Chevron Left
Вернуться к Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.2
звезд
Оценки: 1,324
Рецензии: 402

О курсе

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Лучшие рецензии

DL

17 апр. 2016 г.

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ

14 апр. 2020 г.

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 403 отзывов о курсе Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

автор: Patrick V E

6 июня 2020 г.

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

автор: Ioanna B

4 авг. 2020 г.

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

автор: MacKenzie K

9 авг. 2017 г.

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

автор: Bellam D

6 мар. 2022 г.

very well explained, but needs prior knowledge on coding and bioinfomatics to understand easily. if you know some basics then its not too difficult to complete the course.

автор: sleimi w

16 июня 2020 г.

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

автор: Igor K

16 авг. 2016 г.

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

автор: Nelson C B

29 июня 2020 г.

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

автор: Greg T

28 окт. 2019 г.

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

автор: Amanda F

8 июля 2021 г.

Great course, easy to follow. However, if you are new to coding, this can be a headache. Otherwise, awesome material and the videos were very helpful!

автор: Kyle B

5 июня 2020 г.

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

автор: Abdullah D S

5 июня 2018 г.

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

автор: Rohan S

24 июля 2017 г.

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

автор: dong c

5 сент. 2017 г.

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

автор: Will V L P

18 янв. 2021 г.

Very technical.... I certainly would recommend this to someone with a prior experience in Biology. Regardless, very good course

автор: Caroline C

13 июня 2019 г.

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

автор: Mohamed A

4 янв. 2017 г.

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

автор: Afshin P

25 апр. 2017 г.

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

автор: Florent C

2 мар. 2020 г.

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

автор: Flávio H V d M

30 апр. 2021 г.

The course is very nice but very difficult at the same time. It is not a course for true beginners!!

автор: Surabhi D

4 июня 2016 г.

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.

автор: itay b

19 сент. 2016 г.

very interesting!, i liked the stepik interactive lesson very much, i prefer them over lectures

автор: bpathakjee

26 мар. 2017 г.

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

автор: Tarik A

20 авг. 2020 г.

Please add more video course and meaningful assignments instead of all readings. Thanks

автор: cristina g g

29 апр. 2018 г.

It doesnt seem for begginers in coding but still there is a lot of helpful information!

автор: SABARIKRISHNANBB R

1 янв. 2020 г.

Way more to be "digestible" to beginners in bioinformatics and non-computer students.