Chevron Left
Вернуться к Байесовская статистика

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Байесовская статистика от партнера Университет Дьюка

3.8
звезд
Оценки: 640
Рецензии: 199

О курсе

This course describes Bayesian statistics, in which one's inferences about parameters or hypotheses are updated as evidence accumulates. You will learn to use Bayes’ rule to transform prior probabilities into posterior probabilities, and be introduced to the underlying theory and perspective of the Bayesian paradigm. The course will apply Bayesian methods to several practical problems, to show end-to-end Bayesian analyses that move from framing the question to building models to eliciting prior probabilities to implementing in R (free statistical software) the final posterior distribution. Additionally, the course will introduce credible regions, Bayesian comparisons of means and proportions, Bayesian regression and inference using multiple models, and discussion of Bayesian prediction. We assume learners in this course have background knowledge equivalent to what is covered in the earlier three courses in this specialization: "Introduction to Probability and Data," "Inferential Statistics," and "Linear Regression and Modeling."...

Лучшие рецензии

RR

Sep 21, 2017

Great course. Difficult to apprehend sometimes as the Frequentist paradigm is learned first but once you get it, it is really amazing to see the believe update in action with data.

GH

Apr 10, 2018

I like this course a lot. Explanations are clear and much of the (unnecessarily heavyweight) maths is glossed over. I particularly liked the sections on Bayesian model selection.

Фильтр по:

176–193 из 193 отзывов о курсе Байесовская статистика

автор: Eszter A

Sep 13, 2016

This course needs much more work from instructors before it gets offered to the public. It is poorly assembled, offers hardly comprehensible material with no or very few resources to turn to. Reading material is listed, but they are useful for people already skilled in Bayesian Statistics. Exercises are worded such, that even the questions are a challenge to understand. Quizzes contain material never mentioned during lessons. Discussion forums are left unanswered by the teaching staff - or if they reply, they do it in a very negligent manner. No support on the merits. A major disappointment.

автор: Graham G

Oct 01, 2019

This course is awful, especially compared with the rest of the courses in the specialization. I had to read an entire Bayesian statistics text book in order to understand this area, and this courses still made little sense. This specialization is supposed to be for beginners and yet this course gets into intense mathematical notation with no preparation or guidance. I have somewhat of a math background, and this course was not only extremely difficult to finish, I don't feel like I really learned much of anything at the end. This course needs to be redesigned from the ground up.

автор: Marina C R

Jul 31, 2017

Unlike the first 3 courses of this specialization, which were excellent, this one is not recommendable at all. As many other students have reported, the teaching material is not enough neither to understand the subject nor to do the graded material. I am really disappointed because the problem seems to come at least 4 months ago but the teacher (which by the way is far to be as good as Mine) has not replied. Instead, mentors have suggested to use the forums to make questions but it is neither affordable nor acceptable.

автор: Renat M

Sep 08, 2017

The course is too sketchy: it does not provide enough materials to grasp the main ideas of Bayesian Statistics nor it gives any details about some formulas and important principles.

This course does not have a book to follow along as the previous courses had (statistics).

I had to spend more than 2 months to be able to understand all the concepts that this course was trying to teach. In this sense watching Youtube videos and reading papers was much more helpful than the entire course itself.

автор: Cindy C

Feb 05, 2017

This class assumes a lot of statistical knowledge and background that is not covered in the first three classes of the series. So much statistical terminology and jargon was used by the instructor, it felt like taking a class in another language where I had to constantly stop the video and google for the terminology she used. It took a lot of grit to finish the class, which was overall a very demoralizing and negative experience.

автор: Ilya P

Sep 13, 2017

While the first 3 courses had ample examples, guided practices, and other tools to learn, this course does not. Quizzes do not have good explanations, and videos do not have guided practice. There is no book to follow, hence, learning the material is difficult.

Instructors need to rework the course to include books, guided practices, and guided R examples in order to aid comprehension.

автор: Ben R

Apr 08, 2018

A frustrating course, especially when compared to the other courses in this specialization. Lectures alternated between over my head and not giving enough information. Projects seemed designed for someone with a better grasp of R. I will probably look for another course on Bayesian statistics, because I feel my grasp of these concepts is still weak.

автор: Andrew O

Aug 11, 2017

The change of instructors negatively affected this class. The new instructors are nowhere near as good at explaining the data and tending to start talking about things without even explaining what they where to to use a lot of activations, which one would need to continually look up.

автор: Naren T

Dec 26, 2019

Very poor explanation in week 3, the new professor is not explaining the definitions or the use of them properly. Too many jargons.

Professor doesnt explain the use of prior predictive distribution and just introduces the formula without any consideration for explanation

автор: QIAN Y

Jul 29, 2016

The course lacks of explanation and it's very difficult to follow. It seems that the instructor just reads the slides without reasoning and explanation. Suggested reading materials are needed.

автор: Vishnu

Jun 30, 2019

A huge leap from the other courses in the specialization, which are all extremely well-constructed. Terms are not introduced and explained properly, and the whole course seems very haphazard.

автор: Cosma A

Feb 15, 2018

1St problem speed of teaching, also other students complained

2With such a speed, material was too condensed for such a broad subject

3Not sufficient explanations for a statistics beginner

автор: Tom D

Aug 05, 2016

This course is not well-presented. Lectures are unimaginative, and there isn't enough supporting material or readings.

автор: Paul J

Jul 02, 2017

Quizzes are not related to videos. There is very limited practice problems (the best way to learn math subjects).

автор: Chen Z

Oct 26, 2016

I get really frustrated when the tutor doesn't explain lots of concept/symbols in the materials.....

автор: Ashish C

Aug 29, 2019

The quality of teaching was drastically down as compared to other courses.

автор: Jeffrey W

Jun 03, 2018

Unclear information, too vague, incomplete presentation of ideas.

автор: SHUBHAM J

Sep 15, 2019

becomes too much confusing at times.