Chevron Left
Вернуться к Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,678
Рецензии: 698

О курсе

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Лучшие рецензии

GS
31 авг. 2017 г.

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
16 окт. 2020 г.

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Фильтр по:

651–675 из 686 отзывов о курсе Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

автор: Augusto S P

24 сент. 2017 г.

The course is good for beginners in statistics. In my opinion it would be better to invest more time explaining different topics about bayesian regression and bayesian time series.

автор: Oliver B

1 июня 2020 г.

Solid mathematical grounding, but would have benefited from more time spent on the history of Bayesian inference, when to use it, why it can be used etc..

автор: Pranav H

1 июля 2018 г.

The course could have given more information on tiny details which can confuse people during the exercises. But overall a good learning experience

автор: Alessandra T

29 июня 2017 г.

We still don't understand how Bayes differs to Frequentist... A worked example comparing the two at the end would have been nice.

автор: Ken M

1 мая 2019 г.

It would have been great if more graphs had been provided, for easier visualization of the e.g. distributions, or concepts.

автор: roger

24 июля 2019 г.

It would be better to add more explain about those equations and connect the math stuffs with the real world samples

автор: Max H

14 июля 2019 г.

It would be much better if there was a more sufficient introduction to the various distributions used in the course.

автор: Victor D

9 июля 2019 г.

Very informative as an introduction to concepts, but nowhere near the deep dive I'm now interested in taking.

автор: Isra

4 мая 2020 г.

Good course!!... Additional examples of real life explained and done in R or excel will make it great

автор: Binu M D

21 сент. 2019 г.

Too much theoretical than practical applications. No need to give both R and Excel videos.

автор: A A

26 нояб. 2018 г.

Would have liked more problem solving and real-world application examples.

автор: Jyh1003040

15 июня 2020 г.

The workload is manageable however the homework is somewhat challenging.

автор: Hassan S

11 мая 2020 г.

Not well organized.

No sufficient materials, references, etc.

Very short.

автор: sokunsatya s

31 мая 2018 г.

Overall, it's Ok. but the explanation is too short and incomplete.

автор: aref h

24 авг. 2017 г.

better to come up with more examples and more mathematical details

автор: Rajesh k

1 янв. 2019 г.

This course could be taught in better understanding way

автор: Tawan S

3 июня 2019 г.

For some derivations, the explanations are too sparse.

автор: Damir M

9 апр. 2017 г.

A bit too short.

автор: Marjan H

3 янв. 2021 г.

I expected better teaching quality. The instructor is undoubtedly one of the bests in his area, but I personally did not like his teaching in this course. I felt he knows a lot of interesting concepts but intentionally does not teach them. The whole course was like somebody was reading from a textbook without adding any comments for students to actually grasp the concepts. In general I liked the course but I expected to learn much more from it.

автор: Patrick K W

28 июля 2019 г.

It's alright because it gives you an overview of what is covered in a Bayesian Stats class, but the material is presented quite poorly and I had to do a lot of second hand reading to answer the questions. It is not particularly enlightening even and the formulas are presented without proper grounding, context, and intuition. I can recommend this only for dedicated self-studiers who already have some sort of grounding in Bayesian reasoning.

автор: Dennis R

31 дек. 2020 г.

Good content. However, way of presentation is not very engaging. Presenter's voice very monotonous and free of any engagement. In my opinion, scribbling formulas to the board does not make a helpful learning experience.

автор: Jorge P

2 февр. 2017 г.

Some matters were just given formulas and there was a lack of practice. The course should cover less materials or be longer to be effective in teaching.

автор: Brett B

7 сент. 2020 г.

Disappointing. Hard to follow, as concepts are not fully explained or linked. Steps in equations are often skipped without notice.

автор: Mehrdad P

3 июля 2019 г.

it was an okay course, I liked that they used R occasionally in the course, but I did not like how the concepts were discussed

автор: Fabian K

1 мая 2017 г.

Not very much in depth and does not offer complete lecture notes, which are necessary for answering the quizzes...