Chevron Left
Вернуться к Методы биоинформатики I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Методы биоинформатики I от партнера Торонтский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,289
Рецензии: 299

О курсе

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Лучшие рецензии

SA
11 июля 2020 г.

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED
26 апр. 2017 г.

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 293 отзывов о курсе Методы биоинформатики I

автор: Padma S

9 июля 2017 г.

A fully recommended course for those who wish to understand the basics and strengthen their skills in Bioinformatics. A well-designed and precise course. Thank you Dr. Nicholas Provart. :-)

автор: kim t c

11 сент. 2017 г.

The course is very useful and practical, especially the lab and the lab discussion. The materials are very clear explained. I would like to thank the instructor for such an useful course!

автор: Will R

19 янв. 2020 г.

Great tour through the main areas of bioinformatics. I learned to use a lot of powerful tools for bioinformatic analyses as well as important topics like phylogenetics and metagenomics.

автор: PRANAV S G

22 янв. 2019 г.

This course is so accurate and useful to the bioinformatic students and the science students who needs help with the computational biology. I would recommend this course to everyone.

автор: Ali

17 янв. 2020 г.

I think this course is the best introductory course in Bioinformatics. I liked the structure of the course and the instructor is performing very well. thank you for this experience

автор: Miguel Á P P

30 нояб. 2018 г.

Considero este curso de enorme utilidad para aprender de forma eficaz diversos aspectos de la bioinformática. Muy didáctico y bien organizado, por lo que lo recomiendo totalmente.

автор: Artur H B

23 апр. 2017 г.

I learned many concepts in molecular biology and also how to use some tools to run genetic data. I'm so thankful for the opportunity to have been engaged in this amazing course.

автор: Anjie L R E

3 окт. 2020 г.

This is course is very helpful to me. The learning material is so easy to follow and the concepts are well explained by the instructor. He is very responsive to answer queries.

автор: Shaurav B

27 сент. 2020 г.

The course content was very good and the arrangement of the course structure was very systematic. The delivery of the lecture and the videos were quite nice & understandable.

автор: Deleted A

31 янв. 2020 г.

Procedures are very well explained. Would be helpful to have some pipeline diagrams on the best way (software and breif methods) to solve a problem (e.g. for the assignment)

автор: Ahmed A

15 мая 2020 г.

Highly recommended for anyone who wants to get into research in Biology. This course gives walkthroughs of complex analysis by the use of important bioinformatics tools.

автор: Betti L

17 сент. 2015 г.

Excellent course! The course is enjoyable and thorough, and at the same time, it does not require any deeper molecular biology knowledge or extra computational skills.

автор: Yuvashankar

20 мая 2020 г.

A wonderful course highlighting the basic working of essential bioinformatics tools in biological research. Luck to have taken part in this and highly Recommended!!!!

автор: Jordan M

28 авг. 2015 г.

Great course. The lectures were very clear and informative. The labs were a very nice, easy way to get a hands on understanding of the tools being learned. Thank you!

автор: Arslan T

16 авг. 2018 г.

Well, the course is well organized, but I think somethings should be included e.g. algorithms of phylogenetic tree methods (UPGMA, Neighborjoing etc).

Thanks a lot.

автор: Eliot A

15 дек. 2019 г.

I found this challenging but very interesting and thought-provoking. A lot has happened since I did my undergraduate degree. This has inspired me to learn far more.

автор: Bhupender S

28 окт. 2016 г.

One of the basic and efficient enough to get familiar with the world of bioinformatics. Must for the ones who wants to excel deeper in the field of bioinformatics.

автор: NARAYANA S K

16 мая 2020 г.

Excellent teaching. Explanation before and after the laboratory was great help. Lab discussion after the lab really help us to solve if we have any dounts.

автор: Ofir S

28 сент. 2015 г.

One of the better courses I've taken, the combination of the hands-on labs and the review videos helps to understand some of the more complicated concepts.

автор: TCHANOU T R

27 мая 2020 г.

Very informative and straight to the point, the course master is a professional and the course was structured in a manner which facilitates assimilation

автор: AK

18 дек. 2017 г.

Interesting and course, covers the basis of all modern bioinformatics methods and the labs are interesting as well. Looking forward to doing part II now.

автор: MARIO C

17 июля 2020 г.

The best course I've attended on coursera, the Prof. Nick Provart is always available to answer your questions. I'm looking forward to start module 2.

автор: obasi r

18 июня 2020 г.

Wonderful course, wonderful experience, wonderful exposure and new skills learnt. A big thank you to the organisers and lecturers for putting this up.

автор: Romit B

3 июня 2020 г.

Very informative course, and Professor Nicholas has explained everything in such an easy manner, I had fun doing this course and also learned a lot

автор: Ravindra K

8 янв. 2019 г.

A lot of hard work is needed to prepare such kind of courses and lot of reading is required.

Thank you for providing such courses to us thank you