Chevron Left
Вернуться к Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Big Data Modeling and Management Systems от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 2,757
Рецензии: 458

О курсе

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Лучшие рецензии

MP
16 окт. 2017 г.

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
27 мар. 2017 г.

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 448 отзывов о курсе Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

автор: James w

8 мая 2019 г.

I feel as though the assessment questions could have been more specific and the assessment criteria when marking could have been more precise. But other than that it was a great course.

автор: Mohammad M

30 сент. 2019 г.

Big Data modeling is important consideration while designing big data solution. Most of other online courses lacks this module. Thanks to coursera for bringing this course. Five star.

автор: Ankit C

24 мар. 2020 г.

It's a good course to get an overview of different technologies that are out there. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to build a foundation for big data.

автор: Oguzhan B

6 окт. 2020 г.

After the first course, I both refreshed and improved my knowledge. Thank you very much for bringing this course together with many examples, tutorials and a great narration.

автор: Routhana L

10 апр. 2019 г.

As a undergraduate data analytics student, this course was an enlightening experience that complemented my more theoretical, less-applicational on campus course very well.

автор: Saju T M

13 апр. 2020 г.

Gives us a very good understanding on Big data modeling and various data models like Graph Data model, Vector Space model (TF-IDF), Vertica, AsterixDB, Aerospike etc.

автор: Luis R G

4 дек. 2019 г.

Great course to learn and also practice how data can be visualized and how to model data, formats and how important is to choose appropriate data format and model

автор: Arindam B

13 мар. 2018 г.

Very well defined course curriculum and easy to follow.

All the different aspects of big data modeling has been well discussed and presented with examples.

автор: André G P

7 нояб. 2018 г.

The course presents a conceptual basis behind each of the tools demonstrated. It is important to know the best options when designing a project.

автор: Gowri A

30 сент. 2020 г.

The delay of completion of course was due to do no review submission otherwise the course would have got completed as per the stipulated time.

автор: Antony C

5 апр. 2018 г.

A good presentation of available technologies around Big Data Modelling, theory and technical skills that are used in this scientific field.

автор: Hector L

29 сент. 2016 г.

Great introduction to management systems. I would have more hands on exercises for the final week, but it was a great course overall.

автор: Syed M Z H

10 апр. 2018 г.

Great course! As described in the course info, the course didn't cover Neo4j, Impala, SparkSQL, is it covered in some other course?

автор: Shivam T

12 июня 2020 г.

Great course for introducing Big Data management systems and processing them, would suggest doing this before going to next course

автор: Jamiil T A

25 сент. 2018 г.

An interesting course on BDMS and DBMS you will real learn more about the velocity and volume aspect of the big data. Good luck !

автор: Aliasgher N

21 янв. 2018 г.

While it was difficult than the intro course, I mean 9 mins video are too long for me but I really gained a lot of knoeledge

автор: Akshay V

17 июля 2017 г.

The Course was Awesome. It enhanced and enriched my knowledge and was overall fruitful in learning the nuances of Big Data.

автор: Panagiotis T

16 янв. 2019 г.

Very useful, although some concepts (especially week 5) are a bit condensed and hard to remember without further practice.

автор: Darius T

31 дек. 2017 г.

Course gave a lot of useful information about data modeling. However the peer graded assignment was a bit dissapointment.

автор: Jamal A

16 апр. 2017 г.

In this great course the instructors cover a broad range of topics related to big data models that is perfectly designed.

автор: Hector d J G C

22 окт. 2016 г.

it was a little too slow but is ok, specially with beginners as me.it can be a little bit more interactive or didactical.

автор: Tcheutchoua S

19 мая 2019 г.

This is wonderful course that explains that provides insight in to Management systems and how big data can be leveraged.

автор: Esteban E C

29 нояб. 2018 г.

I learnt a lot of things with this course, It doesn't matter we are at 2018, stills pretty asertive with the topics. :)

автор: Anjali P

16 мая 2020 г.

Nicely written, can add few more details or one example how it actually works instead of directly giving assignment

автор: Luciano

5 сент. 2018 г.

This course is amazing!!! is helping me a lot in deepening my knowledge in data modeling and data architecture.