Chevron Left
Вернуться к Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,497
Рецензии: 657

О курсе

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Лучшие рецензии

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

Oct 17, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 646 отзывов о курсе Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

автор: Guido W R

Oct 05, 2016

Very nice course that in my opinion nicely fits between Bolstad and Gelman in difficulty (talking in popular Bayesian Data Analysis books). Herbert Lee does a very good job at building one's intuition and understanding in the general Bayesian inference. Good starting point for moving on with Bayes.

автор: Oaní d S d C

Apr 22, 2018

Amazing. Simple, fast, dense, very well taught. I loved the professor, his commentaries and way to explain the contents. Thought the exercises were OK, maybe simpler than I taught but the comments in them helped me a lot to understand the topics. 10/10, a new and better way to teach! Very useful.

автор: Erick S O B

Sep 28, 2020

Un curso muy bueno, sobre un enfoque de la estadística que desconocía. Además de reforzar muy bien las cosas que ya sabía y darles ese enfoque Bayesiano. Me gusta que todo se resume en la importancia de la probabilidad condicionada, ya que el teorema de Bayes conjuga las probabilidades inversas.

автор: Derek H

Jun 12, 2019

Good to learn or re-learn the basics of statistic and probability, and as a foundation for learning maximum likelihood methods (which are much more useful later on). The material is digestible, to the point, and the quizzes are helpful in checking your understanding and information retention.

автор: Devesh S

Jun 30, 2017

A well organized course, learned important concepts in statistics and probability that will definitely help anyone wanting to specialize in machine learning or take up data science. Clear and concise explanation of theory focusing on application that is adequately tested in the exams.

автор: Manuel M S

Apr 29, 2020

An excellent course on the basics of Bayesian approach to statistics. It has excellent explanations, from the concept to applications and allows gaining understanding both on the basic underlying ideas, as well as a deeper insight on Bayesian methodologies. I definitely recommend it!

автор: Xiaomeng W

Dec 13, 2019

I've reviewed probabilities and basic Bayesian methods in this course. The quizzes have good explanation and the additional reading materials are helpful. I'm learning the next course: Techniques and models, which is also great (except that we don't have free access to the quizzes).

автор: Sujith N

Feb 24, 2018

As a primer to Bayesian Statistics, this course covers the basics at a brisk pace. No time is wasted in explaining the basics of Probability theory; which I have always found, at best, to be distracting in the other similar courses I have taken. Thank you, Herbert Lee and Coursera.

автор: Mikhail G

Jun 06, 2020

An interesting course which gives an opportunity not only to study some purely 'technical' skills but also to think a bit about statistical problems in a broader context. It won't make you 'Bayesian', however, it will help to understand the philosophy of this statistical 'sect'.

автор: liqul

Apr 28, 2019

There are books and courses out there teaching you how to use machine learning tools to solve real problems. But there aren't so many like this starting from the Bayesian way. Besides, this is a good entry point for me to read the book "Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning".

автор: Eric L

Jun 13, 2020

I have signed up for this course because I encountered Bayesian concepts through work (automotive industry), and I wanted to improve my understanding of the underlying basics. What can I say, my expectations have been met! Thanks for offering this course through this platform!

автор: Angelo F

Jan 09, 2017

Excellent introductory course to bayesian statistics. I'd like to thank Professor Lee, University of Santa Cruz, Coursera and all supporting staff for the opportunity. I'd enjoy if you provided intermediate and advanced courses on bayesian statistics that covers more topics.

автор: Chipo N

Aug 31, 2020

It's quite a challenging and informative course. I don't regret taking it it has opened up my mind to Bayesian statistics especially that this is the pass I want to take in my life. Thank you for the support and opportunity given to me. i will forever remain grateful.

автор: Marcin K

Sep 23, 2017

I took this course due to my interest in machine learning and graphical models. I like the approach and execution. I recommend it for anyony interrested in statistical inference. Some topics require looking up external sources, like wikipedia, but it is not an issue.

автор: Keun-Hwi L

Mar 18, 2017

This class is very much an intro, so if you're looking for advanced topics you it might not be challenging. But this is a really good intro. The lectures are good and the supplemented material is great. I wish there was more R, but I'm very happy with the class.

автор: Clive S H

Jan 15, 2018

Interesting, challenging, informative, entertaining, Herbie Lee is an excellent presenter of a very well prepared introduction to what seems to be a more rational and coherent approach to extracting, understanding and evaluating quantative information from data

автор: Ying L

Jul 03, 2017

It's a great course to understand the fundamentals of the Bayesian Statistics. The easy quiz which meant not to deter the students could be improved a bit. For serious learning, reviewing the questions in honor sections and the supplemental materials is a must.

автор: Alysa

Jun 04, 2017

This is a short course and it was a great introduction to Bayesian inference. Lessons went through both theory and application. I found the videos easy to follow and that they prepared me for the quizzes. I also really valued learning how to use R.

автор: Kelvin P

Apr 04, 2017

I really like the assignments, they are very well designed and helped a lot in consolidating my understanding of the topic. In my opinion, these assignments are the reason why coursera courses are better than the video lectures available elsewhere.

автор: Francisco C

Sep 22, 2017

Excellent introduction to Bayesian inference. Dr. Lee struck an exceptional balance between presenting concepts and ideas with self-learning through the homework quizzes. I look forward to learning more analysis techniques in subsequent courses!

автор: BaoYiping

Sep 06, 2016

it's very helpful for me to understand the Bayesian statistics. things are clearly stated and the quiz are good. Many thanks! It's better to have a further course on the Monte Carlo. It's better if the regression can be talked more in details.

автор: Ruoxiao S

Aug 15, 2019

This class is pretty helpful for the beginners and the instructor has a clear organization of the lecture. The Quizzes are also a good way to know what you have mastered. I have a better and deeper understanding of the Bayesian Statistics now.

автор: Nicholas P

Jan 13, 2018

Highly informative. Prof. Herbert Lee is a great professor providing very thorough notes and material for the Bayesian paradigm of Statistics. I would highly recommend this to any who are interested. It is also a great introduction to using R.

автор: Michail L

Aug 04, 2019

It was an amazing course. Prof. Lee is an excellent teacher, the lectures were very interesting and illuminating, and the problems challenging and based on the material discussed. Highly recommended to get a basic idea of Bayesian statistics.

автор: Alexis U

Jul 25, 2020

A good introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Not too deep, but you need to have some familiarity with probability notation. Also it seems it recently had some manteinance because broken links in lectures are now redirected to correct links.