Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
Оценки: 2,389
Рецензии: 613

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

CD

Mar 06, 2016

This course is really awesome. Designed well. Looks like a lot of efforts have been taken by the team to build this course. Kudos to everyone. Keep up the good work and thank you very much.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 592 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Ramiro L

Jan 25, 2016

nicely done guys!

автор: Leitha M

Feb 27, 2016

I've always had a rough time with mathematics, but the way this course is structured makes it easy for me to go at my own pace, re-watch videos that were confusing the first time through and work through problems until I really felt like I understand how the formulas work. The consistent use of exercises in R were extremely useful as well. I'd highly recommend this course and learning system for people like me, who never thought they'd be able to grasp mathematics.

автор: Aram S

Jun 05, 2016

I am really enjoying all the courses on Statistics. Thank you to the whole team.

автор: Louisa B

Sep 05, 2016

I use this course to better understand a statistic course I am following for my Psychology studies. Many thanks for the crystal clear explanations!

автор: Cathy C d D C

Mar 06, 2016

great course

автор: Pranay G

Apr 21, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.

Please allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

автор: Chitvan K P

Jul 01, 2018

Excellent starter for learning statistics. Looking forward to learn Inferential Statistics next. This course covers a wide variety of material ranging from basic Probability Distributions to Formulating and Testing hypothesis, confidence intervals and regression methods. Great starter to stats and looking forward to learn Inferential stats too.

автор: Jeni S S

Mar 12, 2016

Some of the concepts are very clearly explained. Loved it

автор: ramesh

Mar 31, 2016

These concpets are explained in a clear and simple methods. Thats helpful to me.

Thanks

автор: Marta M

Dec 22, 2016

Great course!

Well explained concepts, easy to grasp, thorough evaluation :)

автор: Bruno

Jun 09, 2016

Great course! Finally I could learn statistics and R

автор: Do H L

Feb 28, 2016

Awesome course, very friendly to people who want to start learning R and practicing it straight away!

автор: Georgia P

Jun 03, 2018

Thank you!

автор: Pablo V

Sep 25, 2017

Very good course for newbies in Statitics .. as me.

автор: Kate W

Mar 04, 2016

I never thought I would learn so much so quickly in a math course. The course moves fast, but being able to rewind the videos and repeat anything I don't understand is really helpful! I love the applicability of what I'm learning, and my ability to take notes and practice everything on the quizzes makes the information stick.

автор: Dorien H

Mar 09, 2016

Very good course, the explanations are made very accessible through understandable and sometimes funny examples.

Learned many of new things, despite having finished a course on statistics in my university. Especially the R component helped me greatly; despite already having some experience, the datacamp modules were very helpful.

Oh, and great Dutch accents :)

автор: Ingo V

May 06, 2016

Very well done: a lot of effort put into this course, and it pays off.

автор: Mohammed H A A

May 13, 2016

Very useful and ineresting course, Demonestration diagrams in the videos are very clear and delivering the information easily, like it, ma

автор: Jerry X

Jan 21, 2016

Very clear and awesome!

автор: Bruno H

Oct 13, 2016

Excellent course, virtually all the lectures were taught based on practical examples, exactly the way statistics should be taught. 10 out of 10, no shadow of a doubt

автор: Alejandro N J

Jun 23, 2016

Excellent MOOC. A great introduction to the basic elements of statistics. I had studied statistics years ago in my bachelor but almost forgot everything. This course greatly helped me revive all the elementary concepts. The teachers explain complex things in simple terms easy to follow, and the funny examples have brought a smile to my face more than once and twice during the MOOC. Finally, the collaboration with professional illustrators adds great value to the course. A big deal of effort has gone into its making, and it truly pays off. I just wished there'd be an intermediate and advanced statistics course to keep digging into it!

Thanks a lot!

Alejandro

автор: Jacob S

Jun 18, 2016

Really a great introductory course. I am a real beginner in statistics, since I need it to make it easier for my self at data mining and machine learning in the future, this course gives me a solid basic understanding of terminology, calculations and relationships between calculations. Week 3 and 4 are pretty hard in my opinion, but after doing the course learning how to learn I know how to handle it, so I will recommend everybody to do that one also if you think this looks too difficult for you.

автор: Siddharth

Mar 06, 2016

Very nicely created. Gets a bit too fast paced in the middle but still well worth taking this course.

автор: Deleted A

Apr 17, 2018

The dutch know how to teach

автор: MANOJ K

Feb 15, 2016

This is best course on statistics.. at least for me who is comparatively new to it. I recommend it 100%.