Chevron Left
Вернуться к Big History: Connecting Knowledge

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Big History: Connecting Knowledge от партнера Университет Маккуори

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,375
Рецензии: 381

О курсе

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

Лучшие рецензии

SA

Jul 02, 2020

I absolutely LOVED Big History! It's so interesting and insightful!! I highly recommend everyone to take this course, you will learn a lot about the world! Thank you Professor Christian and Baker!! :)

BG

Jan 07, 2016

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 377 отзывов о курсе Big History: Connecting Knowledge

автор: David D

Sep 21, 2016

Totally enjoyable. The videos are professional, varied and so informative. Comparing the quiz to some others , I found they were better formulated and less ambiguous.

Personally I feel I learned an amazing amount in a short time span and bother the content and pace were stimulating! so bravo!

This is the type of general knowledge everyone should have but probably 90 % only have a rough, inaccurate or no awareness whatsoever. This could be run even at the school level, it could stimulate future scientists.

автор: Bill G

Jan 07, 2016

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

автор: Tae S K

Jul 22, 2020

There are too many dead links. The course needs to be reviewed and updated.

автор: Bill T

Aug 23, 2016

With a grand title and grand introduction, I found the course very superficial and gained little additional insight form "Big History".

автор: Cristian M

Jun 14, 2020

The Big history story seems fascinating, as it provides a good summary of our current understanding about our origins – how were the stars and planets formed, and how did life on earth emerged – and gives us clues about the future evolution of humanity, and the future of life as we know it. It was interesting to learn about the role of transdisciplinarity in this story, and to think seriously on possible future scenarios of how the universe, stars, and life on earth will evolve, acknowledging at the same time that this approach still has many holes, as there are a lot of things that we don't understand. For example, we don't understand why the Big Bang happened? Or what is dark matter and dark energy, which together constitute more than 90% of all matter in the universe. This implies that the search for a better understanding of how to cope with the challenges we will face in the future will continue, challenges which become much more obvious in our post Covid19 world.

автор: Shon O

Jun 11, 2020

This was my first online course and an amazing experience for me. As a linguist who teaches History of the English Language and history of the English-speaking countries I have got many fresh ideas for my lectures as well as interpreting my knowledge. One of them is introducing claim testers as means of developing critical thinking. I really discovered many things for myself. Had to revise my knowledge of physics and chemistry but I love the challenge! I express my gratitude to the creators of the course, the lecturers, the presenters and my fellow students who appreciated my efforts of writing my essay. The course is fantastic, well-structured, informative and challenging and I should say, essential for understanding our past, present and future. I highly recommend it.

автор: Norma G L A

Sep 01, 2020

In this course “Big History, connecting knowedge”, I became aware of learning reflection and the importance to be active in learning, in my personal search ,that make sense to give my live to my grandchildren, to my family, to my city,to our environment, our world, because we all are connected in a historical continuum, thus it is full of meaning and love to our Creator who made the stars, the Universe and my self 13.8 billion years ago, about Big Bang.

I also find from this course that we are star stuff, about the memories of my mother 91 years old some days before she died, she said- Lord Jesus told me when I die I will become a star-. Thank You to all the researchers, all professor all my classmates, also to Lucy in the Sky, makes me cry.

автор: Mark P

May 30, 2020

Big History: Connecting Knowledge is a fantastic course. Big History should be a required component of the modern education program. It offers a big perspective of past events and promotes and understanding and appreciation of the various fields of knowledge that help us understand the world around us. In light of the near-future challenges facing our world, this course has arrived just in time. It offers a valuable tool for understanding world education and culture. I am delighted that Dr. David Christian lead the wonderful team of teachers for this class. And of course, John and Hank Green were a special treat. Many thanks to Coursera - one of the great things to come from the internet.

автор: julika b

Sep 15, 2020

The most fun and challenge I have had with a subject in years. I am an eclectic thinker and this course provided me with the means, through critical thinking and exploring different sources, to gain a perspective that I do believe is life changing. I have entered a paradigm shift in my understanding of mankind's place in the universe and our collective responsibilities to the next generation. It is not platitudes to talk about caring for the earth and each other, it is a grave responsibility. We have come to far to mess this up. Thank you.

автор: F M

Sep 30, 2020

As having completed the Big History course, I learned from our world history starting 13.8 billion years ago. What a journey we have achieved, it’s impressive how complexity has emerged from the last billions of years. Now I have learned about our cosmic and human revolution. To emerge new things, we should take a look in the past. If you want to learn about this wonderful story, I highly recommend you doing this course. Believe me, you won’t regret it. Thank you very much Christian and Baker for creating this amazing course!

автор: Taryn W

Feb 27, 2016

This course is blowing my mind (in a good way). It has been a long time since I've felt the wonder of the world (and universe) of which I am a part. In addition, this course is expanding the language with which I can talk about and understand my environments (new and old). The information is well-organised and concise and the resources are a good blend of academic, creative, informative and fun and the lecturers are knowledgable and passionate. I hope this field floods the world's places of education.

автор: Armand V N

Sep 27, 2016

The discovery of David Christians approach, first by reading his "Maps of Time" and listening to some of his presentations on-line, then by attending this course was an eye-opener to me. I now try to explain the importance of the subject to as many people as I can. Not only adults or university students, but mid-level students as well deserve to be exposed to the view of Big History, It changes one's perceptions of the past and enhances one's apprehensions of the future.

автор: Terezinha M M

Oct 19, 2017

Este é o meu primeiro curso e gostei demais. Tive dificuldades porque não sou fluente em inglês. Para compreender a matéria, tive que traduzir tudo, mesmo assim valeu a pena. Por não saber, deixei de participar do forum, o que teria me ajudado ainda mais. Acredito que a troca de conhecimento ajuda muito os alunos a compreenderem e participarem dos cursos. O curso também cumpre uma metodologia que faz o aluno pensar, ao invés de oferecer respostas prontas. Muito bom!

автор: Carlos A P

Jul 27, 2016

The high quality of videos and content makes this course an outstanding, fantastic and entertainment MOOC course for everyone who wish to learn the big history that is hidding in the Universe. Thanks coursera and macquare University for let us access to this beatiful show of altruism and openness, both of you deserve not only a big five star but a great standing applasue. Congratulations great course.

All my best Coursera community,

Carlos Arturo Pimentel.

автор: Alice Z

Nov 22, 2015

They speak clearly, allowing differences of opinions without insulting beliefs, break each segment into the components parts and giving current information on each so that a student has sufficient information to decide - and enjoy the 'claim tests'.

I have taken coursera courses in each of the segments as well as having higher ed in some that are nice to get up-to-date - and all in one place - to begin to see what Alex Humboldt called the web of the world.

автор: Shubham B G

Feb 27, 2020

Great course because it provides critical thinking skills and broadens my understanding of past and current scientific theories. More importantly, it changed my perspective and approach to my life and studies. I am now more open-minded to new and challenging study/literal/life skills and concepts that I would not attempt before. I have become more confident within myself to accept challenging decisions and approach everything with a clear and open mind.

автор: Laura T

Jan 18, 2016

It was such a fascinating journey through time, knowledge, within myself and into the universe! I loved every moment of it and now I am touched because it's over. Nevertheless, I know Big History is in me, just as I am part of It (as small as, and apparently, insignificant one may seem) and I am full of gratitude towards the entire warm-hearted, generous, intelligent, very highly skilled and talented Big History team. Thank you very much indeed!

автор: Britty R T

Aug 11, 2020

Big History: Connecting Knowledge is an excellent course offered by coursera. The topic itself is an outstanding one which connects the history of universe, stars, planets, and mankind, by linking different disciplines. Special appreciation to the lectures, especially the chief instructor Professor David Christian and associate lecturer David Baker for providing this excellent topic in a simple and effective manner. Thanks to the entire team.

автор: Grace V

Sep 26, 2017

Intellectually thought provoking, as well as socially enlightening for all levels of understanding of the world. Highly recommend for high school students who are interested in expanding their prior, more narrow perception on history. It's interdisciplinary methodology allows for a significant increase in appreciation for how science, history and teleological studies interrelate, while the course is also still enjoyable.

автор: Robert S

May 09, 2017

Excellent course! This is a thorough presentation of a difficult subject with experts in the various fields explaining how their field (area of expertise) connects with or is dependent on other fields. Prior to this course I thought of history more in terms of written or archeological evidence. This course included astronomy, chemistry, biology, geology and other fields I would not ordinarily think of as history.

автор: Cynthia K

Apr 06, 2016

Wonderful course. The resources are very useful - I spend more time going through those, than watching the videos. The timelines and glossaries are very helpful. Everything is very well done. It's also interesting to have the variety of instructors with different backgrounds. If I'd had a course like this when I was in high school or college, I might have become a geologist. Fascinating stuff.

автор: Yazan B

Dec 18, 2019

"Big History: connecting knowledge" was my first online course to do, and you know that the first time is always specials, and honestly it significantly improved my point of view toward the universe, and without noticing after you completing the course you will see how you will get used to critical thinking, I real appreciate this work by Macquarie university and hoping to meet again in the future.

автор: Jess. H

Sep 21, 2019

This is a pretty though provoking course. It allows me to learn about history from a general view. My biggest gain from this course if understanding that everything, including lifes, or even the universe, will at some point come to an end. The course sort of forces me to face this reality, therefore make me think about how I'm going to do with the rest year of my life before it comes to the end.

автор: Pranav C

May 18, 2020

i was very curious about how all its start and i really want to learn and study about it. and look what i got this course. and get my first first bunch of knowledge about all of this. the course was too good. i really got lot of knowledge. and in a very simple manner, the language was very easy to understand i just loved it. and thank you for such knowledgeable course.

автор: Bernie N

Jun 10, 2016

Excellent course in integrating all the 'ologies' that give insight into how it all came together from the Big Bang to the development of life to a vision of the future landscape of human existence.

Excellent presenters, the right level of subject matter content and an exceptional level of production quality.

A great job done by the entire staff and much appreciated.