Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,914
Рецензии: 985

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG
20 апр. 2016 г.

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
28 янв. 2021 г.

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Фильтр по:

951–971 из 971 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Monica H

12 окт. 2020 г.

I struggled with understanding the concepts. At the first read, they made sense, but when trying to solve problems they stopped making sense. There were errors in the calculations too, and more examples would have really helped.

автор: Ante

15 дек. 2019 г.

This course is more about learning R-programming which is totally useless for me. The videos are nice. Try instead buying the book and do the excercises with python or excel.

автор: Andrea F

29 дек. 2016 г.

I've only gotten started, but there seems some assumptions made about how much we know and how quickly we can pick up these new terms and ideas.

автор: Clem O

25 февр. 2019 г.

The program is good. The videos not so much. The professors are speaking pretty fast. It would have been good to have some written material.

автор: yazhini c

16 авг. 2016 г.

R labs are too tedious for people with medical or science background! we need explanations rather than trying to figure it out on our own!

автор: Mayssaa D

17 сент. 2021 г.

The lecturer is very good but there is no reason putting R language in a basic statistics class.

автор: Stuart M

21 апр. 2021 г.

Unfortunately, this class wasn't useful in teaching me basic statistics.

автор: Lai J

29 апр. 2020 г.

shitty final exam questions. confusion on sample std or population std

автор: Tobias R A

23 мар. 2020 г.

If you don't pay it you can't do anything

автор: Mayank G

5 мая 2021 г.

Very lenghty R labs to complete

автор: Ivan C

7 янв. 2016 г.

Damn R-Lab

автор: Gannon O

29 янв. 2021 г.

It started off well enough. Loved the visuals. Week 3 probablity was really confusing and my thoughts on the course started to change quickly. The R work helped a little, but I still didn't understand a lot. I feel like forumulas are thrown at you very quickly. It's almost like 'how much can we put into 5 minutes as quickly as possible?'. I'm at the end of week 4 now and quitting. I am not getting much out of this and tired of rewatching videos 5 or 6 times hoping to understand or memorize something. There is probably better use of my time. I will try Duke's version now.

How to improve this? Put some questions after each video. Waiting till the end to give the students some questions which causes them to go back and replay all those 'super fast' videos again - Feels a bit lazy as way to teach. Maybe its me.

Can someone on Coursera just simply teach stats without trying to tie in a programming language? Since its obvious by now, you guys can't teach both well in one course how about just focusing on one well? (I'm looking at you Stats w/ Python Univ of Michigan).

автор: Kleuber R A

20 мая 2021 г.

The fact of aborting the subjects in a very fast and superficial way leaves something to be desired and ends up generating a lot of confusion both in the course and in the programming part. I would need more examples and activities so that knowledge could be absorbed more easily and intuitively. There are some calculation errors in the videos and the lack of some references associated with tables Z and T that generate a lot of doubts and confusion. Anyway, I expected the course to be more organized.

автор: Robert C

3 авг. 2021 г.

I was really enjoying this course in the first week and then I realised I had to switch from statistics to programming before moving on. I am doing other courses and needed to get my head around statistics so decided to enrol in this.

Then I realised we cant progress unless we learn R. Learning programming and statistical theory are two different things and I found the R lab very confusing.

Very disapointed will now have to look for another statistic course.

автор: Alyxx S B

27 июня 2020 г.

The information was amusing sometimes, but the first 2 chapters are sexist. That aside - the "R Lab" is not relevant to the class. Also, the order is backwards - all the interesting theory parts are the last 3 chapters!

автор: Muhammad U Q

16 нояб. 2020 г.

R Labs are a total waste and these should not be the part of the course as we are not here for the programming language, the sole purpose was to learn basic statistic not some programming language. going to unroll

автор: Assad N

6 окт. 2020 г.

please write the requirement necessary to complete this course, one can chose if he is capable of doing the lab. although statistics is basic but i wonder the computer skills are not.......

автор: Robert W v Z

5 мая 2021 г.

No interest in or use for R, ever. Moving to another course on statistics that does not require silly programming.

автор: Iván A

20 мая 2020 г.

It should be named 'Basic', or say that it doesn't require previous knowledge because it does.

автор: Deleted A

2 мар. 2021 г.

Very long and I was feeling unmotivated to complete the course

автор: Anshika C

26 сент. 2020 г.

i want to unenroll from the course, I am not able to do it.