Chevron Left
Вернуться к Байесовская статистика

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Байесовская статистика от партнера Университет Дьюка

3.8
звезд
Оценки: 763
Рецензии: 247

О курсе

This course describes Bayesian statistics, in which one's inferences about parameters or hypotheses are updated as evidence accumulates. You will learn to use Bayes’ rule to transform prior probabilities into posterior probabilities, and be introduced to the underlying theory and perspective of the Bayesian paradigm. The course will apply Bayesian methods to several practical problems, to show end-to-end Bayesian analyses that move from framing the question to building models to eliciting prior probabilities to implementing in R (free statistical software) the final posterior distribution. Additionally, the course will introduce credible regions, Bayesian comparisons of means and proportions, Bayesian regression and inference using multiple models, and discussion of Bayesian prediction. We assume learners in this course have background knowledge equivalent to what is covered in the earlier three courses in this specialization: "Introduction to Probability and Data," "Inferential Statistics," and "Linear Regression and Modeling."...

Лучшие рецензии

RR
20 сент. 2017 г.

Great course. Difficult to apprehend sometimes as the Frequentist paradigm is learned first but once you get it, it is really amazing to see the believe update in action with data.

GH
9 апр. 2018 г.

I like this course a lot. Explanations are clear and much of the (unnecessarily heavyweight) maths is glossed over. I particularly liked the sections on Bayesian model selection.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 240 отзывов о курсе Байесовская статистика

автор: Byeong-eok K

31 июля 2017 г.

Good

автор: Sanan I

4 июня 2020 г.

.

автор: Whitchurch R

26 мая 2020 г.

This is a good course. However, inorder to understand what the Professors are saying. I had to take a prelim course, to learn the vocabulary , as well as basic baysean concepts before attempting this course again. The course needs a certain level of accepting concepts in an abstract sense, and not being detail oriented while listening to the lectures, to gain understanding of the content. Also one needs to watch the videos again and again at a reduced speed to grasp what the professors say. This is certainly not an easy course, but the rewards are worth it. Once the student crosses a threshold of knowledge barrier. All in all this course has good content, without getting too caught up in the Math. I have not found better courses than this for Baysean Statistics.

автор: Maurits v d M

22 авг. 2016 г.

I had a lot of fun during this course, but I think it is simply too short to present all the topics in sufficient detail. Furthermore, I took this course without doing the prior courses in the specialization, and there were a couple of moments when I really thought previous knowledge from a different course was required.

I think for the most part the lecturers did a great job in explaining the materials in the course. The lectures themselves were also well structured, and the topics followed each other in a logical order. I would have loved to spend more time on modeling techniques and Markov Chain Monte Carlo.

автор: Pouya Z

26 сент. 2019 г.

The course was great and really informative. Particularly, it was interesting to get to work with BAS and statr packages that were developed, essentially, by the instructors. I, however, think that from decision loss functions onward, the course suddenly became way more complex. The normal conjugate families were not discussed on the previous lab, and I believe deserve to be emphasized with an example before heading to regression and reference priors. However, the notes were quite helpful. All and all, it was a great course.

автор: Ravichandran V

6 авг. 2019 г.

Its really hard for me to follow this specific course, its as if I am reading a summary of a novel rather than a novel, ideally this course should be broken into two courses and made into two five week courses. I may need to take additional courses or read some books to get a clear understanding.

In the previous three courses the open stats book helped a lot, however, the online content for this course is difficult to follow as well.

автор: Bram M

25 авг. 2020 г.

Great course, with good examples of how Bayesian stats work. It is incredibly difficult to follow, however, and would benefit from a more elaborate discussion of methodology (e.g. how (conjugate) priors are chosen, how to report results, etc). It currently is one long list of formulae, formulae, and formulae

автор: Uira d M

3 июля 2019 г.

The course is well structured but the span of topics is large and the complexity great. Maybe an extended version with more explanations and demonstrations of the equations would be better for understanding the whole concept of bayesian statistics, specially inference.

автор: De'Varus M

14 февр. 2019 г.

Though this section in the specialization is a little more difficult than the other sections. The supplemental material provided is helpful in navigating through the course. I will continue to read through this material to further my understanding of the material.

автор: Francisco M

9 нояб. 2019 г.

The course is very interesting, but the jump from the previous course is too large. From calculating probabilities by hand and understanding the odds involved, to integrate distributions is too abrupt and not explained in detail.

автор: Janio A M

9 авг. 2018 г.

Its a tough course however, I will just suggest to focus more on the practical side of things after doing all the theory. I really enjoyed course 4 where the professor used "R" to compare different models using the crime dataset.

автор: zhaokai

16 авг. 2016 г.

I hope we can have access to the slides, and this can save attendees a lot of time, because I think after we finished watching the video we can skip relevant slides when we come across problems in doing exercise.

автор: Mark F C

21 июня 2018 г.

It was a good course, though I would include more coursework and exercises in R to assist with comprehending a difficult subject. Overall, good course for something that's difficult to teach.

автор: Kian B

29 июля 2016 г.

The section about Beta-Binomial Conjugate is taught very fast and unless the student is quite familiar with Beta and Gamma distributions, it makes it very difficult to follow the course.

автор: JeaSung P

18 июля 2017 г.

This is one of many good courses that one can get a glimpse of Bayesian statistics though it lacks of thorough explanation of mathematical background and reading materials of any kind.

автор: José L E N

3 янв. 2017 г.

Theis course is substantially more difficult than the three first ones, and the material is scarce. However, I must admit that this is one of the courses I have ever learnt the most

автор: Stanley R C

29 янв. 2018 г.

The instructors have great expertise, but this course is pretty difficult for a Bayesian newbie. Additional study guides would be helpful (especially week 4).

автор: Lalu P L

2 июня 2019 г.

The course could have been more comprehensive and less verbose. It had so much content in a tiny course. Content should be less and more comprehensive.

автор: Malolan S

10 сент. 2019 г.

A bit more depth in explaining conjugacy in priors and posteriors will be very helpful. A possible way would be to have more example illustrations.

автор: Ángela D C

12 июня 2018 г.

Week 3 was too much information too soon, but week 4 was great again like the other courses in this specialisation. Learned so much, thanks!

автор: KALYESUBULA M

3 июня 2017 г.

Learnt a lot. Though the subject material was hard to grasp first hand, it is good that instructor was readily available to help us through.

автор: Adam A

25 авг. 2017 г.

An interesting and challenging course, would be better with more real examples and explanation as some of the material felt rushed

автор: Marwa A E K

7 янв. 2020 г.

It's a good one, but not as previous courses. Week 3 isn't well explained as other weeks. Hope it can be further improved

автор: Hanyu Z

8 дек. 2016 г.

The material is good. However, there is no support from the instructors to answer our questions in the discussion forum.

автор: Niels R

6 июля 2019 г.

This course through the material too fast. The content should have been spread out over two courses in my opinion.