5 hours total, and it took me around 3 hours. At this rate, I don't think I will be able to finish the class and retain the material. I would love a more basic approach to bioinformatics for those who can not commit 40 hours to this course.

автор: Zsuzsanna Z

30 апр. 2019 г.

You have to be very dedicated and have high frustration tolerance if you are actually a beginner in programming. This course expects you to complete the Codecademy Python Course in advance (which will take you several weeks) but it still won´t be enough to really keep up with the bioinformatics concepts that are introduced. Also, the explanations in the course itself are very, very rudimental, although the optional videos do a better job here.

All in all, I am glad I had the possibility for learning something new and I fought myself through the course but please don´t believe that it´s suitable for beginners.

автор: Rohit P

4 июня 2020 г.

Not one i would recommend to a beginner. I feel not so well by this course haha. It was tough, very tough for a biologist [ Primatologist/Zoologist ] like me but ofcourse i fought through & finished it. However, if any beginner wants to start this, i would recommend they learn Python atleast to the advanced level before approaching this course. That would make this fine. Also, the hours denoted to all weeks are not correct. Some weeks have 4 hours mentioned as the required time but those were the weeks that required me to put in 16+ hours. Cheers for the efforts to the team though.

Thanks!

автор: Daniel P

15 февр. 2020 г.

As a biologist without any programming skills, I found this course REALLY difficult. That was totally unexpected as the description of the course states that no programming skills are necessary. I thought really hard to learn the Python by resolving Codeacademy exercises while trying to implement the language to solve the book problems. In other words, I felt that the platforms used in this course were very disconnected. In my opinion, it would be easier to learn python by directly learning how to solve simple biological questions instead of complicate ones presented in the book.

автор: Graham

6 сент. 2017 г.

This course replies heavily (almost entirely) on codeacademy to teach the coding material. Unfortunately, the material chosen for this course does not line up with the courses supplied by codeacademy. If you want to follow the lesson plans as outlined here, you need to do multiple extra courses on codeacademy before you can reach the material discussed in the coursera lesson. As such, the estimated time for completion is drastically lower than the actual time to completion for people new to coding.