Chevron Left
Вернуться к Big History: Connecting Knowledge

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Big History: Connecting Knowledge от партнера Университет Маккуори

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,403
Рецензии: 389

О курсе

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

Лучшие рецензии

SA
1 июля 2020 г.

I absolutely LOVED Big History! It's so interesting and insightful!! I highly recommend everyone to take this course, you will learn a lot about the world! Thank you Professor Christian and Baker!! :)

BG
6 янв. 2016 г.

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 383 отзывов о курсе Big History: Connecting Knowledge

автор: Pranav C

18 мая 2020 г.

i was very curious about how all its start and i really want to learn and study about it. and look what i got this course. and get my first first bunch of knowledge about all of this. the course was too good. i really got lot of knowledge. and in a very simple manner, the language was very easy to understand i just loved it. and thank you for such knowledgeable course.

автор: Bernie N

10 июня 2016 г.

Excellent course in integrating all the 'ologies' that give insight into how it all came together from the Big Bang to the development of life to a vision of the future landscape of human existence.

Excellent presenters, the right level of subject matter content and an exceptional level of production quality.

A great job done by the entire staff and much appreciated.

автор: Richelle N E

15 мар. 2016 г.

Very nice! I like the variation and the montages of the video lectures very much. The variety really kept me enticed and paying attention throughout everything. This course would also be a perfect self-paced course. Interesting subject matter as well! Very important for everyone, to get a sense of where we are and where our lives fit into the bigger picture.

автор: marcus

11 дек. 2019 г.

I am amazed at the level of informative information that can truly be embedded into the human mind in the span of six weeks. From human history that covers the critical points in society from geology, philosophy and history, to the birth of the universe and the creation of life, big history will give it to you all, making your mind prepared for the future.

автор: David V G

3 дек. 2016 г.

Enjoying all of it. Actually in process of going through it a second time. So much information is made available every week, that I am finding and learning new things the second time through. The variety of instructors and information sources is appreciated. Thank you for putting such a extensive course together and making it available for all.

автор: Vladimir

27 июня 2017 г.

Absolutely amazing course!

It's not only fun and intense, but a coherent story with facts conveyed in most interesting way. Allows to have a view of a BIG picture and even scale the view to a more local periods.

Thank you Creators! That is a great Journey! Thanks!

This is the rare course to return enjoy later again. And somehow, I'm sure I will.

автор: Gregory H

12 июня 2018 г.

Very good overview of the history of the universe. Provided an amazing "big picture" helping me to organize other courses I have taken that focused on specific eras in history. For example, where do dinosaurs fit in relative to mammals or plants. It makes it much easier to study the details of shorter historical periods. Highly recommended.

автор: Soma B

9 мар. 2016 г.

This is a wonderful and absolutely mind-boggling course. I am so glad I got this opportunity to take this course and be introduced to this topic. The range of topics covered are diverse and they make you think of how it all began, your past, present and future. I will like to thank all the professors and contributors who made this course.

автор: Ardra R

14 июня 2020 г.

It was really a new platform and experience for me to earn some knowledge regarding the big bang history to modernity. The evaluation methods you have used was really unique and novel. The assignment, quiz and the claim testers were quite interesting to be done. Thanks for the resourceful sessions. Really contentful and inspirational.

автор: Vennela V

29 нояб. 2020 г.

This is a beautiful course; everything I could have asked for in a transdisciplinary course. I was constantly dazed by the knowledge the experts were imparting, David Baker's simple way of putting things was also very impressive. I am very thankful to Prof. David Christian for being the pioneer of such a magnificent course.

автор: Mihkel H

23 февр. 2017 г.

A great way to get an overview of one's place in this world by understanding the whole history of the universe before and after humans. The multitude of sciences touched upon during the course made me research on the topics discussed more thoroughly. The teachers are good, the intro music is a wee bit too intense

автор: Jan G

25 июня 2020 г.

A very interesting course which draws from many different disciplines as they relate to our world history from the beginning of time. Very enthusiastic and engaging teachers, the graphics and videos are excellent. The accompanying references contain some resource gems I will enjoy referring to in the future.

автор: Emmanuella P

13 апр. 2020 г.

I love how this course blended so many disciplines and their knowledge. The big picture painted in Big History is essential in the current confusing days. We need to realize all this collectively so we can move towards a brighter future. Not this greedy, selfish, ignorant way we seem to mostly be leading.

автор: Manojkumar P S

14 мая 2020 г.

As a student of History, the course on Big History: Connecting Knowledge gave me fresh insights regarding the sources we can use while learning, writing and engaging with History. I am indebted for the team for taking me to fresh arenas of historical researches and conceptualizations. Thank You.

автор: Gabriella

17 янв. 2016 г.

A well-taught, mind-expanding, perspective-altering course. Everything is presented in an interesting and understandable way, even complex topics such as cosmology and chemistry. I can't rate the Big History course highly enough - it has inspired me so much and I can't wait to keep learning.

автор: Ella K

28 нояб. 2015 г.

Incredible course in every way: Highly competent lecturers, excellent video quality in both content and production, great pacing and delivery of information and dozens of links to engaging resource material.

One of the best MOOCs I have ever participated in: fun, informative and intriguing!

автор: Kseniia K

6 мая 2020 г.

Amazing course that ties together various concepts and sciences to provide a holistic approach to the understanding of our Universe. Perfect for general knowledge and improving transdisciplinary skills. Special thanks to the Pr. David Christian - one of the best lecturers on Coursera!

автор: Hassan H

21 сент. 2016 г.

Such an amazing experience for me.

I have always loved history and appreciated the sciences. This is the first I get exposed to the concpt of both being part of a bigger thing.

Big History has connected the dots between the different academic fields. Totally recommend it to all humans.

автор: Joey S

9 июля 2019 г.

This course taught me a new appreciation for the natural sciences by grounding them in a fascinating, evidence-based narrative. Anyone with a naturally historical mind who wishes to gain a fuller understanding and appreciation of science will have their life changed by Big History.

автор: Mel F

13 февр. 2018 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, I have always been interested i the "Big Picture" of history and the Universe and this course fit the bill. Easy to understand and very well done. My sincere thanks to the teachers that put their time and effort into making this course great!

автор: Clifford L B

16 июля 2016 г.

this course combines theories and ideas from many different disciplines to produce a coherent picture of the world we live in today. The picture does appear to match the real world far better than what we see when just using a single discipline. It is joined up thinking

автор: madeleine d

11 апр. 2016 г.

Riveting lectures. Weaves knowledge from astronomy, physics, chemistry, economics, anthropology, genetics, geology, etc. into history. Enthusiastic presenters, unique assembly of knowledge, comprehensive coverage, entertaining and informative. Highly recommended.

автор: Paul S

11 янв. 2016 г.

A very interesting and broad introduction to a new and exciting form of interdisciplinary form of history, that gives a wide perspective on a big range of sciences from biology and cosmology, to social and historical sciences. Would easily recommend for everyone.

автор: Matej A B

7 июля 2020 г.

This course exceeded my expectations. It didn't only grasp the topic of history, but also geology, astrophysics and much more. I don't see a reason why someone would not want to take this course, it will generate interesting thoughts beyond today's society.

автор: S M N H J

13 сент. 2017 г.

It's an amazing course. I took this course on account of curiosity. It change my whole way thinking about world. I learned so much and most importantly I learned how different subjects helped to change the world. I think everyone should take this course.