Chevron Left
Вернуться к Методы биоинформатики I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Методы биоинформатики I от партнера Торонтский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,419
Рецензии: 330

О курсе

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2021....

Лучшие рецензии

SA
11 июля 2020 г.

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED
26 апр. 2017 г.

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 321 отзывов о курсе Методы биоинформатики I

автор: NARAYANA S K

16 мая 2020 г.

Excellent teaching. Explanation before and after the laboratory was great help. Lab discussion after the lab really help us to solve if we have any dounts.

автор: Ofir S

28 сент. 2015 г.

One of the better courses I've taken, the combination of the hands-on labs and the review videos helps to understand some of the more complicated concepts.

автор: rodolph t

27 мая 2020 г.

Very informative and straight to the point, the course master is a professional and the course was structured in a manner which facilitates assimilation

автор: A K

18 дек. 2017 г.

Interesting and course, covers the basis of all modern bioinformatics methods and the labs are interesting as well. Looking forward to doing part II now.

автор: MARIO C

17 июля 2020 г.

The best course I've attended on coursera, the Prof. Nick Provart is always available to answer your questions. I'm looking forward to start module 2.

автор: obasi r

18 июня 2020 г.

Wonderful course, wonderful experience, wonderful exposure and new skills learnt. A big thank you to the organisers and lecturers for putting this up.

автор: Romit B

3 июня 2020 г.

Very informative course, and Professor Nicholas has explained everything in such an easy manner, I had fun doing this course and also learned a lot

автор: Ravindra K

8 янв. 2019 г.

A lot of hard work is needed to prepare such kind of courses and lot of reading is required.

Thank you for providing such courses to us thank you

автор: Fredy L V

29 июня 2020 г.

This was a high quality course with well organized information. I enyojed it, I am excited to apply all in my career. Thank you for sharing it

автор: Saruar A

1 дек. 2017 г.

Thank you so much dear professor Provart , really this course was enjoyable and It helped me a lot to develop my foundation in bioinformatics.

автор: Manal A

22 июня 2020 г.

A very informative course and it was fun going through all the softwares. I got to learn many basic skills of bioinformatics in a simple way.

автор: Ji-Young K

2 окт. 2016 г.

Awesome course. The lectures are good and the lab portion is great. The lab really helps understanding how to use online tools and resources.

автор: SHARON K

19 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course for beginners. I have lot of experiments that now I can use it in my research. Very simply explained and interesting labs.

автор: Lerry D P S

25 мая 2020 г.

It is awesome! I got a new knowledge in bioinformatic. I recommended this course for everyone just for to know the basic. Just explore it.

автор: Dr. S S

18 июня 2021 г.

Excellent course with good assignments for learning, I loved the hands on training to use various websites and tools for data analysis.

автор: Sara L O

6 июля 2020 г.

I truly recommend this course because in the labs you can practice all the theory you have learn and I really like the methodology .

автор: Nicholas Y

19 мар. 2020 г.

Excellent course to explore the basics and fundamentals for multiple bioinformatics data type analysis. Great job still updating it.

автор: Gonzalo V M

26 окт. 2019 г.

El curso me parecio bastante bueno, se entendió la mayoría de los conceptos, es un buen curso para introducirse en la bioinformatica

автор: D S

13 янв. 2016 г.

Good campaign for abolishing illiteracy.

It would be good to update answers for the final quiz (BLAST search and phylogenetic assay).

автор: Mohamed A E S S

4 апр. 2019 г.

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels

автор: Shamsunnahar M

17 сент. 2019 г.

I had a very basic knowledge but this course help me to understand the use of all parameters and what is the objective for this.

автор: Anuj S

17 янв. 2021 г.

This course is very helpful in related to providing basic knowledge about the topic and that is best thing about this course.

автор: Sael M A

5 дек. 2017 г.

Great course fro beginners, highly recommended for people who are going to have some bioinformatic aspects in their projects.

автор: Vitor I

5 янв. 2021 г.

Nicholas Provart is a great instructor!

This course was very useful. I'll highly recommend other students to take this course

автор: Wambui K

14 нояб. 2018 г.

The course was excellent. The labs give a practical feel of what Bioinformatics is. Great work. Looking forward to Part II.