Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,753
Рецензии: 957

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG
20 апр. 2016 г.

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
28 янв. 2021 г.

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Фильтр по:

851–875 из 937 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Patrick C

14 мар. 2020 г.

great course but r labs was pointless

автор: Tan C H

5 авг. 2019 г.

Very useful basic statistical skills.

автор: PRATEEK M

19 окт. 2020 г.

Good to brush up statistics skills

автор: Manish P

27 янв. 2018 г.

Need more description and depth.

автор: Shady N S

3 авг. 2016 г.

Very useful Statistics Course.

автор: Justin H

21 июня 2016 г.

Nice. For noobs.

I enjoyed it!

автор: Oladapo A

3 сент. 2017 г.

Great course. I learnt a lot

автор: Akshata S K

16 июля 2020 г.

its nice experience......!

автор: Chalmer L

7 апр. 2016 г.

I enjoyed the class.

автор: Daniel N

30 янв. 2020 г.

good, can be harder

автор: Deleted A

3 авг. 2020 г.

Well composed !

автор: JB G

25 июня 2016 г.

Great course :)

автор: Farabe K A

21 июня 2020 г.

Awesome course

автор: 李大顺

3 февр. 2018 г.

great course~

автор: S A .

16 авг. 2020 г.

great course

автор: Juan V

6 окт. 2017 г.

Good course.

автор: ANAMIKA K

9 мая 2020 г.

Very good

автор: Abdullahi A I

25 февр. 2017 г.

thank you

автор: Harish

13 мая 2016 г.

Too good

автор: Yeknath M

8 апр. 2020 г.

nothing

автор: BHOOMIKA R H

21 июля 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: sushant p

20 июля 2020 г.

good

автор: Rowan W

30 апр. 2019 г.

A

автор: Joanna F

26 июня 2020 г.

The videos were very clear and helpful. The material was straightforward and broken down well without being overly simplified or covering too-elementary concepts. The professors were easy to understand and pleasant to listen to. I think it does help to have an instructor to look at rather than just having writing and graphics on screen. The art was cute and the onscreen graphics were helpful. The examples were quirky and memorable, which is probably an under-appreciated element in mathematics.

However, there were no practice problems besides those in the videos, so there was basically one or two examples of each concept. It would be extremely helpful to have practice problems. I don't think that including practice problems and feedback would be that technologically difficult. Just a few multiple choice questions per lesson with comments explaining why a choice is correct or incorrect would be immensely helpful. The quizzes are somewhat like this, but the feedback is minimal. Alternatively, this course might include questions during the videos similar to in the Quantitative Methods course in this series. This would help to highlight important concepts and break down the videos somewhat more. I ended up having to look elsewhere for practice and other examples.

The R programming sections were not at all easy to follow. It was basically exercises without much of a lesson to teach how to do the exercises. I often ended up requesting the answer and working backward from that.

автор: Minhal S K

27 сент. 2016 г.

I have started this course again and again. Although the lectures themselves are clear enough, the quizzes are sometime so confusing and don't reflect the way that topic was taught. The worst part is R lab. I understand nothing of it. It makes no sense. I should not be part of a basic statistics course. I have wasted my money on a specialization that I can't get because I will not, and simply cannot learn R. They should have made that clear this would involve programming. I am only now thinking of learning from the videos but have given up the hope of getting a specialization certificate.

The instructor in the first two session was still engaging, but starting in the third lesson the instructor is so boring and his voice makes me drowsy. Plus his sentences are so long and confusing. He has a horrible way to explain something. They need to keep in mind this is BASIC statistics, so cut down on the jargon. He does introduce the terms in 3.01 but just after one video the words don't magically sit in my memory.

I've given 3 stars because although I have to work double hard just to make sense of what the instructor says by reading a book on basic statistics, at least the videos provide a structure, good examples and after watching them a few times things become clear.